37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is definitely the GREATEST chocolate icing I've ever had! 10 stars! Very easy to make and the taste if fantastic. I used about 3/4 of a 2 lb. bag but I like a stiff icing. Thanks so much for sharing this fantastic recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) April 15, 2006

It really is the best icing I have tried! I assumed that you meant 1/2 a 2 pound bag of powdered sugar. You must have because that was perfect! I mixed by had with a whisk and it was just fine. I can't wait to see how it tastes on the "whatever Floats Your Boat" Brownies! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeagleMommy August 09, 2007

I just made this icing this afternoon, for a bridal shower. It was superb! Its ONE HUNDRED times tastier than store bought icing. After melting the butter and whisking in the cocoa, I used my stand mixer to stir in the vanilla milk and powdered sugar (a little at a time). If you're looking for a chocolate frosting, look NO further! This is it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie Renee June 10, 2006

I am so tickled!! This recipe turned out great. I added more powdered sugar also to thicken it more as Marg said in her review. This is the greatest and I agree its is a 10 star recipe in my book!! I usually make a mess on making homemade icings but this was right on the money! Thanks so much for sharing this easy and delicious recipe. I will be making this more often in the future :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. April 16, 2006

Brought back yummy memories of what my mother use to make. Was a bit thin, just added a lit'l more sugar. I Made a 2nd batch to put on graham crackers (just like mom did :-}. Highly recommed for a true taste of "just like mom's". Thank you for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypatience November 29, 2004

This was the best icing I ever made...Actually, my son made it and it was so easy! We have saved this one to be our go to icing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 December 23, 2014

I have tried several different icings and I have to say this is the best chocolate icing I have made!!! My Hubby and Daughter love it too!!!! Thank u for sharing!!!! After melting I mixed it all with my stand mixer. I didn't measure the sugar. Just added til it was the consistency I wanted. Turned out perfect!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jesus Reigns February 02, 2014

Thanks for sharing. Loved it and it will be a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aussie Love November 29, 2013

This icing recipe is wonderful...and so easy to make! I haven't had icing like this in years! I used about 1 1/4 lbs of powdered sugar. You will definitely want to leave a little in the bowl for the kids...or yourself! This will be my regular icing from now on---love it! Melted butter in saucepan, added cocoa and stirred until smooth-then removed from eye and added other ingredients and used mixer.<br/>I paired this with the super-easy to make "One Pan Fudge Cake (29935)! So easy I could make it every day...but I better not!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanV June 12, 2013

So good! My mom begs me to make this every time we have cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshine411 March 22, 2013
Lynnie the K's GREATEST Chocolate Icing