Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lynn's Famous Gazpacho Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lynn's Famous Gazpacho

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2002

      Typically, my husband is not a great fan of gazpacho. But, for health reasons I made this recipe and he absolutely loved it! Now we make it all the time and it has become one of our regular meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      This is by far the best Gazpacho I have every tried. The combination and amounts of each ingredient is a perfect blend. I followed Mirjam's lead and served it with scrambled eggs the next morning. (Great suggestion, Mirjam!) Thanks again Leah K for sharing this great recipe. I will be making this dish again. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      Like Lynn, my BH also is not a fan of gazpacho, he won't eat any kind of cold soup. Tough noogies on him, I made this for myself. and like Leah, found myself having it for breakfast! I even added a splash to my scrambled eggs and they were heavenly! I fried up some garlic croutons and crushed them over the soup, yowza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This recipe is an excellent base for tasty gazpacho but is a little on the bland side for my taste. The changes I made were as follow: 1) I removed the skin from the tomatoes as others have suggested, though not the seeds because it would also remove too much liquid. 2) I added about 2T of worcestershire sauce, as someone else her suggested. 3) I added fresh celery and kosher salt, rather than celery salt. 3) I used 3 garlic cloves. 4) I added a couple of jalapenos which weren't turned out to be not all that hot but gave the soup a nice green fleck. 5) For heat, I added Sambal Olek, one of my all time favorite things to use to add just heat and not salt and vinegar. 6) I doubled the lemon juice. 7) I added 4 corn tortillas to the processor that I'd let soak in the pureed tomatoes for a bit. I have a Pampered Chef chopper which makes the vegetables a nice, really finely chopped consistency. I preferred this to the more chunky style gazpacho, so I left a bit of all the veggies out of the processor to chop them. It was more time consuming but the result was really beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      My Husband LOVES Gazpacho, I REALLY don't care for Gazpacho at all,BUT,this is VERY good. I think I will try some with scrambled eggs like Mirjam Dorn said. Thank you Leah for posting Lynn's Recipe.;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      45 years ago my sister returned from school in Spain and made Gazpacho for the family. I took one look at that lumpy, cold soup and KNEW I did not like it. Have never tried it since - until this recipe! OH MY GOSH have I missed out! This was wonderful - full of flavor, refreshing, and super easy. What could be better? This will become a regular summer meal at my house! (and she can say "I told you so!")

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      Easy and soo delicious! So refreshing, especially with the mint, all natural ingredients so its a family friendly receipe! I left the mint in the bottles in the fridge so it infused! Making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      Excellent recipe - endless options for variation! I added a jalapeno, and diced radishes to the soup (not as garnish). This will be a standard for me - great way to use abundant tomatoes, and it freezes well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      Simple and easy and oh so yummy!!! I halfed the recipe and made this in my VITAMIX and it was full to the top. I did not half the garlic, red pepper or the onion. Nor did I peel the tomatoes as it is not required in my Vitamix and it purees everything so well. It was yummy right off the bat without letting it sit in the fridge for 3 hours. But, I did let it sit as recommended. Authentic gazpacho does not use carrots and has red wine vinegar and bread. This is wonderful lighter version that is great for weight watchers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      I made this for a party on a HOT evening in Texas and everyone loved it - very refreshing and light. Recipe is very easy - I did add a bit of time to the preparation time because I peeled and seeded the tomatoes - personal choice. I served with a couple of complimenting salads and steamed corn tortillas - very easy meal. Before adding the final salt and pepper, etc. be sure that the soup has set for awhile as the flavor enhances and blends, and you might not need anymore. Thanks, Lynn it was GREAT! This was my first attempt at Gazpacho!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      What a wonderful recipe! My kids even enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      This is a wonderful recipe and I have now make it 4 times in my food processor. You don't even need the garnish. A little plain non fat yogurt is yummy on it.
      The food processor gives it a wonderful texture, far superiour to a blender.
      Yesterday, I made it in a blender and I didn't like the totally pureed quality.
      I will go back to the food processor: the texture is of finely chopped veggies. I didn't peel the tomatoes.
      I also added a tablespoon of sherry vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Very delicious - best with fresh heirloom tomatoes straight from the yard. I added a dash each of red wine vinegar and worcestershire sauce for a little more zip. I also used cayenne pepper in lieu of red pepper flakes. I don't usually have celery or garlic salt around, so I substituted regular salt and garlic powder, which worked fine. I also peeled my tomatoes first (they were Black Krim heirlooms with somewhat tough skin). It's a nice refreshing dish for a hot summer day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This was delicious and easy. I had tomatoes, carrots and cucumber in the garden, and this gazpacho was a bowl of fresh! Instead of celery salt, I used 1/w tsp of both garlic and onion powder. I used a pinch of cayenne instead of red pepper flakes. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      My friend loved it thats why I am giving five stars! Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was awesome, thanks. I actually used it for an outdoor summer drinks party in the evening, and chilled 30 glass tealight holders from IKEA, filled them with this Gazpacho, and then passed through the crowd with the little glasses on a tray! No cutlery/napkins needed - no fuss! The gazpacho was delicious. The only small change I made was to omit the second chopped cucumber, as I wanted the soup to be totally smooth - but apart from that i followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it, so thanks! Will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      What a refreshing soup! I changed the recipe a bit - I used yellow/orange tomatoes rather than the red ones and I also used an orange pepper (a whole one - just b/c I misread the recipe). I didn't have any carrots, so I didn't use those & I completely forgot to put the onion in. It was STILL delicious, I can't imagine how good it would be with the onion & carrots! I also added some cilantro, but that's just b/c I add cilantro to everything, LOL! I love that stuff! This was SO easy & is so healthy & good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      I've tasted many different versions of gazpacho and this is a very good one! And so easy to make, too. My knives just happened to be freshly sharpened, which made all this chopping a breeze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2014

      I think that with Darhosta's modifications, this would be very good, and I'm eager to try it -- without the carrots. Carrots do not belong in gazpacho. Ever. Nix. The. Carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      A REALGazpacho doesn't include avacado, sour cream, carrots, or radishes. Just saying...but if you like it that is fine just not authentic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lynn's Famous Gazpacho

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.7
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    32%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 38.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes