23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't believe I've never reviewed this Kooka! Delicious, easy & yes, a little bit magic! I have used this recipe to make both cheese & mustard sauces with perfect results every time. Update: I reviewed this years ago & thought I would add that it is still my "go to" white sauce & the one I recommend to others. I am thinking II would like to try it as the base for a fish pie. I'll let you know how that goes :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsSPheonix May 21, 2012

I used this recipe to make green bean casserole. Added 1 cu mushrooms, glove garlic and topped with panko crumbs with a little dry onion soup mix. The best ever. I don't think I'll be going back to cream can soups when you can adjust this sauce so many ways. Plus it's easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1019871 January 21, 2012

Extremely easy and taste great. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt and onion powder, a little extra pepper, parmesan cheese shavings, parsley and a little lemon at the end to finish it. This went wonderfully with some lobster tortellini. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellamint November 16, 2012

Wonderful! I added garlic to the butter, cooled it then followed the recipe. Perfect for my shrimp and scallop dinner! Thanks

Updated:
This is my go Basic White Sauce Recipe. I've found it's too thick as written so I reduced the flour by 1/2. Depending on what I am using this recipe for & the additional items I add, I adjust the flour to suit the needs. We love garlic, so I add at least 2-3 cloves minced garlic to the butter, slowly cook the butter until the garlic is soft & the flavor is blended with the butter, then refrigerate it until cool before making the sauce.
I've used this recipe for seafood, Ravioli & lasagne. I add different cheeses. Usually about a total of a cup of assorted kinds again it depends on the main dish. For Lobster Ravioli, I added a cup of romano & Parmesan and I added 1 pack of Old Bay spice. Made a great New Years Eve dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornsrs January 01, 2012

I sauteed some garlic and onion in the butter but otherwise made it as directed. TFS :0)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel January 30, 2010

How easy! I made the cheese sauce with a few differences, 3 T. butter, more nutmeg, more cayenne pepper, more lemon juice. I used 1 cup skim milk and 1 cup cream since I had it in the house. Next time I will only use the skim milk and I think it will work fine. I added pecorino romano cheese without measuring. Served the sauce with cheese tortellini and shredded chicken mixed in. The sauce was very thick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviva December 20, 2009

Thank you, thank you, thank you. It can't get any easier, comes out very creamy even with skim milk. Shame on me for having this in my cookbook for so long before trying it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree October 26, 2008

I always use Wondra flour for sauces. It blends instantly and you never have any lumps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GREG IN SAN DIEGO August 21, 2008

Yup, a fantastic no-fail 'magic' sauce. It's a tad too thick for my liking but that's easily fixed :D I'll certainly be making white/cheese etc. sauces more often - now there is no need to be afraid of wasting time/ingredients trying to make something that needs to be thrown out. Thank you for this fab recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joynewman007 August 15, 2008

I believe my mother that lives in canada uses this recipe to make a white salmon sauce (that's what she calls it). This is the base cause and she adds the salmon and eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveMy2Angels December 27, 2007
Magic White Sauce (and Variations)