12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Initially, I was sceptical about this recipe but wanted to give it a go, as we don't keep icecream in the house. It absolutely worked and my hubby loved it. For my blender it worked beter if I fed the ice cubes in one by one with the motor running. I also used vegetable oil as corn oil isn't common in Australia. One hint: I reduced the oil down to 1 table spoon and the spray down to 3 seconds, and it worked fine. Do try this it really works - tasty and thick milk shake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RuthB September 11, 2007

Really quick, I just got up from the computer, cut the recipe in half and made it in about 3 minutes. Super cheap. I agree, too sweet for my tastes and you need a good blender motor. Would be good for a bunch of kids.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha June 28, 2009

I make these with Splenda and only 1 tablespoon oil. Great recipe if you don't keep ice cream in the house or you are trying to reduce calories in your diet. This recipe is from the Hillbilly Housewife site. It is worth trying at least once if you have a group of kids in the house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Watkinslady30 February 24, 2008

I was just thinking to myself how deprived my kids are that I've never made them a chocolate shake because I don't keep ice cream in the house and I stumbled upon this recipe. All of them gave it 5 stars. Easy to make, ingredients I had in the house and only costs pennies to make. Will be making this on a regular basis from now on. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovestorun1234 January 17, 2012

I made this for my son who LOVES Wendy's Vanilla Frosty and he thought it was very similar. Couldn't be easier. As recommended I cut back on the oil and forgot to add the spray but didn't notice any difference. I added less water but next time I think I will add even less. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz March 21, 2011

Could have fooled me that there wasn't any ice cream in it; it sure tasted like it. I never had Wendy's Frosty so I can't compare but I do know this tasted good. The only thing I didn't like was the taste of the cooking spray so next time I will use less of that. The nice thing about this recipe is that you can make it as thick or thin as you like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 August 14, 2010

My family thought these were quite a great treat. I also found this recipe on the hillbilly website but just searched for it here as well. This was a fun way to make something with no ice cream in the house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer December 09, 2008

I found this on the hillbilly housewife web site this summer and have made it a couple of times. These are quite good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blueberry November 09, 2008

I was totally surprised at how well this drink turned out! Got no idea if it's comparable to Wendy's shake, but IT IS DELICIOUS! I did follow the suggestions from reviewer RuthB & reduced the amounts of oil & cooking sray, & since I have a really great sweet tooth, the amount of sugar was fine with me! Thanks for a keeper recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Beverage Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 08, 2008

These are very good. I like that they don't contain ice cream, mainly because I don't usually have any ice cream in the house.. This is the same recipe that the HBHW (http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com)has on her site (which is where I first stumbled upon it).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds October 18, 2008
Magic Chocolate Milk Shakes ( Wendy's Frosty Copycat )