9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe had my name written all over it. I am a fool for mac n' cheese. Your soup was so delicious, rich, and verrrry creamy. The ham and broccoli went perfectly with all that cheese and noodles. Thanks for a quick, easy and yummy soup recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalie Z December 12, 2002

It is always a good thing to find a recipe that uses ingredients that are already in my pantry. I love Kraft's macaroni and cheese dinner so I was fairly certain that I would like this soup. I did and so did my whole family. Cheesy and creamy as expected. The ham and broccoli add extra goodness. Thanks Nurse Di. Going to be another favorite of ours.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower November 11, 2002

I loved this soup. It had a moderately thick consistency that was very creamy. Cheese, broccoli and ham are some of my favorites and they all go well together in this recipe. My husband was in agreement and we both give this a well deserving 5-stars.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl September 23, 2002

I actually made some homemade macaroni and cheese last night, but I didn't really like the flavor of it. Specifically, it didn't have any flavor. So I used the leftovers to make this soup. Instead of boiling the onions and broccoli in water I sauteed the onions in butter until translucent and boiled the broccoli in some homemade chicken broth, which I added to the pot. It was really good! My daughter downed her bowl in no time. This is a really good basic recipe with plenty of room for substitutions/improvements. Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scafire-Jen May 29, 2013

I made this recipe on 2/25/13 for mine and my SO's dinner. And since I didn't have the exact ingredients for this recipe, a few changes were made. Instead of the 14 ounce M & C dinner mix,a 10 1/2 oz. box ( or close to it ) of Velveeta's Shells & Cheddar Dinner was used. I didn't have the cheddar cheese soup so, the same size can of Fiesta Nacho Cheese Soup was used. Since we both really like broccoli, an extra 1/2 was used. I used only 2 cups of milk and the amount of ham was kept at 1 cup. Other than those changes the recipe was made as it was written. The soup did turn out thick,but I'm assuming that was because of the lack of extra milk. But that was o.k., we like our soups on the thick side. This was a very enjoyable " Stick To You Ribs " soup. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � February 27, 2013

My kids loved this soup. I loved it because it helped me use up some leftovers from Christmas dinner. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Half_Pint_75 December 28, 2006

good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef carl #2 September 04, 2006

This was wonderful. I used a smoky ham steak and then added a 1/4 tsp of liquid smoke also. The leftovers the next day were yummy too, though more like a casserole than a soup. I will make this again & again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippy December 23, 2003

This was ok for something quick to fix . I just felt it was missing something ? I think it needed something more like , maybe instead of cooking the broccoli and onion in plain water how about using chicken broth instead ? I think I will try it that way next time I make this .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P September 13, 2003
Macaroni 'n Cheese Soup