Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Magic Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Magic Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2011

      I make a huge batch of this soup every year around Halloween. I freeze it in glass ball jars and add the noodles to it later when it is thawed and cooked. When everyone starts getting those colds and flu bugs this is my go-to. I have given the jars to sick friends and relatives and they all say the same thing, "Thank you so much!" It comforts the soul. I sip it for breakfast, lunch and dinner when I am down. It has helped me bounce back, and as a teacher with two toddlers to take care of, trust me I get every germ on the block and then I have to turn around and go to work everyday. So I love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Great flavor and worth the time! I made the stock and froze 2 separate containers with the shredded chicken to make smaller batches! It has been welcome, wholesome food for the cold season! I had never used parnsips before and they add a great spicy note. I also add chopped kale to my fresh batches and just mix it in and let it cook a bit to add some fresh green flavor. A fantastic soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      OMG!!! I will never eat soup out of a can again!!! We included all the ingredients (double the garlic) to render the stock. There was a mouth-watering aroma that filled the house as it simmered on the stove. When it came time to make the finished product we only added carrots and celery (more than the recipe calls for). Also, the dill adds originality that most Chicken Noodle Soups lack. It had the best flavor. It was worth every minute that it took! This is going right to the top of our comfort food list!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Awesome soup Queen of Everything! This is the 2nd time that I have made your soup - we love it. I have never used turnip or parsnip before & this really adds the yum! I also could not bare to throw away the 1st round of cooked veg & kept and used instead of mashed potato in salmon patties...they were also fab! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Whole family loved it. I wasn't crazy about the turnips, but it did add great flavor to the broth. I'll make it again, but i'll most likely put some celery in it and skip adding the turnips in it the after the chicken is cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      The Best Chicken Soup I've Ever Had!! The dill really makes the flavors pop. I have even cheated and used chicken broth from a carton and the meat from a store-bought rotisserie chicken on nights when I have little time. Still Fantastic! Thanks, Queen, for this awesome recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

    • on November 02, 2009

      Absolutely fantastic! We loved the different twist of having turnips and parsnips in the soup. The only things I changed were: after the stock was done I added 1 tsp grated fresh ginger and 3 cloves finely diced garlic to the second set of veggies for the final cook, and I left out the dill at the end. Mmm!! I WILL make this again, soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      I haven't tried this yet but only because I don't have any turnips. I think this is going to be so good when I do. I have made soup like this and used rutabaga in it. I never see parsnips here but maybe I will use sweet potatoes as a sub. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly, except cooked the egg noodles separately and added matzo balls to the actual soup. When serving I put noodles on the bottom of the bowl and added the Magic Soup with a couple matzo balls… YUMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      The whole family loved it and I think it is helping us stay healthy. I used sweet potatoes instead of turnips for the stock, but neither sweets or turnips later. Delicious! We also put all the simmered veggies from the stock in the blender with some stock and some milk to make another soup for another time. This turned out great as well and we weren't wasting perfectly good food. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I don't want to give a rating for this recipe, because although I didn't really care for the flavor, it had nothing to do with the recipe. I've never used parsnips, turnips, or fresh dill in my cooking, and I discovered I'm not crazy about them; HOWEVER, the method of making this soup is fantastic and I'll will definitely use this recipe and substitute with veggies and herbs that I like. I used the crockpot method for the stock, and the chicken was fall-apart tender. I loved the addition of ginger - it made my house smell wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

    • on December 13, 2008

      I happened to come down with strep just as I made this soup, unfortunately, but the soup was fantastic. The dill really makes the difference. I chopped the fresh dill & parsley for every serving and it really brought out the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      This looked, smelled and tasted amazing. I was a sickly wreck for a week but this soup was the highlight of my day. Trying to sort the meat from the bones after cooking the chicken in the pot was an experience, but don't let it stop you from trying this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Very nice taste! The bf is sick, so I made a big pot of this last night, and we had three bowls. The rest, I've stored in the freezer so that he can continue to have it until his health is back. I ran out of carrots, so I used everything else, and instead of fresh herbs I had to use some dried ones. It still turned out wonderful, especially after letting the stock simmer for 5 hrs. Thank you, QueenOfEverything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      This is so good, very "old country" comfort food. Made as posted, except I had to use dried dill and parsley. I saved a few servings in the freezer, but I don't think they will be there long. :lol: Made for Alphabet Soup Game. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I made this for a sick friend today and whether you are sick or not it was really good. I did everything on top of the stove and let the first set of veggies cook at a low simmer about 6 hours. You wouldn't believe the color it gets. No wonder they used veggies for dye. To me, this is not what I would make for company (unless the company is sick) because it's not really colorful. But it was delish! Next time I will double the recipe and put some in the freezer. This batch is going no where near the freezer. Thanks for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      My own recipe. I usually just add a knob of the ginger, no chopping and none of that powder stuff. I also use the thin egg noodles or make matzah balls and leave out the parsley all together. Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This is awesome!! Everyone in my family loves this soup. As a matter of fact, I have some on the stove right now for my son who is a little under the weather.Thank you for a delicious and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Magic Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.4
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    32%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 71.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 99.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites