13 Reviews

Ohhhhhhh these are just marvelous, tasty and good for you, too! :) I really enjoyed the different technique. The peas were done to perfection. Thank you!! ~Made for ZWT6 for Zee Zesties~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood June 28, 2010

These are some seriously awesome peas! We did not eat the lettuce after cooking but I did enjoy eating peas cooked this way! Instead of adding a bit of water I added little splashes of chicken broth. We had this for Father's Day dinner with steak and mashed potatoes! Yum! Thanks for posting! Made for The Queens of Quisine ZWT6!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ June 21, 2010

Very good peas - the result was meltingly tender and delicious. I did not serve the lettuce as I just saw it as a vessel for steaming the peas. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 21, 2010

These are really good. I've had peas with lettuce in them before but never prepared this way, so just had to give this a try. I ended up cutting the lettuce into chunks after cooking and before serving because I thought that it would be easier to eat. Thanks Bethie for a nice treat. Made by an Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 19, 2010

Okay this freaked out me out the way it was prepared but in the end the flavor won everyone over. I did have to use frozen baby petite peas as fresh are out of season. I did try the lettuce and it was not something I enjoyed but that is not what this recipe is about so 5 stars for the flavor and texture of the peas after preparing in this fashion. Made for the I Recommend Tag Game based on Karen's review.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 11, 2010

Made with frozen peas, ridiculously easy, DH was fascinated! :D A lovely speedy side dish, very tasty, I didn't serve the lettuce with them this time, but I have prepared and eaten peas and lettuce in a similar (but not the same) fashion before, it is nice to enjoy the lettuce as well! I served this together with Sticky Bacon & Sweet Potato Jackets for a lovely light supper! Thank you Bethie, this was lovely!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth January 19, 2010

Made as posted with frozen petite peas and very easy and delicious! I will be treating myself to these on a regular basis. Thanks for sharing Bethie! Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn October 03, 2009

What a tasty way to cook peas! I used frozen peas and iceberg lettuce. Thanks for a yummy side dish! Made for the Australian Recipe Swap#16.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 16, 2008

I finally got around to making these Bethie! We LOVED them! It is a little different to my own recipe, but that's what I love about RecipeZaar - you can try new ideas out! THANKS for posting this recipe for me - this will be made many more times - and maybe when I visit you??!! Love FT:-) Made exactly as written and ENJOYED...........Mmmmm! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart March 30, 2008
Ma Leetle Petit Pois