Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maggie's Minestrone Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maggie's Minestrone Soup

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2004

      I love Minestrone soup alot ever since I had it for the first time at the Olive Garden restaurant in Orlando. I have been desperately wanting to have the recipe. Thank you so much for posting this! I made this for dinner tonight using Maggi vegetable broth with onions as a substitute for the chicken and beef broth. Also, I used Pure Wesson Canola oil as a substitute for the olive oil and I used ghee as a substitute for butter. I had to omit the zucchini and leek since I did not have those on hand and I'm not a big fan of them either. This soup was very nice and made me warm. Thank you for sharing the incredibly good recipe on Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      This was a wonderful recipe. I added some italian seasoning and it was perfect. I served it with fresh italian bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      This was good, but a little too much fat. I boiled the ribs from Christmas prime rib for the stock so there was some fat in there too. I used 6 cups of that not half beef, half chicken. Also used 3 green onions instead of leeks and chopped up the little bit of meat off the bones and added that. No zucchini. I broke the spaghettis into about 1" pieces but it was too weird. I think a more substantial pasta would be better, bow ties, maybe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      I liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      So simple and so good.. The only addition I used was bay leaf. I was worried about the lack of spices. There was nothing to worry about - it was soo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Add another five stars, this delicious soup is very deserving of them. We enjoyed this great soup, so easy to make and the recipe is now in our favorites file. Another of CountryLady's great recipes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      My kids love minestrone but I don't care for it. Made this and ... I'm now a fan! This was so good and healthy! Great recipe! Did as told and it was easy to put together and then wait :) YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I was hungry for some vegetable soup since it is soooo cold here in Baltimore. I didn't have any beef so looked at several minestrone recipes before deciding on this one because I had everything called for. I had small bags of lima beans and collard greens from my garden. I had some sweet potatoes I needed to use up, so chopped one of those up for one of the potatoes. Surprisingly, it didn't taste sweet at all as I feared and actually tastes good in the soup. I added an extra teaspoon of beef base, a half a can of tomato paste, used stewed tomatoes and added some italian seasoning, savory, marjoram, bay leaves and garlic. It's very good with some parmesean cheese on top and bread and butter. Lots of good things in this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This was outstanding! I left out the leek and any type of noodles (hubby is not a fan of pasta in soups) but followed everything else exactly. It was wonderful! Thanks for a good soup on a cold rainy night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      This was fabulous, I did tweak it a little though. I added 1 can of mixed beans and doubled the pasta (I have little children) because of this I added an extra 2 cups of broth. I also added a pinch of thyme and basil. Served it hot with parmesan cheese and colby (montory jack), let it go all melty and ate with toast - amazing! My 3 sons loved it - particulary the "soup" part. Congratulations on a recipe that 4, 3 and 1.5 year old boys gobbled up with no complaints!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I made this soup for a crowd tonight and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe and used small tube noodles instead of spaghetti. Outstanding!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Wonderful! It turned out absolutely perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Delicious and easy to prepare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Delicious and so easy to make. I did add some garlic and chili paste but I usually add these to most recipes. Yummy winter dinner with crusty warm bread..will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I thought this soup was delicious! I didn't have a leek or zucchini, so I skipped those. I used 18 OZ of water with 3 beef boullion cubes and 4 cups of chicken broth and skipped the additional salt. I added 14 OZ diced tomatoes and 1 10 OZ can Rotel mild tomatoes with chiles/ I added 1 14 OZ can garbanzo beans and 1/2 cup elbow macaroni and about 3 cups spinach at the end. Loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      My SO is raving about this soup - i did everything verbadum except the spaghetti - I used cheeze filled tortalini- This is very rich flavourful soup - if you are going to try it - don't change it up - try it as it - you won't be sorry... GREAT RECIPE ! (also freezes well)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      WOW this is an outstanding Minestrone Soup. I highly recommend you try if you already haven't. I used Kittencal's Wonderful Beef Stock Crockpot Wonderful Beef Stock Crockpot for the beef broth and cheated by using sodium reduced chicken stock from the store. I didn't have any kidney beans on hand so I used a can of Bean Medley (chick peas, kidney beans, back eye peas etc.) The flavour was incredible. DH had two bowls for lunch. Thank you for posting a great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Excellent recipe. Only subsitutions were half as much olive oil and half as much butter - and I used light butter. It really doesn't need 15 grams of fat per serving to be fantastic. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      FABULOUS!!!! This was wonderful,perfect for a cold winters day. I made as written...wouldn't change a thing! This is going into my deserves more than 5 stars cookbook! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Absolutely excellent! Had it with homemade savory cheese bread and it was a hit all around. Makes a ton....great for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maggie's Minestrone Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (524 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.2
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    31%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 1156.8 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes