14 Reviews

Grew up in Endicott and Lupo's was where to get spiedies. I've bought the marinade bottled before, but the fresh version using this recipe totally trumps that! None of those added preservatives to muck it up. The smell alone brought me back to Main Street pulling into that sweet little drive-in spot and the best part is I made mine with lamb which is rarely available anymore. Long live Lupo's and Roma's bakery that makes THE most perfect bread to put these delectable pieces of meat on!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ktalawah November 05, 2010

Excellent recipe--just like the real thing (I lived in Binghamton for 9 years)! Be sure to use the vegetable oil and apple cider vinegar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VoiceTeach December 12, 2009

This isn't actually a review, but more of a comment. I notice that there is no mint in this recipe-the other recipe I have has some mint. Could that be what MTDavids feels is missing?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fowlerjenn July 29, 2009

My wife and I were born and raised in the Binghamton area and grew up eating spiedies. I've dabbled with trying to replicate the recipe for years. Your effort is close enough to to warrent a 5 rating, but is still missing a little something. Wish I knew what it was. Thanks for the keeper. Will use this recipe many times in the future and try to tweek to fill in that missing piece. (Used apple cider vinegar on our second effort and it seemed to get us a little closer). Will let you know if we find it. Thanks for reigniting this quest.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids November 30, 2008

Excellent recipe!!! Changed it a little. Used canola oil in place of olive oil. I doubled the recipe so i used 3 large lemons and one lime. I used 2 tablespoons on the heaping side of Italian seasoning. I used the same amount of salt ( kosher ). I used a tsp.of black pepper. Instead of a half cup of white vinegar I used 3/4 of a cup and I marinated for two days then grilled. Unbelievably tender and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed C. December 27, 2015

ymmmmm...yes, yes! OH. Through the corner of your eye did you see me chasing 'chicken spiedie' happiness?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 31, 2015

I love chicken spedies but for an alternative of cooking on the grill my family and I when camping crock pot it for 4-7 hours on low and it still is very delicious. Maybe you'd like to try it sometime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca S. February 22, 2014

Hi guys,<br/>Great!<br/>The missing component is ** Grape Leaves

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smonaco123 August 02, 2013

My parents are both from Upstate NY. Elmira, and Johnson City. My mother's parents lived in JC until they passed. Needless to say, we love spiedies! My sister and I love them. But we live down south now. No spiedies here. My dad can tell you, there is no spiedie like Lupos. And yes, Roma's will always be the best bread to put it on. I will be trying this recipe very soon. I also emailed it to my dad as soon as I stumbled upon it. Lupos is the only real deal for him, and I know he's happy you posted this! I can't wait to try it! I'll be marinating the chicken tonight! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizeells81 January 11, 2012

GREAT RECEIPE!!! As close as you can get. Growing up in Binghamton, moving west and missing the flovors. I add a little ketchup, about a tablespoon, friend is a butcher who said this adds to the flavor, he is so right. Apple cider vinegar and corn oil I use also. Miss the bread, something about Roma's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dapulz@stny.rr.com April 10, 2011
" Lupo's " Chicken Spiedies