18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good burger. Very simple and very quick. I like the adition of the mustard, it adds a kick to it. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfect Pixie July 05, 2007

Good quality meat made a very good burger. I am not in the States, so had to replace the Walla Walla onions and sourdough bread with local, very good alternatives. The roasted peppers, jalapeno and avocado made a very good flavor! Thanks, Luggage Ladies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mme M June 22, 2007

This delicious burger lived up to its name - unfortunately my avocado wasn't as good on the inside as it looked on the outside, so we had to go without, but the burger was still LUSCIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotQuiteVegetarian June 19, 2007

I have to admit I did buy fresh ground hamburger's already made instead or the sirloin. No-one in the supermarket or vegetable store knew what walla walla onions were so I used Vidalia like the others, and I used normal bacon...no idea on pepper bacon.... the girl at the deli looked at me silly!!!! ewwww and I left out the jalapenos (I wasnt even going there...lol). I was lucky enough to find American cheese at the local vegatable store. I dont eat much meat so I made these for the rest of the family, well I got told it beats both Macca's and Hungries (Jack that is). Rave reviews from the kids (older kids here) all round, only thing they thought was missing was the beetroot and only one said it needed egg, but thats an Aussie thing I think. They loved them, and said the tasted great !!!! Thanks Lucious Luggage Ladies, even without beetroot/egg you got a thumbs up from these Aussie teenagers!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme June 17, 2007

Made for ZWT III. This was a very good burger recipe. I couldn't find sourdough hamburger buns so I used kaiser rolls. The store I went to didn't have walla walla onions, so I just used a red onion that I had on hand. I had previously made Creamy Avocado Lime Dip #167766, so I use that in place of the avocado. All the flavors melded really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 16, 2007

This was a very satisfying comfort food. I used a vegetarian substitute for the burger. I also bought some vegetarian bacon but forgot to put it on in my hurry to take a picture and eat dinner:D It didn't affect the taste. I really enjoyed the avocado and onion (yes, Vidalia in my case also). Even my BF who hates raw onions enjoyed the Vidalia on this. The sourdough bun was especially good. We are not mayo or roasted pepper people, so that's why we left those off. If I had jalapenos I would have included them too. This may not have been the most imaginative burger recipe but the taste was just fine. Thanks for taking us away from our usual ho hum (vegetarian) burger dinner. Enjoy the tour:D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 15, 2007

Beats McDonald's anyday!!!!!.....Anyway, I used regular bacon, I have no idea what pepper bacon is, white onions, omitted the avacado, as not many over here fancy it, and also used regular burger buns...Cos I could not find sourdough buns and I was in a rush!.......I will be making this again..The patty itself is very juicy, and I crumbled the bacon and added it INTO the patty. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunasushi June 14, 2007

Made these for dinner last night for some company. We all just loved them! I had to use Vidalia onions because there were no walla walla onions to be found around here! I will definitely make these again for adults. The kids just had regular cheese burgers. (Their loss!!!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TansGram June 13, 2007

Great change of pace from your usual burger! We did use Vidalia because no Walla Walla's were available. I improvised and used a sourdough loaf because I could not find any sourdough buns. Dh cooked the burgers, roasted the peppers, and fried up the bacon all outside on the grill which really helped me out getting everything else prepped inside. Not mention I had him grill some zucchini for a side while he was already out there. Thanks LLL for making my pick for the Build A Burger challenge of ZWT 3 an enjoyable one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana June 12, 2007

Yum! Very good recipe, ladies. I made a few changes to suit my family, including making mini-burgers instead of large one, using ground buffalo (mostly because I had some in the freezer and wanted to try it) instead of beef, and skipping the jalapenos and red peppers, which my family won't eat. A tasty, munchable treat was enjoyed by all! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AB_Fan June 11, 2007
Luscious California Burger