Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ma Po Tofu (From Cooking Light) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ma Po Tofu (From Cooking Light)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2009

      Very authentic considering it came from Cooking Light. People that dont like tofu will eat this one up. My mom used to make this for us on those quick dinner nights where she was tired from work. She would pair it with stir fry baby bok choy. We all loved it. The only thing she would add is about 1 teaspoon of sugar to balance out the savory/soy sauce/oyster sauce. She also used water instead of chicken broth. One more thing I would recommend is to be sure to follow the instruction and cut the tofu into 1/2 X 1/2 inch squares. This way they will absorb the delicious sauce; otherwise, most would not like a big chunk of tofu. Other than that, I remember the ingredients to be the same as my mom's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Really liked this. Made with 1lb of ground pork and about 10 oz. of rsff chicken broth. Came out very well. Will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      I used leftover pork that I diced up and pickled ginger, as that is what I had, otherwise followed the recipe. It was good, but a touch salty for me. Thanks for sharing! Made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      This was delicious!!! I picked this recipe to get my DH to eat tofu and with the pork he really did enjoy this. I added some more broth for more of a sauce and served with rice pilaf and snow peas. Definately a keeper! Thank you for posting. Made for the Spring 2013 Diabetic Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Great recipe, everyone loved it! We added snow peas as suggested by another reviewer and doubled the chili garlic sauce. Even though I am a wimp and prefer mild foods I was able to eat (and enjoy!) it. Served over Jasmine rice. Great flavor, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      We've made this twice so far. The first time we thought it had promise, but wasn't spicy enough. We don't have chili-garlic sauce in Oz though, so had to wing it. It was nice enough to give a second go with some tweeking. Second time added more chilli in the form of Sambal Olek, much nicer. We will however try for a third time with a little more spice - can't help us chilli lovers. We are just venturing into the world of tofu, so thanks for a nice introduction :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

    • on January 27, 2010

      Really, really good. I ate too much! My BF thought it was great and he doesn't eat tofu that often. I made this as written swapping pork for ground chicken. I know pork is the traditional way to go with this dish but I just don't eat it. The chicken worked out great. I was out of brown rice so I used jasmine and served with stir-fried snow peas. Thank you for posting, don't see how I missed this one in my collection of Cooking Light magazines...guess that's the beauty of Zaar:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This was a delicious lower carb meal. I doubled the pork and I think that's a good pork to tofu ratio. Next time I'll make a double batch with two packages of tofu and 1 lb pork because we loved it so much. Hubby enjoyed his like a lettuce wrap and I had mine over brown rice. I used 2 t chili sauce and next time I'd use double it for more spice. I also added some mushrooms at the same time as the tofu, I will do that again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

    • on October 28, 2008

      Oh my goodness!! We loved this! I added 2 teaspoons of the chili-garlic sauce and it wasn't hot enough for us so I added a tablespoon of fresh finely diced jalapenos from the garden. That provided JUST the right amount of spice. This was so quick and easy the handsome man was shocked when dinner was ready so quickly. This is definitely a weeknight recipe! Oh.. I made a few other changes: I used around 10oz of ground pork instead of 4 because I had a 20oz package. We like Jasmine rice so I used that instead of brown. I want to eat this every night! Mmm! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Everyone loved this, even DH, who doesn't like tofu enjoyed the heck out of this. I did a few things different. 1. I used 1.25 lbs of turkey rather than pork. I used that amount because thats the amount it comes in. 2. I doubled the sauce ingredients to account for the amount of meat with the idea that I may have to triple it but double seemed enough. 3. I subed hoisin sauce for oyster sauce since we don't like oyster sauce and DH wouldn't eat it if I paid him. 4. I forgot to get the chili sauce so I used a Japanese chili sauce. 2 tsps were enough to add a very nice flavor and a little spice without being hot. We are wimps when it comes to hot stuff. Food should never hurt. 5. I used ready cubed tofu, 2 containers. 6. I added the green onion in with the tofu 'cause we prefer it cooked. 7. I needed some green so I stir fried some bok choy. I made it as a side dish but ended up just placing it on top. Next time I think I will add it into the mixture b4 adding the tofu. All in all, I will be adding this to our normal rotation. I've never had Ma Po Tofu so I'm not sure if its authentic etc but it sure was yummy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      This is an excellent Ma Po Tofu recipe! I used 3 teaspoons of chili-garlic sauce and served over white rice. Everyone loved it!! Thanks LonghornMama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

    • on November 22, 2006

      Totally yummy! I dropped the fresh ginger to 1 teaspoon and used 2 teaspoons of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce and it was just the right amount of heat. It had a ton of flavor and was addicting. Cooking was super quick, too. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      This was excellent. I omited the chili as my son doesn't touch anything with chili in it, but it was still spicy and very tasty. A quick weekday dinner, served with chinese noodles

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This was soo good! Thanks for posting. My husband loved it. I substituted 98% fat free ground turkey breast for the pork but otherwise stuck to the recipe. The great thing about this recipe was I had everything in my pantry/fridge, it was low fat, quick and easy to make, and tasted great! Definitely will make this over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      So so good! I did add 1/2 cup more broth for the sauce was way to thick almost none. My lean ground pork was made with semi frozen pork loin that I pulsed in my food processor a couple times. This is a very low fat recipe. I did make it in a very hot Le Creuset adding the pork, ginger, garlic and 1/2 cup diced onion. Which help with the moisture so it didn`t burn or stick. I served it over Easy Mushroom Rice Pilaf Easy Mushroom Rice Pilaf. This was a great recipe a must try! I will make again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ma Po Tofu (From Cooking Light)

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.2
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    30%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 412.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat firm tofu

    reduced-sodium fat-free chicken broth

    chili-garlic sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites