Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Luscious California Burger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Luscious California Burger

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2007

      Very good burger. Very simple and very quick. I like the adition of the mustard, it adds a kick to it. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Good quality meat made a very good burger. I am not in the States, so had to replace the Walla Walla onions and sourdough bread with local, very good alternatives. The roasted peppers, jalapeno and avocado made a very good flavor! Thanks, Luggage Ladies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This delicious burger lived up to its name - unfortunately my avocado wasn't as good on the inside as it looked on the outside, so we had to go without, but the burger was still LUSCIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I have to admit I did buy fresh ground hamburger's already made instead or the sirloin. No-one in the supermarket or vegetable store knew what walla walla onions were so I used Vidalia like the others, and I used normal bacon...no idea on pepper bacon.... the girl at the deli looked at me silly!!!! ewwww and I left out the jalapenos (I wasnt even going there...lol). I was lucky enough to find American cheese at the local vegatable store. I dont eat much meat so I made these for the rest of the family, well I got told it beats both Macca's and Hungries (Jack that is). Rave reviews from the kids (older kids here) all round, only thing they thought was missing was the beetroot and only one said it needed egg, but thats an Aussie thing I think. They loved them, and said the tasted great !!!! Thanks Lucious Luggage Ladies, even without beetroot/egg you got a thumbs up from these Aussie teenagers!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Made for ZWT III. This was a very good burger recipe. I couldn't find sourdough hamburger buns so I used kaiser rolls. The store I went to didn't have walla walla onions, so I just used a red onion that I had on hand. I had previously made Creamy Avocado Lime Dip #167766, so I use that in place of the avocado. All the flavors melded really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      This was a very satisfying comfort food. I used a vegetarian substitute for the burger. I also bought some vegetarian bacon but forgot to put it on in my hurry to take a picture and eat dinner:D It didn't affect the taste. I really enjoyed the avocado and onion (yes, Vidalia in my case also). Even my BF who hates raw onions enjoyed the Vidalia on this. The sourdough bun was especially good. We are not mayo or roasted pepper people, so that's why we left those off. If I had jalapenos I would have included them too. This may not have been the most imaginative burger recipe but the taste was just fine. Thanks for taking us away from our usual ho hum (vegetarian) burger dinner. Enjoy the tour:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Beats McDonald's anyday!!!!!.....Anyway, I used regular bacon, I have no idea what pepper bacon is, white onions, omitted the avacado, as not many over here fancy it, and also used regular burger buns...Cos I could not find sourdough buns and I was in a rush!.......I will be making this again..The patty itself is very juicy, and I crumbled the bacon and added it INTO the patty. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Made these for dinner last night for some company. We all just loved them! I had to use Vidalia onions because there were no walla walla onions to be found around here! I will definitely make these again for adults. The kids just had regular cheese burgers. (Their loss!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Great change of pace from your usual burger! We did use Vidalia because no Walla Walla's were available. I improvised and used a sourdough loaf because I could not find any sourdough buns. Dh cooked the burgers, roasted the peppers, and fried up the bacon all outside on the grill which really helped me out getting everything else prepped inside. Not mention I had him grill some zucchini for a side while he was already out there. Thanks LLL for making my pick for the Build A Burger challenge of ZWT 3 an enjoyable one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Yum! Very good recipe, ladies. I made a few changes to suit my family, including making mini-burgers instead of large one, using ground buffalo (mostly because I had some in the freezer and wanted to try it) instead of beef, and skipping the jalapenos and red peppers, which my family won't eat. A tasty, munchable treat was enjoyed by all! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Great, classic burger! I used Vidalia onions cause I couldn't find walla walla onions here in Georgia. My co-worker had some sourdough starter she was bragging about so I convinced her to make me some little individual rounds for the buns. Luscious! Made for ZWT '07

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Those ladies can create one great burger. YUM! Didn't know what a walla walla onion was so used vidalia. Also, instead of roasted peppers and jalapenos, used roasted jalapenos. Thanks for posting. vicki

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I got one thing to say about said burger...It is just Luscious! Like the pic by Blue Rose, I too had to use sour dough bread, because I didn't find the buns. It was still great! Thanks to the Lucious Luggage Ladies for coming up with this one. Made for ZWT by a Floozie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Just like the name says Luscious. I made it with the works. Now try and get your mouth around that one. Just delicious. Made for ZWT 3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Great burger! I love the pepper bacon. The combo of condiments really complimented each other. Spicy but also "cool". Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      What a nice and different burger! I like the hotness in this where as my DH chose not to add the peppers. I can see us having this burger again. We really like what you all crated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Plain and simple that is what I love. I chose this burger for the ZWT3 because its toppings are of choice and been allergic to avocados I just left it out of my layers. But I did make a sauce of mayo, ketchup, mustard and jalapenos. Layers then consisted of charred red peppers, romaine lettuce, onion cheese bacon and then sauce. Great nice tasting burger today for our family outing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Outstanding job! I had to do this indoors on an indoor grill, and I can't wait to do it on a BBQ. I also had to use red onion as they were what I had in the refridgerator vegetable keep fresh thingy. lol Wonderful entry, and a keeper for sure. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Luscious California Burger

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 527.6
     
    Calories from Fat 384
    72%
    Total Fat 42.7 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 120.4 mg
    40%
    Sodium 644.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 31.3 g
    62%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough hamburger buns

    walla walla onions

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes