Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Magic Prime Rib Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Magic Prime Rib Recipe

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2008

      I've REALLY enjoyed using this prime rib cooking method and it has been foolproof until now. The four previous times I've used it the roasts were in the 5-7 lb range and they were about as close to perfection as you can get. This time, however, I used a smaller roast in the 3-4 lb size and it came out well done without any pink. Our guests at tonight's dinner were understanding and those who would normally ask for end cuts were very pleased, but those of us who like our prime rib on the medium rare side had to just grin and bear it. Please do not misunderstand because I'm not complaining. In truth, this is STILL the best way I know of to roast a prime rib. One just must understand that the size of the roast does, in fact, count. The timing of 1 hour, 1 hour, 1/2 hour are still solid, but adjustments need to be made for roasts that are under and over weight. Five lbs seems to be the magic number in terms of sticking strickly to the cooking times. My experience is that a 7 lb prime rib comes out too rare and as I've mentioned above the 3-4 lb roast was simply overcooked. I will from this time forward compensate on the final cook time cycle making it shorter or longer as needed. Use a meat thermometer and it will solve a lot of potential problems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      This is an easy recipe and ALWAYS turns out perfectly. Nice, too, to rub fresh garlic over, salt and pepper or rub with Cavender's Greek Seasoning (that's what I use most of the time) I, too, have been using this recipe for YEARS ... Always a perfect roast unless someone wants well done and then the closest they get to that are the end pieces...otherwise, perfect medium. The only difference in my recipe is preheat to 375 degrees, put room temp. roast in oven for one hour. I literally tape the oven closed. You can start early in the day...cook for the hour and forget it until later...doesn't matter how long it's in the oven (just don't open the door). Later, turn it back on at 375 degrees and cook for another 45 minutes. Turn oven off then let roast rest for about 15 minutes, covered. I make "beef au juice" with the left overs in the pan along with desired amount of beef paste and water ... As good as any in any ***** restaurant....Serve with popovers, if you like ... they are wonderful with the juices.

      Good luck ... You're sure to impress !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Superb, just as good as when I first cooked prime rib with this technique in 1975, prompting my brothers to each purchase the cookbook I used. This became "our" family recipe. (And immediately following, I learned that MDM had a competittive streak involving beef wellington, endless shrimp cocktail and enough Mumm's Extra Dry Champagne to cause 2 grown children to pass out...). I had a 5.56 lb roast. Johnny's seasoning isn't available here, so I used Paula Deen's House Seasoning Mix, my now standard roast seasoning. I found the best rib roast available locally and followed all instructions to a "T". DH said this was the best meal he has had in weeks. Served with Horseradish Cream. (This recipe is suitable only for roasts between 5-7 lbs.) Made for The Wild Bunch of ZWT8 for its visit to Great Britain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I thought this was pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      This does NOT work a three pound roast! I just took mine out after following the instructions exactly...the temp was 146 degress! I have used it on bigger roasts and it works great but not smaller ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      The cooking technique was perfect. I had a 7.5 LB roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This recipe worked out very nicely for Christmas dinner. I had to leave the roast in an extra 5 minutes for the "squeemish" in our family but it would have been perfect for me exactly as written. For other chefs--125 degrees is a perfect internal temperature for medium rare and is exactly what this roast was before my "extra 5." Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      YUM! I cant believe I made my own prime rib! I feel like I can do anything now:) My only problem was I like mine on the rare side and even with taking off about 15 minutes at the end, it was still a bit done for my taste. Seasoned with Cajun seasoning..MMMMM! Thanks so much for an awesome recipe which I will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Wow! You are right, this is like magic! I cooked it exactly as you stated and this roast turned out beautifully! Done just the way we like it, and quite tender. Made for ZWT 3, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      This is the second time I cook my roast this way. My roast was 6 bs or more and it was the best ever. Tasted better than anything I have ever had at any restraunt. I raved about this recipe. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I read a few other similar methods for prime rib before I chose this recipe. After letting our 5 lb. bone-in roast reach room temperature, we rubbed the roast with olive oil, then rubbed in our own seasonings, that we had on hand (a mixture of seasoned salt, garlic powder, paprikia & pepper). We followed your instructions exactly and the roast turned out a perfect medium rare doneness! I would suggest that anyone trying this should make sure that thier oven temps. are true with an oven thermometer. From now on this is the only way I will ever prepare a rib roast. Huge success! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Oh my this was absolutely wonderful. I was nervous because I bought a 6 pound prime rib just for this recipe ($$$$). It turned out perfect. The outside was very crisp and held in all the wonderful juices. I seasoned this with a prime rib seasoning recommended by my butcher and then made slits all over the roast and inserted slivers of garlic. Just wonderful. thanks so much. My SIL said this will be made for our Christmas get together this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Magic Prime Rib Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prime rib roast

    seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites