Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Macrina's Orzo Salad With Cucumber, Bell Pepper, Basil and Feta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Macrina's Orzo Salad With Cucumber, Bell Pepper, Basil and Feta

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2009

      I made this for a recent Zaarfest and while I liked the salad in general, as another reviewer said, the dressing is a little heavy on the oil. I also couldn't taste the lemon, although I used the juice of 1-1/2 lemons. Next time I make this, I will cut back a bit on the oil and replace some of the lemon juice with wine vinegar. I feel that will improve the flavour enormously. I found also that this salad tastes better after being in the fridge for a couple of days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      This was delicious. I did alter it a bit - used pine nuts and substituted orange champagne vinegar for the red wine vinegar (and used alot of it). Awesome and easy, I will keep this recipe on hand for when I need an impressive make ahead salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Just made this for the second time and it was once again delicious. I sauteed some chicken in olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper, then shredded it and added it to the salad for some extra kick and a little protein. The only other changes I made were to leave out the walnuts and parsley, just a personal preference. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      We had this at a Ontario Zaarfest. It is very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Great salad. DH loves orzo and this is the best salad I've made in a long time. I did leave out the nuts. Served with Greek-Style Turkey Burgers, Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad and for dessert, Greek Pasteli (Sesame Seed & Honey Snacks).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Great light salad that matches perfectly with BBQ meats. I followed the advice of others and only used part of the dressing (until I thought there was enough). I followed the rest of the recipe perfectly, although I wouldn't use walnuts next time (they are not needed).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was very very good. I added some romaine lettuce and grilled shrimp to mine to make it a main dish. (and it tastes just like the shrimp orzo pasta salad we usually purchase.) We had no walnuts so we used pine nuts but they could easily be left out without taking away from the salad. Reduced the amount of olive oil in the dressing. PS The dressing, as listed, makes ALOT and could easily be halved for the pasta salad. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Best orzo salad yet! Cut dressing in half, and with that only did 1/4 cup and 1 tbsp of olive oil. Also, only used 1 tbsp olive oil to toss pasta. Used pecans instead of walnuts, b/c were on special and they were so good in it!! Proportions seemed great on everything else; very, very tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Awesome. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      Lovely salad! Used little more lemon juice than instructed, for added flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This was great! I omitted the feta cheese, and allowed the salad to sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving...I served this on our rooftop patio with spicy homemade hummus with homemade pita chips and baby carrots, and sparkling mineral water and everyone loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      Nice and refreshing alternative to fatty macaroni salad. I used only 1/3 of a cup of olive oil for lemon vinaigrette and it was wondeful. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      outstanding! made exactly as the recipe states. One thing though, it served about 6-8 for a main meal... I had alot leftover! Leftovers were good though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      This was great. I used small grape tomatoes instead of the red pepper and it was wonderful! I made this for a BBQ, and everyone loved it. Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      The salad has a good flavor but the vinaigrette was a little too heavy on the oil for my taste. The recipe itself seemed to me to be a little unorganized, as I would generally cook the pasta first before preparing any of the vegetables for the salad. So, one needs to read the recipe through to keep from wasting time in the kitchen. I think I would have preferred this as well with a different type of nut than walnuts with the other ingredients, perhaps something like pine nuts. But that's a matter of personal taste. Overall, a nice recipe, I probably would make it again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      Yum! This is a great salad that looks fantastic as well as tastes good. I took this to a club event and got asked for the recipe because people couldn't stop picking at it. The vinaigrette keeps really well and the salad keeps up well to tropical temperatures. Perfect for the BBQ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Macrina's Orzo Salad With Cucumber, Bell Pepper, Basil and Feta

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1038.5
     
    Calories from Fat 715
    68%
    Total Fat 79.5 g
    122%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 41.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1160.0 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 21.4 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon vinaigrette

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites