13 Reviews

WOW!!!!The chocolate outside is great tasting but as soon as you hit the peanut butter layer, its pure heaven. My new favorite cookies by far.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MICHELLE burgard August 29, 2003

UPDATE: Made these cookies a second time, and I'm upping my review from 4 stars to 5 stars. MARCH 13, 2011: A really good cookie! They look like plain chocolate cookies until you break one open. I first found this recipe on MyRecipes.com and it was called Magic in the Middles. A nice but slightly vague name, and I like your version better -- it's more indicative of what's in the cookie. I used creamy peanut butter, unsalted butter, and 1/4 tsp. salt in the dough. Also, to compensate for high altitude (6500 feet), I added an extra spoonful of flour. After forming the balls, rather than dipping a glass in sugar and flattening the cookie, it's much easier to take the ball of dough and dip the top in sugar, then flatten slightly (flatten to 1/2 inch high) with a glass. I was a bit worried about making sure there were no cracks in the cookies before they went into the oven -- wasn't sure if the filling would leak out. That was not an issue, and a few tiny cracks are okay. I baked my cookies 7 minutes and that was plenty of time. Definitely worth the time spend rolling the peanut butter centers and covering them with dough.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( August 29, 2012

I saw this recipe on a Food.com Facebook post as a Christmas cookie suggestion and decided to give it a shot and I'm glad I did! I doubled the recipe and wound up getting 72 cookies out of it. I also had a little bit of difficultly figuring out how to get the dough to wrap around the peanut butter balls. I wound up putting the peanut butter balls in the freezer to firm them up and I added a splash of milk to the outside batter since it seemed a little crumbly and it worked like a charm! I also had trouble finding a jar that had nothing on the bottom so I didn't have imprints so I wound up using one of our drinking glasses. I agree with *Kathy* in saying that it's much easier to dip them in sugar and then press them out so the sugar stays on the cookie. I baked them for 10 minutes per tray and they came out perfect. I personally wouldn't change a thing on the ingredients because they sweet inside seems to balance well with the outside. Thank you for posting! This will definitely be added to the yearly Christmas cookie list.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness December 16, 2011

Good cookie! If you like to bake, they do take a bit of work. Delicous, and definately on the Christmas cookie list.
Make sure the peanut butter balls are 1"or just under. And break the 1tblsp of cookie in 1/2 to "wrap" around the PB.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whocooked September 11, 2012

We've been looking for something like this!!! They taste great, and everyone loves the surprise inside. I used Ener-G egg replacement powder mixed with water instead of the egg, due to family food allergies. I suggest dividing both the dough and filling into the same number of parts before starting assembly (a pastry mat works great!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
subaruthie December 16, 2011

Defiantly a keeper. 7 minutes is perfect. I flattened the dough in my palm than put filling in. Great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennrbee April 10, 2014

I have an old worn copy of this recipe from a newspaper. They are my son's favorite and he requests them every Christmas. Shaping takes some time but well worth the effort

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mitchrd December 14, 2013

Saw these as the featured recipe and HAD to make them! Came out delicious! Weren't too difficult and go great with a glass of milk. Only change I made was adding a little bit of veg oil to the peanut butter mix to help it stick. Worked wonderfully and they came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larissamichelle September 09, 2012

Awesome!! Really special cookie!! So fudgey! They take a bit of work but so worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb February 11, 2012

Wow, these are some tasyt morsels! I really enjoyed the combination of pb and cocoa. So yummy! I changed these up a bit, because I wanted to make them a bit healthier so I could eat more of them. lol
So I reduced the sugar in the dough by half, used all whole wheat flour and a tad less butter. In the filling I left out the powdered sugar and it worked out perfectly. After freezing the pb balls fo a little while they could be handled easily.
Thank you so much for sharing this treat with us, Alli!
Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game November 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula December 02, 2011
Magic Peanut Butter Middles Cookies