59 Reviews

Loved this meatloaf! Every meatloaf I try that has catsup tastes so bland. Thanks for giving me another option!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne03 March 09, 2003

Excellent blend of flavors! I used cream of mushroom soup and it was so good. I just threw out my old meat loaf recipe and replaced it with this one.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bitty Buns February 17, 2003

Very good meatloaf!! Only thing I did different was to add some fresh chopped garlic...we are garlic lovers here. The meatloaf was very moist and tender. Thanks for a keeper Inez!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in NH August 07, 2002

Mizz Nezz, I had deer "burger" to use which I add 1# ground chuck to. Also used 1/4 cup Italian Bread Crumbs and 4 whole wheat bread toasted and all ran in food processor. Watching my salt so didn't use the 1 tsp, other ingredients I used would have enough! Will make again once my DBF brings me some. Thanks for posting its sooooo good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Justmez2 June 27, 2010

This is a meatloaf full of flavor. I made this last night for dinner and we loved it. I just used it up this morning for DH sandwiches for lunch. My only complaint, while a small one, is that it didn't hold together at all. My loaf, after sitting for 10 minutes, crumbled when trying to slice it. No matter, we still devoured it as it tasted so good. This is by far one of the most flavorful meatloaves I've ever made. Thank you for sharing this "oh so good" loaf recipe with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 03, 2009

Thinking it would cut down on cooking time I put the meatloaf in a longer, flatter dish. My result was a thin meatloaf, crispy on top (even though I used foil) and a soft bottom. I used my own homemade stuffing from homemade bread & herbs. The flavor was wonderful and finicky DH loved it even though it crumbled from pan to plate and the presentation was poor. The best part were the leftovers. The next day I put the remaining meatloaf in a fry pan, added another can of mushroom soup, 1/2 cup skim milk, and a dash of Worcestershire sauce; heated through and served over rice. It was like a stroganoff. Lovely! I will make this recipe again properly following the cooking and pan size guidelines more strictly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Summerwine March 12, 2005

You have a true winner here..this was moist, a pleasure to slice..and flavorful..I am not normally a meatloaf fan but..this was very good I think that next time I will try this mix with ground turkey/chicken..I am sure that would be fab too.. thanks for a great meatloaf recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diest May 03, 2003

Made this into a Gluten Free version using GF stuffing ("Glutino Cornbread Stuffing" and GF soup ("Progresso Cream of Mushroom") and it is hands down the BEST Meatloaf recipe EVER! *I followed the same amounts that were called for in the recipe when substituting with the GF ingredients. Firmness, which I read was a problem in previous reviews was not an issue for me at all. Actually, taking precautions to keep it from falling apart never even crossed my mind while I was preparing it. Did add a few extra things, (the gf stuffing I used isn't particularly flavorful enough to carry over into the meat and love making a recipe "my own" sort to speak) so here are they are.. Nothing out of the ordinary ... and I am positive they are not even necessary! About a half tsp (didn't measure it) of Kitchen Bouquet (which is also gf) Garlic powder, garlic salt Onion powder (no minced onions on hand) Aleia's Italian Bread Crumbs GF) about or less than 1/4 c Emeril's BAM seasoning about 1/2 tsp or more Divided the amount of milk into equal parts heavy cream and 2% (no evaporated on hand) Used mini loaf pans instead of making it into one single large loaf. This recipe is way under-reviewed! It's a fantastic! Thank you for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liberty May 07, 2015

This is our favorite meatloaf recipe! I've been making this for 6 years and think it is steps above most other meatloaf recipes. I use fresh onion and alittle green pepper, which I soften on a plate in the microwave before adding to the mix. That eliminates any undesired crunchiness of the vegetables. Sometimes, I'll add a can of gravy to the some of the drippings and serve over mashed potatoes. Make fresh green beans and you've got a wonderful, comfort food meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jammer72 January 25, 2014

This is the best meatloaf recipe I've ever made. My family loved it, and my younger son had seconds. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and did not add the 1 tsp of salt. I'm glad since the soup and stuffing mix had enough. I also baked it in individual miniloaf pans, so I had 8 plus 1 free form mini meatloaf. Each loaf stayed together pretty well. I'm putting this in my rotation recipes and will be doing an OAMC with it as well. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha February 05, 2013
Mac's Meatloaf