Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    273 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 273

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      I made some minor changes, but the white sauce is the key to this recipe, and I left it unchanged. I used shells rather than elbows, and chose a blend of smoked fontina, white Vermont cheddar, mozzarella and parmigiano reggiano for the cheeses. Outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      If you're looking for the classic mac and cheese recipe, this is it. It's creamy and delicious. I served it as a side to meatloaf. I used Velveeta and whole milk, and put a few small bits of butter on the breadcrumbs to brown them. But be warned, it makes a ton, more like 12 servings versus 6. Directions did not give pan size, and I used a 9 x 13 pan which was very full. This is perfect comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      Thanks so much for posting this JB! I followed the recipe exactly as posted, it was EXCELLENT! Just what I was looking for, nice and creamy and NOT greasy like the usual cheddar recipes. The Velveeta made a huge difference, and the white sauce too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This was easy and it was really good. It was way easier than some of the other mac an cheese recipes that require you to constantly stir the cheese. I used shredded cheese instead of cubed. I also used large shells instead of elbows. I added 2 small slices of cooked ham. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I've made this twice. The first time, I used shredded colby jack instead of Velveeta. I poured the cheese on TOP of the macaroni. It was just OK. The second time I made it, I used half Velveeta and half shredded cheddar. (Velveeta is OK, but I do like the twang of natural cheese.) The second time, I also mixed the macaroni with the cheese sauce before I put it in the baking pan. Holy Cow! What a difference! This is amazing mac and cheese! The Velveeta does make it creamy, but mixing it with the macaroni before baking ensures that the creamy goodness goes all through the dish.

      I also make this as a gluten-free recipe. I used Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free Flour in place of the regular flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      The only change I make is to saute 1/2 medium onion to a golden brown in the butter before adding the salt, pepper and flour. This is comfort food at its best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Easy to make, and tasty! I used whole wheat flour instead and also added 1 tsp of dry mustard for some more flavor. I ended up not baking this and just served the cheese sauce over pasta directly too. I cooked the sauce til it was nice and thick. Served with some freshly cracked black pepper and volia, dinner is served.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This recipe was delicious...but there is NO WAY it only makes 6 servings, unless you are feeding lumberjacks. This recipe filled my 9X13 casserole dish almost to the top, and I had leftovers for a week. (Not complaining, mind you!). The next day after making this recipe, I cut up leftovers into squares, floured the squares, dipped them in egg, then breadcrumbs and pan fried them until golden brown and delicious. Even better than the original product. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I made this the night before for a party the next afternoon. That was a mistake. It was really dried out when I went to bake it (I had not baked it the night before). It looked SO good right after I made it so I'm sure it's wonderful. Just FYI--don't make ahead of time. :) I will try it again and we'll eat it right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Simple but delicious comfort food! I used wheat macaroni in mine with just an ounce or two of mixed pasta (I was short some macaroni) and it was wonderful. Very easy to make as well. It is important to keep the sauce off the heat when adding the cheese, because if cheese cooks too much in a sauce, it will become grainy. Everyone loved this. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Excellent mac n' cheese! I did use the Velveeta and added some sauteed onion. After mixing the butter and flour, I cooked it for one minute. Then gradually added the milk.
      This filled a 13x9 baking dish, so I would say this makes quite a bit more than 6 servings...I had 5 people here, we all had seconds, and I still had enough left over so my DGD and I can have it for lunch today. Oh, and I didn't think the bread crumbs added anything to it, so next time I'll skip those. This is a keeper for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      My family loved this mac n cheese. I used sharp cheddar and a 3 blend italian cheese in place of Velvetta. And unsweetened almond milk instead of milk. I also mixed a little grated parmesan cheese in with the bread crumbs. Yummy! It is cheesy and comforting like mac n cheese is supposed to be. Oh, and this makes waaay more than 6 servings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I have tried all the top mac'n'chees recipes on here. This is by the far the most tried and true, easy to make, crowd pleasing, yummy goodness. My kids LOVE it! This is a great and easy traditional recipe. I used 2% milk and it tasted full of flavor. So I suggest sparing the useless calories of whole milk. Next time I will try the 2% velveeta and see how it is. I also sprinkled a little sharp cheddar on top before the bread crumbs. YUM YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Very good. First time making homemade mac & cheese, and this hit the spot for me. Personally I don't like mac & cheese as well if its baked, but this one was good. I will make again. I cut the recipe in half, and that made about 6 servings itself. A good alternative to breadcrumbs would be ritz cracker crumbs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Delicious! I like a bit of zing for my mac and cheese, so I added 1 tsp. ground mustard and 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper when I added the flour, salt, and pepper to the butter. I also mixed the macaroni and cheese mixture before putting the breadcrumbs on top. Everyone in my family loves this dish! Very creamy, and I have had no problems warming it up. Still tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Excellent

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Loved it!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      awesome

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      I know this recipe has gotten nothing but 5 star reviews but I made it as written and it was just so bland. Just didn't have any flavor. I used the Velveeta cheese as suggested, sprinkled the breadcrumbs with butter as suggested. I would rather stick with the box stuff until I find another recipe to try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2014

      This was a hit with our family! Simple enough for the children to make, and devoured quickly! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 814.6
     
    Calories from Fat 363
    44%
    Total Fat 40.4 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 24.8 g
    124%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1329.0 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 31.3 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites