Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Macaroni and Cheese Arrabiata Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Macaroni and Cheese Arrabiata

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2011

      This was really nice we all enjoyed it. I did leave out the flour but made the rest as written however I made some extra sauce to add when serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I was looking for a more traditional Arrabiata recipe, but I couldn't resist trying this intriguing dish. I'm so glad I did! It was much easier than I thought it would be from reading the instructions. I found that if you prep and then start everything at the same time, the components finish simultaneously. It was ready to go in the oven before I knew it! I followed the recipe to the letter and had no problems at all. The consistency was creamy and perfect. I loved the spicy tanginess of the dish and will make it again! Perhaps the reviewer who had trouble with the consistency didn't read the instructions and cooked the white sauce at too high of a temperature. Mine came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This is one of my new dinner staples. To make it a bit healthier I use a 28oz can of tomatoes, add a couple of red/yellow peppers, and use spelt or kamut pasta. I also mix up the different types of cheese depending on what is in the fridge, but every version has turned out stellar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I don't know what happened but mine ended up being weird and gritty. Not a fan. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I have made this twice since I tagged it in Sept!!!! I love the spiciness from the red pepper flakes and black pepper. This was really easy to put together and my boys loved it. I used a tad more fontina cheese and grated parmesan cuz we like it cheesy. Wish my photo had turned out, it simply didn't do it justice. I will keep this recipe handy, it's another *keeper* mary, we love your recipes. Still eating the "skillet corn" ;) Thanks for for sharing your recipes. (Made for Bevy Tag 9/08)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Made this arrabiata for lunch yesterday and absolutely loved it. In fact, I thought the tomato sauce mixture (before adding milk) was so good that I might play around with it a bit and use it as a stand-alone pasta sauce for other dishes (thanks!). I did make a few modifications. I used about 4 cloves of chopped garlic, 16 oz of fresh cherry tomatoes (chopped) from my garden, and doubled the basil because I used fresh basil. Also, I used fontinella cheese instead of fontina as that is what I had at hand, using slightly more cheese than the recipe called for because I like things cheesy! Also, I ran out of milk while cooking and substituted cream for part of the milk ingredient. I thought this was easy to put together, very flavorful, and easy to sub fresh ingredients in the summer. I will definitely make this again. Thanks, Mary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      We really enjoyed this tonight. Instead of dried basil I used lots of fresh basil straight from my garden and we couldn't find Fontina cheese so used Gouda. Other than that cooked exactally as written. Makes a great family meal that we all enjoyed. Served with garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      We loved this!!! Used a bit more pasta and used a 24 oz can of diced tomatoes. Loved the mix of the white sauce and the tomatoes!!! Used lots of crushed red pepper flakes and low-fat milk. This was perfect for a cold night!! Thanks mary! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      This sounded interesting, so I tried it using whole grain pasta. I only used 1/2 t. of crushed red pepper (just a hint of hot). The olive taste was predominant in this dish. A more grown-up macaroni and cheese--will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Macaroni and Cheese Arrabiata

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.6
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    45%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 44.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 406.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites