13 Reviews

Very good! It's addictive. I was so intrigued by this that I went out to buy Kraft mac n' cheese just to try it. I followed the recipe exactly but put the peas in the boiling water with the noodles just before draining them. I used 1/2 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper. I agree the white onions kinda overpower it but I like onions.The only thing it needs is a little zip. I may try adding some vinegar, sugar and mustard to the leftovers. Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed November 06, 2010

This was really good. I made it for a picnic for 10 people Memorial day weekend and they all loved it. First they said ewww Kraft Dinner....but then they tried it and said Yummm. I made this the night before so it could really blend flavors. I did everything as written. I still have lots left over for my lunches only cause I had so many dishes. But this dish was enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting this recipe BakinBaby

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny May 24, 2009

This was pretty good -- but I think I will leave out the onion or just do very minimal next time -- seemed to overpower the flavor. I also might add some shredded cheese, as I think it would add to the cheesy flavor of the dish. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe May 22, 2009

I halved the recipe but used two hard-boiled eggs. I opted for butter rather than margarine as I prefer it in cooking, used low-fat milk and added some thinly sliced mushrooms. I sampled a small serve: delicious. I shall be enjoying this for take-to-work lunches over the next few days. Thank you for sharing this easy to put together and tasty recipe, BakinBaby. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder May 17, 2009

Had some left over Kraft Mac and Cheese, so this worked great! Easy to put together, and very tasty! What a great idea! I will make my macaroni salad this way from now on! Thanks BakinBaby! This is a winner!!! Made for Every Day is a Holiday Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom April 23, 2009

This turned out very good. It makes plenty for everyone to get their fill ! It helps to let the ingredients "meld" at least a few hours or even overnight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old School Chef February 15, 2009

I used plain macaroni and added cheddar cheese powder that I bought this summer in bulk. It was great. And I omitted the butter, used skim milk. I omitted the onions and green onions since DH doesn't care for them. And used 1/2 cup of light mayonnaise which was enough for us. I forgot the dill but that's ok. Thanks BakinBaby. Made for Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 05, 2009

We loved it! Left out the white onions, thought the green ones were enough by themselves. I also tossed the peas in a couple of minutes before the macaroni was done and it worked out fine. This is so easy and so good - will be making this again many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim December 04, 2011

I usually shy away from the use of boxed mac & cheese, but this time followed the recipe right on down & the resulting salad was very, very nice! Was tempted to add some corn to it as well, & might another time, but this initial run was per the recipe! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Beverage Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 10, 2008

I keep asking myself why I never thought of this. What a great idea! It was easy to make and tasted good. I have a feeling I will be making this many times. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus October 17, 2008
Macaroni and Cheese Pea Salad