Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lynn's Favorite Jerk Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lynn's Favorite Jerk Chicken

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2013

      Looks good, but I have no idea what vegetable seasoning is. ????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      This is superb! Spice level is a medium perfect, where the kick doesn't interfere with the flavor.<br/><br/>I shouldn't eat salt, so I substituted onion powder. I didn't have any vegetable seasoning (I will next time!), so I dropped it. I used a red bell pepper instead of a green one because that's what was in the fridge. Everything else was as directed, and I cooked it in the broiler. The audience was impressed, and so was I!<br/><br/>Don't throw out the marinade! Sauté it until the peppers are soft (to make it safe to eat) while cooking the chicken and spread it on brown rice...it makes a perfect match.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      Forgot to review with my comment

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      I am sorry but this tastes nothing like Jerk chicken. The flavor was ok. I followed the recipe exactly. All I could really taste was the cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Fantabulous! I marinated the chicken for 24 hours, and it was so moist and flavourful, delicious! To make it more diabetes friendly, I used xylitol instead of the sugar, and I forgot to add the red pepper flakes, but it still was hot enough and extremely tasty. Thanks for sharing!<br/>Made for My Diabetic Recipes / Diabetes Forum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      My husband fixed this for supper tonight - it was amazing! We really enjoyed the flavors. For ZWT9 Family Picks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      YUM! We really loved the spiciness of this chicken. It may be 'Alli's' favorite jerk chicken now, too! Followed as written, it was juicy and full of flavorful heat. I know I'll be having this again, and SOON! Thanks for sharing, Lavender Lynn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      This chicken was awesome! I also had no idea what vegetable seasoning was, so I left it out. I let my chicken marinate overnight and it was very moist and flavourful right off the BBQ. I think it would make a terrific chicken sandwich for tomorrow's lunch! Made for ZWT 9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      This gets 4 stars for being so easy to throw together, and the 5th star is because my 5 year old inhaled it and begged for more. This doesn't always happen when there are many spices involved! I used chicken thighs, and only marinated for about 3.5 hours. This might be why the flavors of my final product were milder than what I think of when I imagine jerk flavors, but since I was feeding it to kiddos it was a perfect fit. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 9, Gourmet Goddesses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      I made just over a pound of this since we are in the middle of ZWT and I am doing a lot of cooking and there are just two of us, but it was great. I love the spices, a nice zip but not too much. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Was sweeter than I expected and next time I'll add more heat, but it was Wonderful with lot's of layers of flavor. Browns up beautiful and the onion makes the meat very tender. Grocery store didn't have clove or allspice (I live in rural Japan, I know I could find it in the city with no trouble), so I subbed Chinese 5-spice powder for those and the cinnamon. very nice. Deffinately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Fab-u-lous! It's such a breeze to prepare and easy to grill, but with such big flavor. As written, it isn't too spicy (just enough). I really loved the flavors. We sliced the grilled chicken and served it over lettuce. Made for ZWT9 and the Soup-A-Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      This recipe is fantastic! As some other reviewers, I omitted the vegetable seasoning (I didn't know what it was until I Googled it this morning) and used onion powder instead of onion salt. This dish has plenty of great flavor without the added salt. I cooked it about 4-5 minutes on each side on the grill. It was cooked perfectly and still moist/juicy. Thank you Lynn for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      WOWWWWW!!!! Love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Great new way to marinate and grill chicken. My husband loved it and said he would serve it to company. At first we were scared by the ginger, cloves and allspice but it tasted great. I didn't have coriander so i didn't add it. Don't worry if you don't have a spice or two, i think it would be fine. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      This was wonderful! Like others, I didn't have vegetable seasoning so I added dried parsley and chives. I also upped the heat of the chicken using red pepper flakes, cayenne, and dried ground thai chilies and a couple of crushed chipolte seasoning cubes. I gave it a little Indian flare by adding just a teaspoon of garam masala. My husband commented on how great the sweet glaze (from the sugar) was and I enjoyed how well the chicken paired with a fruity white wine. Thanks Lynn! I will be using this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Excellent, simply Excellent. Lynn's Favorite Jerk Chicken, is now my favorite jerk chicken. This is so good, so much flavor and I love the way the heat hits you after you have taken a bite and swallowed. So wonderful, you can actually taste the different flavors in this dish. I made exactly as written, marinated over night and broiled in the oven. Thank you so much Lynn for sharing this wonderful recipe, which has gone into my keeper box. This treat will be going into my Favorites for 2011. So happy I choose this recipe to make for Pac 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Simple and delicious. Don't be deceived by the long list of ingredients, this dish comes together quickly. For health reasons I substituted onion powder for onion salt and I left out the additional salt, and this was still fabulous. And to further speed the prep time I've premixed the spices into three separate jars. Next time I'll be able to dump one bottle of all the spices into the bowl and add the oil, onion, etc. Four hours of marinating was plenty and this was so easy to cook on the grill. This was a hit with adults and children alike. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      We loved this flavorful chicken. I marinated the strips for 2 hours then cooked on the grill. Made for Please Review My Recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lynn's Favorite Jerk Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.6
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    55%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 116.2 mg
    38%
    Sodium 359.1 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 38.5 g
    77%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable seasoning


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites