Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maggiano's Little Italy House Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maggiano's Little Italy House Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2008

      Maggiano's is one of my fave places, and we always get this salad. I made some changes and believe it to be RIGHT ON. Here they are: 1. like you mentioned, 1 cup of vegtable oil 2. 2 TABLESPOONS of sugar, instead of teaspoons. 3. the bleu cheese really HAS to be gorgonzola This is soooo good. My husband and I have been eating it for DAYS... just can't get enough of it! He can't believe that we can now have this salad at home... and nightly! Our tummies thank you sooo much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      This is really wonderful! I made 2 salads for dinner but will be making enough for a crowd today.
      The combination of flavors is to die for. I used Maito's recipe for crispy prosciutto >baking at 350F on parchment paper for 13 mins. is the perfect way to crisp up the prosciutto w/o adding more fat to the recipe. I scaled back on the oil and doubled the red wine vinegar. It was perfect. I cannot wait to share this with my family later today. Update: the teens and adults went crazy for this! Made for Best of 2012 Tag game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      I made this the other night for our dinner and chose to add more veggies. I subbed green onions for the red onions, added sliced carrots, celery and cucumbers. I chose to follow the directions for baking the prosciutto in the oven, worked like a charm and really enjoyed that bacon like flavor, as well as the crisp texture, to the salad. I would personally add more vinegar and salt for my tastes, but that is just a personal taste, as my DS's girlfriend loved it just the way it was written. Thanks for sharing a great new salad recipe!! Made for "Best of 2012 Tag Game"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Never had this at their restaurant, but what a super salad! I oven crisped the prosciutto like in Fig and Crispy Prosciutto Salad and used a quarter of the oil. It was really delicious. I think I might add just a tad more vinegar next time. I made 1/8 the dressing (and it was more than enough), but half the salad ingredients for 2 people.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      This is my favorite dressing EVER and I love that Maggiano's salad - this gets really close to the restaurant version. I change the salad a bit and just add bacon bits ( the big bag from costco) and it seems the same to me. Much faster & easier.....I put it in a squirt bottle and it last quite a while in the fridge. So glad to find this as the closest Magianno's is 90 miles so I don't get there much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Yummy salad, although I did make a few changes. I left out the prosciutto(don't eat meat) and used all romaine lettuce. Love the tartness of the blue cheese with the sweetness of the dressing. Thanks! Made for Best of 2012 game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Really miss this salad, and living near a Maggiano's! What a treat to have this at home and in my lunchbox - I made changes suggested by other reviewers (using gorgonzola, reducing oil, increasing sugar). This makes a LOT of dressing so I would reduce the overall amount next time. I thought the water in the dressing could be a typo but it was great. You would never know it was "watered down" and I will do this more often with other oil/vinegar dressings to reduce calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      It's been awhile since I've had the original at Maggiano's, but 2 C of oil is WAY too much. Great recipe but I would absolutely cut the oil in half. Other than that, the rest of the recipe seems to be pretty close.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Loved this salad. I made half a recipe of the dressing for the two of us and we still have enough leftover for another salad each. I didn't use all of the oil as the dressing was nice and thick and emulsified. I had never had crispy prosciutto before and it won't be the last time for this great salad. I did use Crispy Crumbled Prosciutto instead of frying it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I made this last night and it was absolutely the best!!! I only used about 1 and 1/4 cup of Crisco vegetable and canola blend oil and it tasted every bit like Maggiano's. Wow this was good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I use this recipe all the time! It is a favorite with our family when we can't get to the restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      We were at Maggiano's just a few nights ago and came home still CRAVING this amazing salad... luckily I found this recipe that is an excellent replication of the real thing! (Definitely agree with using only 1 cup of oil.) It was so good my husband is asking for it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Salad is great. I eat at Maggiano's regularly and this is on the mark. Thanks for sharing. I had tried another 'copycat' for this dish and it was much more difficult to prepare and not even close to being the Maggiano's salad I love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maggiano's Little Italy House Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.0
     
    Calories from Fat 529
    95%
    Total Fat 58.8 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 10.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1100.2 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prosciutto

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites