21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Close, but not quite. While Madras style curries are known to be very fragrant with sweet spices, this sweetness is always balanced with pungent and earthy spices. This recipe has waaaaaaaaay too much cinnamon and other spices, namely ginger and cardamon. The recipe is also missing Fenugreek, which is a must for Madras style curry. Here are my suggestions to correct the above:
1. Reduce the cinnamon to 2 Tbsp
2. Increase Cumin Seeds to 8 Tbsp
3. Add Fenugreek Seeds - 2 Tbsp
4. Instead of powdered Cardamom, use 2 Tbsp of whole cardamom. This will reduce the overall amount once it is ground, and drastically improve flavor.
5. Reduce ground ginger to 1 Tbsp. Since most curries contain fresh ginger, this reduction is essential. Also, fresh ginger is far superior.

This will yield a spice mixture that will not only be more balanced and authentic, but it will certainly liven up any dish that you may but on to stew. ENJOY!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Escoffier Pepin December 20, 2010

This was good but it doesn't really look or taste like the kind of curry powder I am used to. It tasted more like a Moroccan seasoning blend and was dark brown while every curry powder I've ever seen is orangey-yellow. I checked the ingredients on my purchased bottle of madras curry powder and added more of certain ingredients to try to duplicate it; after that it started to taste more like what I'm used to but still not like a true curry powder. Don't get me wrong, I did like this blend; just wasn't what I was expecting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz September 27, 2010

WOW! I have never made my own curry powder and was surprised at the phenomenal flavor this packed when we taste-tested this with what I buy from the Indian store. The store bought had no flavor at all by comparison. For DH's taste I used less of the peppers and non-Indian spices. Grinding this in a coffee grinder (just for spices) was the perfect way to go. A quarter recipe made almost a 1/2 cup, so that will last a while. Thanks Sharon, for opening my eyes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 28, 2008

this is amazing! I use it all the time! thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
umisa April 09, 2009

Well, there will be no going back to buying grocery store curry powder now that I have made this recipe! It has an amazing aroma and flavour. I took a reviewer's suggestion of eliminating the cayenne, and adding it to taste for individual recipes, added 1 TBSP fenugreek seeds, reduced the cloves to 1 tsp, and added 2 TBSP curry leaves.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo March 08, 2009

amazing!!!! THANKS for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` July 15, 2008

Wonderful aroma as this heated in the pan. I made for ZWT4's trip to Africa and used it in the Spice It Up Challenge. I also made a quarter and next time I'd cut the cayenne...it was great but a little too much zing for me!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan July 01, 2008

Fabulous flavor, this was a nice simple recipe for homemade powder, i liked the heat so used the full cayenned. Also did cut the recipe to a 1/4. Used in Ground Beef Curry (Kima Curry)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 28, 2008

Love home made spice and seasonings and this one is no exception. Made as posted and used it in the making of Cashew Chicken Curry - it has been added to my collection.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry June 26, 2008

Wow - I have never made a spice before and I'm so glad this is the one I chose to tackle that project! I made just a .125 recipe and used 1t, but I have lots leftover for another time. I added about double the amount of cayenne, as we like it hot and it had a little kick... it was also sweet at the same time which is just how I like my curry. It took a very long time for the seeds to pop, I wonder if I should have had a higher heat. Also I used my food processor and found that it took a very long time before it became a fine powder - many many minutes. Made for ZWT4 Spice it Up challenge.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 25, 2008
Madras Curry Powder