10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe makes very thin bars. We actually doubled the filling, the lemon portion (using 4 eggs instead of 2, etc.) of the recipe on the second batch we made. They were moister and more fluffy. The time needed for cooking needs to be adjusted about 4 or 5 minutes, or until firm. Even though the first ones were thin they still were tasty, we just tasted more of graham cracker crust on the first batch. The second batch we tasted more of the lemon filling with a slight taste of the graham cracker crust.
Either way, I still am amazed that they are sugar free and low fat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psniteowl July 09, 2012

These were good, but very thin as the other reviewer stated. I followed the directions as stated, except for the margarine, I used butter, I don't know if this had anything to do with the rising or not.
Thanks for the recipe, I will try it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelNTex August 03, 2010

these are the bomb!!! fantastic, hard to believe they are low fat and sugar free!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 12, 2009

Well, I haven't tried these yet, but they look very yummy and easy to make. Both my mother and mother-in-law are diabetic, so I will be making these very shortly! You are the only one with a sugar free version of these, and I am thankful. Let you know how it turns out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatsachef? December 28, 2007

Absolutely wonderful and so tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtallick May 21, 2007

These were very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quitoslady #2 January 19, 2007

Sorry, perhaps my expectations were too high overall, given the previous reviews, but this didn't work for me. I used the Splenda and real eggs and beat until foamy, but the mixture still turned out very thin. The taste was lemony, but the bars were overall quite thin (I used 11x7 pan) and a bit gummy. Since the batter was thin, it didn't sit on top of the crust, but instead sunk into the crust. Not sure if others experienced that effect. I must have done something wrong, though I followed the recipe as stated; I don't think I would try again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miz M May 27, 2005

They're really awesome for being so simple and low-fat! They taste kind of like little lemon cheesecakes. Quite delightful ^-^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GothicGranola February 22, 2005

These are very tasty! I have to admit that I did not make them totally sugar free. We don't like the taste of all splenda in things because of the after-taste. But I used 3/4 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar, certainly less calories and sugar then in regular lemon bars. I also used canned lemon juice. I can only imagine how fabulous these would be with fresh! Yum Carrie. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit October 27, 2004

Anything that is sugar free and so low in calouries is worth 5 * Thanks for sharing this recipe, not only is it sugar free, it tastes good and has a very nice lemon flavour. I had no graham cracker crumbs on hand but I did have bought pie shell (graham cracker) on hand so I poured the custard in it and when cooled just cut it into little wedges around the outside and squares on the inside. Very pleased with the sucess with splenda, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 06, 2004
Luscious Sugar-Free Lemon Bars