Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Macaroni and Cheese Surprise Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Macaroni and Cheese Surprise

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2002

      This is exactly what it sounds like. Good, unpretentious comfort food. It won't knock your socks off but it is great for those times when you don't feel like messing around too much in the kitchen and you don't know what to make. Especially since the ingredients are usually on hand. I would recommend this especially to people just learning to cook as this dish is extremely simple. Personally, I will probably add mushrooms, onions & peppers next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      My 16 yr old son cooks the family dinner once a week. This was easy for him to make and was a great hit!! Was completely gone by the next day. I think he'll be wanting to make this dish again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      The whole family approved! I used the "off brand" mac n' cheese and spaghetti sauce...put slices of nice n' cheesy (off brand velveeta) (and omitted the butter called for on the mac..why add the fat). Very suprised at how good it is. A better beefaroni! A great recipe for when my 12 y/o son wants to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      This was delicious! I used Velveeta Shells and Cheese and my family absolutely loved it. Thanks to your mother-in-law and you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      Not a fan of green peppers so used garlic/vidalia onion sauce instead! Had Velveeta shells and cheese on hand so used that instead as well and it came out magnificent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2002

      I just tried the Mac Surprise it is great my husban LOVED it. His grandmother did too. Marilyn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      This was sooo yummy. I make this on night my husband works late and need something that it great for leftovers. This is so yummy and my kids LOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      Nadine Cherry: 2 of 3 people liked it. It was a different change for the boxed macaroni and cheese. It says to prepare macaroni as directed on box, I would say don't cook the macaroni as long, and then add the cheese mixture, maybe then the noodles wouldn't be as soggy. Instood of Kraft Singles on top, try grated longhorn cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      Yes this is very easy to make. Yes it is hardy, but it reminds me of a homemade hamburger helper. For a quick fix, last minute dinner this is fine. I used Kraft Deluxe Mac and the Ragu Spagetti sauce. If I make this again I will use a different sauce. Something a with a bit more garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2003

      very quick and easy with things you have no hand. tasty and filling, would be great for potlucks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      This is really good. I needed something quick as we went out holiday shopping and were all starving with we got home. I whipped this up in no time at all and it was really good. I used plan marinara sauce and added some peppers and onions to ground beef while browning. I loved how the sliced american melted into the pasta and sauce, not just staying on the top. Thank you for sharing, this will be kept close for all those late night meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      We really enjoyed this quick & easy weeknight recipe. These are all ingredients we typically have on hand, too so, I'm happy to add this to my quick n' easy weeknight repertoire. I might experiment with some different cheeses on top and/or some different flavors of spaghetti sauce but, this was definitely a winner. We even served this to company, and they enjoyed it, too! Thanks for a quick and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      How quick and cheap can this recipe be for being so good? I doubled recipe and it fed 6 adults with leftovers,,and costed less than $10.00. Yaaahhh I have lunch for tomorrow lol,,if it lasts through the night,,,and money in my pocket. I cheated and just torn up the american cheese and put it in same pot and mixed it. Others in my family topped w/ grated parmesan cheese and also cheddar. I will def. make this again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      A very tasty treat. My wife would have preferred cheddar cheese but otherwise a great comfort food :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Super awesome recipe! Too easy to make and always a man-pleaser. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Way too tomatoey for me. If I were to make it again I would put more KD in the mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      This is great. It was so easy to make and everyone loved it. It does remind you of Hamburger Helper, but I thought it was better tasting than that. I wanted to point out that the recipe calls for you to boil the macaroni as directed on the box. It does not say to prepare the macaroni as directed. I added only the cheese powder, not the butter and milk that is normally added to mac and cheese. The only thing I will change the next time is to not put the cheese on top. My kids didnt like the cheese melted on top for some reason. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Very good! Definitely a kid pleaser, as my kids ate it all up in 1 sitting! I did use, however, "Hunt's Spaghetti Sauce w/meat" since it's all I had on-hand, and Kraft macaroni & cheese...Very filling, and I was thrilled at how much my kids loved it, and how little effort it took on MY part! Thank you, Shannon! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      This was ok but I found the Ragu tomato flavor a little too strong for my liking. I used the regular Ragu sauce and added a little green pepper and mushrooms to the ground beef as I was browning it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2004

      It was definately alright. Nothing spectacular, but for the evening it made a decent, yet quick meal. I'm sure we'll have it again but not as often as other 'staple' dinners, mainly when we want a change and something quick 'n easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Macaroni and Cheese Surprise

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 808.9
     
    Calories from Fat 418
    51%
    Total Fat 46.5 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 24.6 g
    123%
    Cholesterol 153.4 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1563.2 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 51.1 g
    102%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mushroom and green pepper flavor spaghetti sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites