Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Macaroni With Kale and White Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Macaroni With Kale and White Beans

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2011

      I love this stuff. I have eaten the leftovers from this for my last 3 meals, and I'm still not tired of eating it. I used vegetable broth and pene pasta, and I also added an additional 1/3 cup liquid at the end to keep it from being too dry. I used the cooking water from the pasta as this liquid. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly and I think it has the perfect amount of seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I love this recipe. I've made it twice in the past 2 weeks. First time I misread and used 3 cups veg. broth. Result was too much liquid (used a slotted spoon to serve) but tons of flavor. Second time I used the correct amount and it wasn't as flavorful. My suggestion? 1 cup veg broth. Simple, fresh and delicious weeknight dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I also used Barilla Plus Penne vs. macaroni. I liked how the beans disintegrate a little bit in the mix, making the whole dish smoother. This has a great flavor despite only using a little salt and a little oil. I've started adding a small amount of feta to the dish in addition to the parmesan. love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      I'm growing kale in my garden this year and also get a CSA share that sometimes delivers kale. This was a great dish that can work either as a side or as a main dish. I added a little chopped chicken and we ate it with a salad as our main dish. My husband reallly liked it - and he's quite suspicious of new dishes using unusual vegetables he assumes he doesn't like. We've made it twice now - like it with the chicken added best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2014

      This was a really nice, quick and healthy meal. I was out of cannellini beans so I used kidney beans as a substitute. Not only did they work out as far as taste but they looked beautiful. After eating the first few bites, I felt like the flavors seemed a little flat so I topped my serving with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and that brightened it up just enough for me. I can see how this recipe could be really flexible as far as add-ins. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      Absolutely delicious as written! We were looking for something to do with some leftover kale and chose this recipe as a side dish. Are we glad we did!!! I made it exactly per the recipe (using penne), but did sprinkle some sauteed mushrooms leftover from our mushroom focaccia bread (also pictured) on top. This is a side dish that could easily turn into a more hearty entree with the addition of more protein (sliced roasted chicken, sliced pork loin, etc). Love it! Thanks, SAHMchef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      This was so good! Way better than I expected. I used whole wheat rotini. After reading the reviews I also added a little low-fat feta cheese. I confess I did double the red pepper and I'm really glad I did. This came out creamy and just plain delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      This is so good. Following the advice of another reviewer I added some feta cheese. The second time I made it I used spinach instead of kale, which was delicious. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      I got some kale at the farmer's market and I chose this recipe to make with it. It is a great mix of flavors and the kale is so good for you! I only used 2 T oil, and I used 1 cup of broth, made from a bullion cube, so I omitted the salt. I also added 1/2 a Vidalia onion, sliced thinly (which I sauteed with the garlic and red pepper in the beginning). I served this with seasoned sweet potato fries and additional Parmesan, if anyone wanted it. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Most of us liked this. I used rotini and made 2lbs of pasta and 2 lbs of kale, which was perfect. I added a large onion, sliced in rings, that I cooked in the oil b4 adding anything else. I used veg and I'll leave out the red pepper flakes next time. All in all a great meal. The hardest part is washing and chopping all the kale. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Wow! I was not expecting to like this as much as I do! It really has such an incredibly rich flavor. We used Barilla Plus pasta for a little extra protein and it was perfect. DH claims that kale is now his favorite veggie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      I used chicken broth and added mushrooms and onions. We did enjoy the flavors. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      I make this with myocoba beans and add just a smidgen of cumin and red pepper flakes. This makes such a good and nutritious meal!!! I don't 'do' the cheese as I think it takes away from the other flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Very tasty and healthy! I also used the Barilla Whole Wheat Plus Penne Noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Good, not great. I made it just for me (hubby wouldn't eat something with beans and kale) and found it very salty. I liked it, but probably wouldn't make it again as written; I'd try to spice it up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Very nice! I used spaghetti instead of macaroni and pinto beans because I was out of cannellini. I also added a thinly sliced carrot and topped it off with some spaghetti sauce ( my husband won't eat pasta without sauce). I think next time I'm going to add some carmelized onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I made my dinner based on this recipe tonight. I used whole grain rotini as the pasta and used vegetable broth and added a Greek twist with some chopped kalamatas, 2 chopped tomatoes and used Kefalograviera instead of Parmesan. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      very flavorful, the kale picked up the garlic and pepper nicely. it was missing a small something for me and I think you are right about the parm. next time i will go to the deli section instead of using the prepackaged parm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Very good and very guilt-free healthy. I doubled the red pepper, halved the salt and used cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Macaroni With Kale and White Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 549.5
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    23%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 5.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 469.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 10.8 g
    43%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes