Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Luscious Lemon Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Luscious Lemon Frosting

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2012

      Made this as part of a red and yellow graduation theme. I added some meringue powder to make it stiff enough for cupcakes and a little food coloring to fit with the color theme. This frosting was a huge hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Beautiful!! Very easy to make and tastes great even without the zest. I didn't have any fresh lemons so used bottled lemon juice. It still turned out awesome. I can imagine how terrific it would be with the zest and fresh juice. It made enough to generously frost an 8 inch Meyer's Lemon Cake from a boxed mix. I will add this to my tried and true file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Loved this recipe! Very simple to make and really lemony (if thats a word). I did make sure to add the zest from two smaller lemons and 2 1/2 tbsp of the lemon juice from the lemons. I played with the water to get it to the right consistency. Just add a little at a time. I was able to cover 30 lemon poppy seed cupcakes. I did skimp a bit on the last 3 to make it stretch though. If you like a lot of frosting for a two layer cake I would definately double this recipe. Use it quickly cuz the frosting tends to start to form a a light crust if it sits. If it does just add a little bit more water and smooth it out before you apply it on cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      This was the perfect frosting for a pink lemonade cake mix cake. Just the right amount for a 10x14 sheet cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This frosting is so yummy!! :) I've made it twice now, for two different events, and everyone has loved it!! The first time I made a strawberry cake, with this lemon frosting. The second time, I made chocolate & strawberry cupcakes and frosted them with the lemon frosting. My personal favorite is the strawberry cake/cupcakes with the lemon frosting. I did add yellow food coloring because the frosting is white. :) This makes a great summer frosting!! PS. I just used boxed cake mixes...strawberry & chocolate. Enjoy!! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      I'm going to double it next time because a little left over in the fridge wouldn't be a bad thing at all.commercial smoke turkey making machine

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Yum! I did have to fly by the seat of my pants a bit since I ended up with 3 Tbsp. of lemon juice instead of 2 and didn't want to toss the extra 1. So I just upped the rest of the ingredients as proportionately as I could and it turned out awesome! Using it to top one 9x13 sheet turned into a small 2 layer birthday cake. I'll definitely file this away for future use.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      This is the first time I've ever attempted to make my own frosting - pretty simple - the hardest part of sifting the powdered sugar :) Had I actually known what I was doing I probably would have added a little bit more lemon juice or water to get the consistency of the frosting a bit smoother & thinner - but the flavor is phenomenal. Next time I make this frosting I will know to increase the liquid just a tad. Thanks Poppy for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Excellent recipe! This was very lemoney. The only changes I made were to add just a touch more lemon zest and I added two and 1/2 tbs of lemon juice instead of just two. I put this on top of a 9x13 cake. If I were to make a two layer cake I would have to double the recipe for there to be enough to cover the top, sides and middle of the cake. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      Wowie wow wow! This recipe is delicious! I piped it on cupcakes and it made enough for 15 well frosted treats. I beat it with the whip attachment for my mixer and it came out light and fluffy. I'm going to double it next time because a little left over in the fridge wouldn't be a bad thing at all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I baked a dozen cupcakes and a small cake and topped both with this frosting. I added more lemon juice to give it an extra kick and create a thick glaze (rather than a spreadable frosting). So delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Delicious, sweet, and tangy! I used this recipe as frosting for Moist Lemon Orange Zucchini Muffins (Moist Lemon/Orange Zucchini Muffins). Great combination!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Best lemon frosting that I have ever made. Definitely a hit, so lemony and light.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      This is the best lemon frosting I've tried! I use it to frost butter cookies. So yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Great frosting, I ended up using about a 1/4 c. less powdered sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Aewsome frosting. After decorating the cake I thought of using yellow food coloring. Next time I will.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      This lemon frosting was wonderful! Not overpowering - light yet very lemony.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      I increased the quantities by 1/3. This was easy because the basic recipe is 3/3/3<br/>Three TBS butter, Three C powdered sugar, Three Tbs liquid.<br/>So I just did 4/4/4<br/>It worked perfectly, and was just the right amount for two 8" layers, tops and sides.<br/>It would not have been enough for between the layers.<br/><br/>Tasty and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Very good, didn't add the water & cut back powdered sugar by about 3/4 c. Frosted 12 cupcakes from Cupcake Princess' Vanilla Cupcakes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Really light and lemony, I could have eaten this with a spoon (ok, I may have...a little) I used the zest of one large lemon which was more like a teaspoon and a half, plus the juice from the same lemon. I also added a teaspoon of Limoncello and a Tablespoon of water to the lemon juice. Ended up using only 2 1/2 Cups of the powdered sugar as I was only frosting 12 cupcakes. I used salted butter so I omitted the additional salt. So good, this is going on every lemon cake I ever make in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Luscious Lemon Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (450 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 856.7
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    18%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 233.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 180.8 g
    60%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 176.5 g
    706%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes