10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Dgd and Dgs helped me mix this recipe together. We doubled the batch and took to our family Christmas party last week, passing it out to the rest of the kids in the family. We have freshly fallen snow today, so this was the perfect year for the kids to try it. They were all very excited today and could barely wait for sundown to run out and sprinkle the magic food in the snow. Thanks so much Sunny for a fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu December 25, 2010

This is the third year we have made this with the grandkids - sorry it took so long to review! They think it is the coolest thing ever - what more do you need?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue January 06, 2009

My kids and I just made this tonight and they absolutely had a blast! This is so colorful and so easy to make and the kids just love the fact that they can feed the magical reindeer so they can fly. Thank you so much for the beginning of a wonderful family tradition!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerich1970 December 18, 2008

This is such a great idea! I made up a batch and gave them to my daughter and others. Everyone thought this was so cute. I also used the poem that was suggested by a reviewer. I'll definitely be making this every year :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melandsid December 31, 2007

You and your recipe made me the mom of the year. We made up batch after batch of this food. I used the irrodecent glitter, so there was no color, just sparkle. My 5 year old son helped measure and stir the food. I did use cellophane bag (one that holds about a cup-1 1/2 cups). I put 1/2 cup of mixture in the bag and tied them with a festive curling ribbon and then printed out the peom someone else submitted and attached that with the ribbon. I can't tell you how much fun my son and I had making these. We gave a bag to each of his daycare friends, and then a bag to each of his school friends. This is sure to become a family tradition for us. One suggestion is to use a funnel to get the food into the bag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right December 27, 2007

My son really enjoyed this. It really does sparkle pretty in the snow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embutterfly75 December 14, 2007

We had so much fun with our DGS with this. Used it on Thanksgiving to welcome in the Holiday Season and were lucky enough to have snow and plenty of deer, it worked wonderful. Thanks Sunny for an idea that will be a yearly custom from now on in our home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 09, 2007

This is adorable for small children! My kids & I made this last year at Christmas time, put a scoop or two in a clear plastic cello bag, tied it up with cute ribbon and tied this poem to it:"Sprinkle across your lawn on Christmas Eve night, The moon will make it spatkly bright. As Santa's reindeers fly and roam, This will guide them to your home." My kids gave them to their classmates at their Christmas parties and it was a huge hit! We always sprinkle it on the lawn before the kids go to bed on Christmas Eve so they can sleep well knowing Santa's Reindeers are fed just like Santa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith .F November 07, 2007

This recipe is part of our annual Christmas tradition. We make it together on Christmas Eve and sprinkle it out on our deck. Don't forget the glitter, as that is what helps the reindeer see the food in the moonlight. (Dh and always go out and scoop some it away after the kiddies are in bed) Thank you for posting this family favorite!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie_pangie February 20, 2007

I made this to send to my grandsons but subbed red & green colored decorator sugars instead of the glitter. They rec'd the package yesterday and their parents are having a hard time keeping them from spreading it before Christmas eve! What a fun thing to do! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna December 17, 2006
Magic Reindeer Food