20 Reviews

I love this stuff. I have eaten the leftovers from this for my last 3 meals, and I'm still not tired of eating it. I used vegetable broth and pene pasta, and I also added an additional 1/3 cup liquid at the end to keep it from being too dry. I used the cooking water from the pasta as this liquid. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly and I think it has the perfect amount of seasonings.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdankanich January 04, 2011

I love this recipe. I've made it twice in the past 2 weeks. First time I misread and used 3 cups veg. broth. Result was too much liquid (used a slotted spoon to serve) but tons of flavor. Second time I used the correct amount and it wasn't as flavorful. My suggestion? 1 cup veg broth. Simple, fresh and delicious weeknight dinner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain April 15, 2010

I also used Barilla Plus Penne vs. macaroni. I liked how the beans disintegrate a little bit in the mix, making the whole dish smoother. This has a great flavor despite only using a little salt and a little oil. I've started adding a small amount of feta to the dish in addition to the parmesan. love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherhopecs December 07, 2008

I'm growing kale in my garden this year and also get a CSA share that sometimes delivers kale. This was a great dish that can work either as a side or as a main dish. I added a little chopped chicken and we ate it with a salad as our main dish. My husband reallly liked it - and he's quite suspicious of new dishes using unusual vegetables he assumes he doesn't like. We've made it twice now - like it with the chicken added best.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydster2 July 12, 2008

This was a really nice, quick and healthy meal. I was out of cannellini beans so I used kidney beans as a substitute. Not only did they work out as far as taste but they looked beautiful. After eating the first few bites, I felt like the flavors seemed a little flat so I topped my serving with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and that brightened it up just enough for me. I can see how this recipe could be really flexible as far as add-ins. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 30, 2014

Absolutely delicious as written! We were looking for something to do with some leftover kale and chose this recipe as a side dish. Are we glad we did!!! I made it exactly per the recipe (using penne), but did sprinkle some sauteed mushrooms leftover from our mushroom focaccia bread (also pictured) on top. This is a side dish that could easily turn into a more hearty entree with the addition of more protein (sliced roasted chicken, sliced pork loin, etc). Love it! Thanks, SAHMchef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori July 30, 2012

This was so good! Way better than I expected. I used whole wheat rotini. After reading the reviews I also added a little low-fat feta cheese. I confess I did double the red pepper and I'm really glad I did. This came out creamy and just plain delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 November 30, 2011

This is so good. Following the advice of another reviewer I added some feta cheese. The second time I made it I used spinach instead of kale, which was delicious. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB212 November 27, 2011

I got some kale at the farmer's market and I chose this recipe to make with it. It is a great mix of flavors and the kale is so good for you! I only used 2 T oil, and I used 1 cup of broth, made from a bullion cube, so I omitted the salt. I also added 1/2 a Vidalia onion, sliced thinly (which I sauteed with the garlic and red pepper in the beginning). I served this with seasoned sweet potato fries and additional Parmesan, if anyone wanted it. Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 June 24, 2011

Most of us liked this. I used rotini and made 2lbs of pasta and 2 lbs of kale, which was perfect. I added a large onion, sliced in rings, that I cooked in the oil b4 adding anything else. I used veg and I'll leave out the red pepper flakes next time. All in all a great meal. The hardest part is washing and chopping all the kale. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse April 21, 2010
Macaroni With Kale and White Beans