Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Magic Fresh Tomato Spaghetti, Pasta or Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Magic Fresh Tomato Spaghetti, Pasta or Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      I made a quarter of the recipe and cooked in it my pressure cooker (only 15 min.!). I loved the sauce! I added some additional t. paste to use as pizza sauce, and saved the rest for pasta. I did puree the pizza sauce, but used a potato masher to break up the tomatoes for the pasta. I would recommend having extra t. paste around in case you need to thicken it. I used extra garlic and a few sprinkles of dried onion, and white wine. It was great on grilled pizza and pasta! I will use it next time for lasagna, too. Thanks for posting, ItalianMama Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      As written, this sauce did not work for me. I follwed the directions exactly, pureed my first batch of tomatoes and liquid, put the mixture in a fine mesh strainer - and a small amount of tomato came through, with a lot of tomato pulp waste left over. Not sure what happened, or if my mesh strainer was "too' fine? I did blend it very well in my Cuisinart food processor, so I know that wasn't a problem. I'm not sure how to rectify this, but this is what happened to me. The second batch, I pulled out a food mill and pureed the tomatoes through that. It worked like a charm, and much quicker than it would have been for me to try and scrape all of the tomato puree through my mesh strainer. If anyone wants to try this recipe and has a food mill, I recommend this method if the strainer method does not work to your liking. I added balsamic vinegar, a bit of sugar, dried Italian seasoning, and two cups of diced tomatoes when the sauce was done. It was pretty tasty! I did appreciate how I did not have to seed, peel, and chop my tomatoes. I do plan on using this recipe again, only using the food mill instead of a food processor and a strainer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      We had a ton of tomatoes & this was the perfect use for them. My first time making my own sauce & I couldn't be happier. I had read other recipes but the thought of having to cook, peel & deseed seemed to be so much work. This method was so easy, with cutting the stems off the tomatoes the most work and that was nothing. I must say that the easiest way to blend the sauce after the initial boiling was with a hand-held immersion blender. I tried in the regular blender but it was too powerful & I ended up with sauce all over the kitchen & myself. I had no problem getting it through the strainer, I just pulled it out of the pan with a 2-cup measuring cup & strained it a bit at a time. I put in 1 tsp of oregano & 1 tsp of basil & maybe a half teaspoon of Italian seasonings. I will definitely be making this again. Planning on just freezing in bags for the rest of the year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      It is magic! Yes, it takes a lot of time, but it doesn't take a lot of work! I was skeptical when my tomatoes were piled high above the broth/wine mixutre. But I covered the saucepan as directed and in not much time at all everything was soft and soupy and stir-able. I used a little brown sugar to add just a hint of sweetness. I made a mess when I blended it, but the fantasic results of homemade spaghetti sauce are worth it. No problems using my strainer. I'm going to freeze most of it, but I'll likely make a few more batches as the tomato plants have really started taking off...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2014

      Great way to use up loads of fresh tomatoes.Really nice, simple and flexible recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      I reduced the recipe a little (I thought) because I didn't want to end up with four quarts. I used about 15 average size tomatoes, though some were smaller. My immersion blender was having none of it but the food processor made quick work of it. I added 1 can of tomato paste, 1 tsp each of dried oregano, basil and Italian seasoning, a packet of sweetener and a bay leaf. I also added a half teaspoon of red pepper flakes since I like it spicy. After doing the strainer thing I was surprised to find that my yield was just under a quart! I was careful to squeeze all the juice I could out of the strainer, so I don't understand why it came to such a small amount of sauce - it's hard to imagine the full recipe making four quarts; maybe my tomatoes were too small or I needed more of them. It's very tasty, thought, and I'lll guess I'll be making it next time my husband plants too many tomatoes! :-) Cheers, Addiebam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Oh my goodness! How could something so easy be so good? I used a variety of tomatoes from my garden - Tiny Tim, red cherry, yellow pear, and roma. Just enough to fill a regular size colander. I followed the directions, but I was unable to run my sauce through a mesh strainer. It was just too thick. The peels and seeds were hardly noticeable, so I didn't care anyway. I added 1/3 c. sugar and oregano, basil, pepper, bay leaves, and garlic salt to taste. I skipped the tomato paste and just cooked it until it was the consistency I wanted. It was THE BEST tomato sauce I've ever had. It was wonderful as a soup as well. I processed it 40 minutes in a hot water bath and canned it for later. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      I really loved this recipe, although I think 2 cans of tomato paste was enough. I never tried any kind of broth in a spaghetti sauce, but I did use vegetable broth, because I knew it was going to last several days, and some days I like to keep my meals vegetarian. I used dried basil and dried oregano and used white onions, green bell pepper and broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I used this to make Lasanga and it complimented my Lasanaga's flavors perfectly.. It was worth the wait! I felt like a little Sicilan grandmother in my kitchen stirring the pot :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This was my first time making sauce from fresh tomatoes. It was time consuming but just as I had expected. I used 22 tomatoes (not sure what kind as they were from my mom's garden), 8 garlic cloves, 1 whole onion and a jar of roasted red peppers. For the herbs I added oregano, basil and thyme. Used two cans of tomato paste and approximately 1/3 cup of sugar to cut the acidity. Used half to make spaghetti and froze the rest for another use. My husband and I both agreed it was the best sauce we had ever tasted. It was more than worth the time it took to make the sauce. I highly recommend! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I had an abundance of tomatoes to use up from my garden so I decided to try this way of cooking them to make some sauce to freeze. It worked out great using the blender, then through the strainer. So much easier than peeling all those darn tomatoes, let me tell ya! I look ahead to using this from now on for large batches of sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Magic Fresh Tomato Spaghetti, Pasta or Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    43%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 234.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes