18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have a cold so I may not be able to taste right (yes I know this has dairy but I was craving yogurt for which I used Balkan which is not low fat), so for me this started out as 4 stars using crystallized ginger. I ended up using 4 times the amount. I also used about 1 tbs creamed honey, water instead of milk, fresh strawberries and the banana. It's good enough to make again for sure but I do generally avoid dairy in smoothies. Made for Veggie Swap 31 ~ February 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 21, 2011

Yummo! I wanted a quick sweet treat tonight and had this saved in my cookbook. I used 1/2 banana, skim milk, and substituted frozen mixed berries for the strawberries and this was amazing! This is so easy to throw together, and would be perfect for breakfast on the go. What's really convenient is just plopping one of those vanilla yogurt cups into the blender and whipping everything together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny January 12, 2010

Yummy fruity smoothie!! I made this using fresh strawberries, frozen banana and low-fat strawberry banana yogurt. I just sprinkled in some ginger but probably not a whole teaspoon, which was perfect and not overpowering, and didn't use the optional honey. Thanks Sharon for another winner!! Made for Holiday Tag!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 13, 2009

My four year old really enjoyed making this all by himself. And I must say, this is a great smoothie!! I don't care for ginger so it was not used, otherwise, it was perfect for us - flavour & texture. Thanks for a delicious, quick, easy-peasy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joynewman007 August 15, 2008

I gave this recipe 2 stars. I made this for Cameraless Chef 2008. First of all I hate to do this to any recipe and I want to say I'm not a big ginger fan so this is me not the recipe. It was way to much ginger for me. I really like the thickness it was not to thick. I will make this again but leave out the ginger. Thanks so much christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut June 12, 2008

Delicious variation on a classic banana strawberry smoothie. I made my batch using a frozen banana and berries so there was no need for ice which sometimes dilutes the wonderful fruity flavor. The tangy notes from the yogurt and slight peppery bite from the ginger really made this recipe zing. Thanks Sharon! Made for *ZaarStars* game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 19, 2008

GREAT SMOOTHIE! I made this with frozen bananas, frozen mixed berries, raspberry Activia, 1% milk, powdered ginger and Splenda. I added some vanilla. It turned out creamy and fruity with an undertone of ginger and vanilla. VERY NICE! Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed February 09, 2008

I used frozen mixed berries along with the rest of the ingredients. I was a little worried about using 1 teaspoon of ginger, but it turned out super delicious! The only change I made was to add about 4 ice cubes to the mix and blended with my Magic Bullet. This smoothie was thick and oh so satisfying on a HOT August day in Texas. Thanks, Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juenessa August 15, 2007

This is very good. The ginger really added some nice zing to this. I froze the berries and banana first, so this made the smoothie thicker, more like a shake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey July 24, 2007

Wow this was great Sharon123, I really enjoyed this for breakfast. I used 1 large frozen banana and frozen blueberries, raspberries & blackberries, frozen vanilla yogurt, clover honey and fresh minced ginger. This was wonderful, I like the added zing that the fresh ginger gave to the drink. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 28, 2007
Luscious Banana Berry Smoothie