10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I omitted the nuts and finished with chocolate drizzle and caramel sauce. Lined the pan with tinfoil for easy cleanup. I followed the baking advice and cooked the base for 8 minutes and the filling for 12. The middle wasn't set so I cooked until the edges were about to burn and had to take it out. Finished product was still raw in the middle so I cut off the cooked edges and had to throw the rest out :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BBMinx December 24, 2012

Nice, chewy bar cookie. Definitely follow the other chef's advice and bake the base for only about 8 minutes and bake the filling for about 12 minutes. I did that and the bars turned out great. The butterscotch flavor is really nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon April 06, 2011

Follow baking instructions and tips that Kathy wrote in her review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef December 03, 2010

A fantastic,simply delicious bar. Easy to make. I baked this at 350F, the base for 15 minutes then for 19 minutes @ 350. It was perfect(for my oven). A wonderful addition to the Christmas dainty tray. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 December 12, 2009

OMG!!! These are fantastic. Like everyone else, the first time I made these the crust was rock hard - but my family liked them so I followed the suggestions that Jackie G gave and I cooked the crust only 10 minutes the second time and then the filling for only 12 minutes. They were much better but I had to try it again. The 3rd time was a charm. I cooked the crust for only 8 minutes and the filling for 12 minutes. They were FANTASTIC. I put some milk chocolate chips in a small zip lock bag and I put some white chocolate chips in another zip lock bag. Microwaved them for 1½ minutes, snipped a small hole in the corner of each bag and then drizzled the chocolate over the bars. Did the same with some caramel syrup. They looked just like the bars from M&M's. Love these so much they are now my favourite to WOW the crowds with. Just like M&M's but a lot less expensive. Thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy from Penetanguishene October 09, 2009

Loved these!!! The taste was amazing however the crust was a little hard, but I can live with that. I will bake these at 350 next time. I also doubled the recipe and it was worth it. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starluvsky August 19, 2009

Scrumptious!! The first time I made these I packed down the base too firmly which resulted in rock hard squares. Still, the taste was so fantastic that I had to try it again, this time pressing more gently and baking only 10 minutes.I then baked it again with the filling but for only 12 minutes...I guess I have a super hot oven! The result is a to-DIE- for square! Just as good as M and M's...maybe better! I took Pamela's advice and drizzled with chocolates and caramel.I'll be making this again and again. Thanks so much Steve!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie G July 18, 2008

These bars are so irrisistable!! Everyone who sampled them has named them their new favorite bar! So hard to wait for the bars to cool before digging in! Definately making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koolio April 29, 2007

wow! This is one of those recipes that I wish I could give more than 5 stars! I love the macaroon madness bars from M&M but they are so expensive!! I was so happy to find this recipe and now I can make my own. The only change I made was to make them look like the store bought bars by drizzling white chocoalte, milk chocolate, and caramel on the top after they had cooled. MMMMmmmmm delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * April 24, 2007

OMG, these are good. I wanted to test them out before making them for my annual christmas cookie exchange so I made them for a banquet and had many people compliment them. Turned out perfect. I also drizzled some melted chocolate over finished product. Looked and tased like the M&M bars. Use real butter (not margarine) for crust. This "makes" the square!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prlr September 21, 2006
Macaroon Madness Bars