Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2004

      I was a little surprised to see this posted with no mention of the source. It's Martha Stewart's 'signature' dish. Her recipes rarely work for me, with this one huge exception. It's 5-star all the way, and my family is absolutely addicted to it!! Of course, there are 2 schools of thought about the texture. If you prefer your m&c very creamy, you'd probably like Patti LaBelle's version better. Otherwise, this one is perfection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      I wanted to like this. I think it is the pasty consistency that come from the roux that does it. Love the crust. Took someone elses advice and Googled Pattie LaBelles mac and cheese recipe and printed that. Sorry Martha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      You have NO idea how long I have been looking for the PERFECT most delicious Mac and Cheese... and Eureka! There is no WAY others can compete with this one! I give you 12 stars :) Haha. We used wheat pasta and wheat bread, and next time I will definitely be using more bread...the bread cubes were, oh my goodness, TO-DIE-FOR!!! Finally, the perfect mac and cheese recipe. Thanks SOOOO much, Bay Laurel, for posting! Made for PAC Spring 2009!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

    • on January 21, 2009

      I really enjoyed this for dinner tonight. I used Swiss cheese for the gryere. It wasn't too creamy or too dry. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Aaaah the classic...LOVE this mac and cheese! Been making it since I got her cookbook a decade ago and the buttered bread cubes really take it over the top. It is the PERFECT mac and cheese...tx for posting! Oh and I happen to work here so I saw it come in...hence the quick review just after your recipe went public!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Great recipe. Everyone I have made if for has loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Made yesterday. It was okay.. I love ALL cheeses, but found the gruyere (like swiss) and romano, was just overcrowded the Xsharp cheddar taste that we like. It presented AWESOMELY, but the taste was just okay for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      my favorite mac and cheese dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I make this every year, it's a family favorite and EXPECTED! Even my pickiest nephew eats it and he doesn't "do" Mac and Cheese! My boys are picky (8-1/2 and 6), they love homemade food all around, and they can't wait for me to make it this Thanksgiving and Christmas. The little "kick" from the cayenne pepper is not a deterrent . A great tip: Use Publix's "White Mountain Bread" and use a little extra if it is cut too thin! I'm getting hungry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

    • on January 05, 2007

      Totally delicious comfort food! I made this for my family at Thanksgiving and got absolute rave revues!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      I love this- Martha's mac & cheese recipe is my favorite dish. I make it every Christmas and I look forward to it. I even spend the extra $$ on aged cheddar cheese. Quite expensive to make when you use aged cheddar and gruyere cheese, but worth it. One note though: eat it the first time through- the leftovers are ok, but not creamy at all. The macaroni soaks up all the sauce. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      I have made this many times. It is awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Made this dish w/ high expectations(LOVE mac and cheese-and its Martha's, right?)-Nobody here liked it at all. It didn't have the 'tang' I was hoping for, and looking for. I was looking for a southern type of mac and cheese that has a great burned 'skin' on top--anyone???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This is by far the best mac & cheese I have ever eaten. It was a winner with my family - even my picky eater that likes velveeta mac & cheese said it was excellent. Just a note...I made with 3 cups sharp white cheddar and 2 cups 2% fat sharp cheddar. Also, used Fleischmans margarine instead of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      I found this recipe on Martha's website originally. Killer stuff. This is the perfect dish for using up those bits and scraps of cheese just hanging out in the fridge. My last rendition included extra sharp cheddar, pepperjack, gruyere, aged gouda, pecorino, and jarlsberg. It's also a nice touch to add a bit of white truffle oil to the buttered dish, just before filling it with the pasta. This freezes well, uncooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      Martha's recipe is the absolute best mac and cheese I've ever had. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      i doubt if this is martha's recipe, i have been making this way before i ever heard of her. i also add some coleman's mustard powder to the mix. this is good old comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      You may think you know macoroni and cheese. But until you've had Mama Martha's ultimate comfort food, you haven't been saved. This is the way to make mac and cheese. You will never be the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (357 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1156.4
     
    Calories from Fat 588
    50%
    Total Fat 65.4 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 39.9 g
    199%
    Cholesterol 200.6 mg
    66%
    Sodium 1666.6 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.1 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 52.2 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites