13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Maggiano's is one of my fave places, and we always get this salad. I made some changes and believe it to be RIGHT ON. Here they are: 1. like you mentioned, 1 cup of vegtable oil 2. 2 TABLESPOONS of sugar, instead of teaspoons. 3. the bleu cheese really HAS to be gorgonzola This is soooo good. My husband and I have been eating it for DAYS... just can't get enough of it! He can't believe that we can now have this salad at home... and nightly! Our tummies thank you sooo much!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodyladybug January 16, 2008

This is really wonderful! I made 2 salads for dinner but will be making enough for a crowd today.
The combination of flavors is to die for. I used Maito's recipe for crispy prosciutto >baking at 350F on parchment paper for 13 mins. is the perfect way to crisp up the prosciutto w/o adding more fat to the recipe. I scaled back on the oil and doubled the red wine vinegar. It was perfect. I cannot wait to share this with my family later today. Update: the teens and adults went crazy for this! Made for Best of 2012 Tag game!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour March 05, 2013

I made this the other night for our dinner and chose to add more veggies. I subbed green onions for the red onions, added sliced carrots, celery and cucumbers. I chose to follow the directions for baking the prosciutto in the oven, worked like a charm and really enjoyed that bacon like flavor, as well as the crisp texture, to the salad. I would personally add more vinegar and salt for my tastes, but that is just a personal taste, as my DS's girlfriend loved it just the way it was written. Thanks for sharing a great new salad recipe!! Made for "Best of 2012 Tag Game"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 28, 2013

Never had this at their restaurant, but what a super salad! I oven crisped the prosciutto like in Fig and Crispy Prosciutto Salad and used a quarter of the oil. It was really delicious. I think I might add just a tad more vinegar next time. I made 1/8 the dressing (and it was more than enough), but half the salad ingredients for 2 people.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 26, 2012

This is my favorite dressing EVER and I love that Maggiano's salad - this gets really close to the restaurant version. I change the salad a bit and just add bacon bits ( the big bag from costco) and it seems the same to me. Much faster & easier.....I put it in a squirt bottle and it last quite a while in the fridge. So glad to find this as the closest Magianno's is 90 miles so I don't get there much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelster2 September 13, 2014

Yummy salad, although I did make a few changes. I left out the prosciutto(don't eat meat) and used all romaine lettuce. Love the tartness of the blue cheese with the sweetness of the dressing. Thanks! Made for Best of 2012 game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 01, 2013

Really miss this salad, and living near a Maggiano's! What a treat to have this at home and in my lunchbox - I made changes suggested by other reviewers (using gorgonzola, reducing oil, increasing sugar). This makes a LOT of dressing so I would reduce the overall amount next time. I thought the water in the dressing could be a typo but it was great. You would never know it was "watered down" and I will do this more often with other oil/vinegar dressings to reduce calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen February 09, 2013

It's been awhile since I've had the original at Maggiano's, but 2 C of oil is WAY too much. Great recipe but I would absolutely cut the oil in half. Other than that, the rest of the recipe seems to be pretty close.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eobrien December 19, 2010

Loved this salad. I made half a recipe of the dressing for the two of us and we still have enough leftover for another salad each. I didn't use all of the oil as the dressing was nice and thick and emulsified. I had never had crispy prosciutto before and it won't be the last time for this great salad. I did use Crispy Crumbled Prosciutto instead of frying it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 23, 2009

I made this last night and it was absolutely the best!!! I only used about 1 and 1/4 cup of Crisco vegetable and canola blend oil and it tasted every bit like Maggiano's. Wow this was good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TurboMom September 18, 2008
Maggiano's Little Italy House Salad