Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Madras Curry Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Madras Curry Powder

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2010

      Close, but not quite. While Madras style curries are known to be very fragrant with sweet spices, this sweetness is always balanced with pungent and earthy spices. This recipe has waaaaaaaaay too much cinnamon and other spices, namely ginger and cardamon. The recipe is also missing Fenugreek, which is a must for Madras style curry. Here are my suggestions to correct the above:
      1. Reduce the cinnamon to 2 Tbsp
      2. Increase Cumin Seeds to 8 Tbsp
      3. Add Fenugreek Seeds - 2 Tbsp
      4. Instead of powdered Cardamom, use 2 Tbsp of whole cardamom. This will reduce the overall amount once it is ground, and drastically improve flavor.
      5. Reduce ground ginger to 1 Tbsp. Since most curries contain fresh ginger, this reduction is essential. Also, fresh ginger is far superior.

      This will yield a spice mixture that will not only be more balanced and authentic, but it will certainly liven up any dish that you may but on to stew. ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This was good but it doesn't really look or taste like the kind of curry powder I am used to. It tasted more like a Moroccan seasoning blend and was dark brown while every curry powder I've ever seen is orangey-yellow. I checked the ingredients on my purchased bottle of madras curry powder and added more of certain ingredients to try to duplicate it; after that it started to taste more like what I'm used to but still not like a true curry powder. Don't get me wrong, I did like this blend; just wasn't what I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      WOW! I have never made my own curry powder and was surprised at the phenomenal flavor this packed when we taste-tested this with what I buy from the Indian store. The store bought had no flavor at all by comparison. For DH's taste I used less of the peppers and non-Indian spices. Grinding this in a coffee grinder (just for spices) was the perfect way to go. A quarter recipe made almost a 1/2 cup, so that will last a while. Thanks Sharon, for opening my eyes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      this is amazing! I use it all the time! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Well, there will be no going back to buying grocery store curry powder now that I have made this recipe! It has an amazing aroma and flavour. I took a reviewer's suggestion of eliminating the cayenne, and adding it to taste for individual recipes, added 1 TBSP fenugreek seeds, reduced the cloves to 1 tsp, and added 2 TBSP curry leaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      amazing!!!! THANKS for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Wonderful aroma as this heated in the pan. I made for ZWT4's trip to Africa and used it in the Spice It Up Challenge. I also made a quarter and next time I'd cut the cayenne...it was great but a little too much zing for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Fabulous flavor, this was a nice simple recipe for homemade powder, i liked the heat so used the full cayenned. Also did cut the recipe to a 1/4. Used in Ground Beef Curry (Kima Curry)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Love home made spice and seasonings and this one is no exception. Made as posted and used it in the making of Cashew Chicken Curry - it has been added to my collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Wow - I have never made a spice before and I'm so glad this is the one I chose to tackle that project! I made just a .125 recipe and used 1t, but I have lots leftover for another time. I added about double the amount of cayenne, as we like it hot and it had a little kick... it was also sweet at the same time which is just how I like my curry. It took a very long time for the seeds to pop, I wonder if I should have had a higher heat. Also I used my food processor and found that it took a very long time before it became a fine powder - many many minutes. Made for ZWT4 Spice it Up challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I easily halved this recipe and now I have a nice-sized container of awesome curry powder! I enjoyed making this. It was my first time making a curry powder. My kitchen smells fantastic. The first recip that I used this curry powder for South African Curried Eggs . Can't wait to use this again. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Great curry powder. I made it as directed except that I used ground coriander since I was out of seeds. I made 1/2 batch and still have lots left to use later - yum. I might have had my heat too low - I had some trouble getting some of the seeds to pop - although it was fun later to watch the mustard seeds skip across the pan, lol. I used this curry powder in East African Curry and loved it. Thanks Sharon. Made for ZWT4 Spice it Up challenge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Excellent curry powder. I made one-fourth of a recipe (and had plenty to share with a friend). It was so easy to make and smelled divine as it cooked. My first two usages were in West African Chicken and East African Curry. I'll never need to buy curry powder again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This was very easy to put together. The spices were ground in a coffee grinder. The recipe was reduced to 1/8 pound and I have a nice size container for use in curry dishes. Made for *ZWT 4*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I made a 1/4 recipe to use in Curried Lentil and Vegetable Soup for a challenge on the ZWT4. After returning to the recipe to review I noticed I left out the tumeric. Even with that error the flavor the spices added to the soup was wonderful. It also smelled terrific. This has more cinnamon than my normal curry powder, but it added a sweetness my DH loved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Wonderful. My kitchen came alive with the fragrance of this curry powder mix! I added 1 tablespoon fenugreek seeds and my mix of ground dried chili's. Used 1/2 teaspoon cloves. I 1/2`d the recipe. I used this to make Curried Rice and Bean Salad

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      A very good recipe. I made curry pork this past week and the kid's are after me to make it again. A real winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I really like this version of curry powder. My Indian friends also thought it tasted quite authentic! When you use it to make a cooked curry dish, be sure to fry it in some oil first because some of the flavours can only be brought out by frying in oil. However, since the spices have already been toasted, it is also very tasty in sauces like mayonnaise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Good recipe. I have used it so far in the Singapore Noodles Copycat P.F. Chang's Singapore Street Noodles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      A fabulous spice...toasty, spicy, fragrant and strong! I toasted my seeds, shaking the pan, waiting for them to pop. My heat must have been too low since very few seeds performed what I call a "pop". I was really worried about burning all these spices. I used my blender, but considered using my coffee grinder, working in batches to get a nice powder, but was too lazy to even think about cleaning it out. There is a huge difference between this freshly made curry powder and the insipid grocery store variety. A little goes a long way. I like that I can make this up and initially leave out the cayenne, adding it to taste as I use it in a particular recipe. Some people like curry, but don't like it hot. My first taste of this curry was in deviled eggs with a small strip of chutney on top...pure delight. You have spoiled me now Sharon for all other curry powders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Madras Curry Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5265.4
     
    Calories from Fat 963
    18%
    Total Fat 107.0 g
    164%
    Saturated Fat 24.2 g
    121%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 936.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 1239.8 g
    413%
    Dietary Fiber 527.7 g
    2110%
    Sugars 21.3 g
    85%
    Protein 216.9 g
    433%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes