21 Reviews

I was a little surprised to see this posted with no mention of the source. It's Martha Stewart's 'signature' dish. Her recipes rarely work for me, with this one huge exception. It's 5-star all the way, and my family is absolutely addicted to it!! Of course, there are 2 schools of thought about the texture. If you prefer your m&c very creamy, you'd probably like Patti LaBelle's version better. Otherwise, this one is perfection!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton March 26, 2004

I wanted to like this. I think it is the pasty consistency that come from the roux that does it. Love the crust. Took someone elses advice and Googled Pattie LaBelles mac and cheese recipe and printed that. Sorry Martha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA March 05, 2010

You have NO idea how long I have been looking for the PERFECT most delicious Mac and Cheese... and Eureka! There is no WAY others can compete with this one! I give you 12 stars :) Haha. We used wheat pasta and wheat bread, and next time I will definitely be using more bread...the bread cubes were, oh my goodness, TO-DIE-FOR!!! Finally, the perfect mac and cheese recipe. Thanks SOOOO much, Bay Laurel, for posting! Made for PAC Spring 2009!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene April 15, 2009

I really enjoyed this for dinner tonight. I used Swiss cheese for the gryere. It wasn't too creamy or too dry. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 21, 2009

Aaaah the classic...LOVE this mac and cheese! Been making it since I got her cookbook a decade ago and the buttered bread cubes really take it over the top. It is the PERFECT mac and cheese...tx for posting! Oh and I happen to work here so I saw it come in...hence the quick review just after your recipe went public!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com January 08, 2009

Great recipe. Everyone I have made if for has loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jec8of11 March 23, 2008

Made yesterday. It was okay.. I love ALL cheeses, but found the gruyere (like swiss) and romano, was just overcrowded the Xsharp cheddar taste that we like. It presented AWESOMELY, but the taste was just okay for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco December 12, 2007

my favorite mac and cheese dish!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Leigh November 24, 2007

I make this every year, it's a family favorite and EXPECTED! Even my pickiest nephew eats it and he doesn't "do" Mac and Cheese! My boys are picky (8-1/2 and 6), they love homemade food all around, and they can't wait for me to make it this Thanksgiving and Christmas. The little "kick" from the cayenne pepper is not a deterrent . A great tip: Use Publix's "White Mountain Bread" and use a little extra if it is cut too thin! I'm getting hungry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeedieterly November 20, 2007
Macaroni and Cheese