12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe on 1/11/10, for the " Winter Comfort Cafe 2010 ". I followed the recipe exactly as written. But I had a few problems with this recipe. I even let the brownies cool at room temp. for over 2 hour. First as I was lifting them out of the pan they started to crumble. Second when I went to taste one, it had a very dry cake -like texture. I really don't think that these are going to be made again. But thanks for taking the time to post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � January 11, 2010

These brownies are so beautiful - you want to just gobble them up quickly! I will make them again, but with two adjustments: 1) my biggest complain is that they are really not sweet enough so I would increase sugar to 1 1/4 cups, and 2) I might reduce baking powder to 1/4 t. for an even fudgier texture. I noticed there is NO baking powder in the original recipe that appears on the box of Bakers Unsweetened Chocolate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva August 14, 2009

Though we only baked this recipe the minimum, this tasted way too cakey for my tastes, and it isn't so much a peanut butter brownie as the peanut butter flavor was barely discernable to both my husband and me. It was simple and we had all the ingredients, so it seemed like a good recipe for that reason, but we will not make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bette January 15, 2009

Yummy recipe! I love how the flavors taste together... yummm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever February 24, 2010

We found these a little dry but it could be from the peanut butter I used ( unsweetened). Do like the addition of PB add a nice touch. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 April 19, 2009

Very good brownie. I made as directed and mine cooked in 26 minutes. We like ours a bit more fudgey. I liked the fact that they were made in a small pan since there is the two of us. Thanks AP for a nice treat. Made for AP's win in The Best of 2008 Cookbook Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana April 04, 2009

Really nice brownie - the peanut butter is a pretty addition to these, and tasty too! I reduced the sugar by 1/4c as another reviewer noted that they were too sweet, but I wish I had not, cuz I thought they could be a little sweeter. I used a 9x9 inch pan and baked them for 19 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 05, 2009

These are perfect brownies for my family -- Moist & Flavorful! My DH loved the smell coming from the oven and could hardly wait for them to cool so he could try them. I'll have to double the recipe next time as they are a huge hit with everyone! Perfect balance of chocolate and peanut butter flavors. :) I'm so glad I tagged you in 123 Hit Wonders!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 28, 2009

These brownies are so moist. I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of Splenda. But I found it a little bit too sweet. I should have reduced the sugar a little bit. But they're still great. I cooked them the whole 27 minutes. Thanks Appleydapply. Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 24, 2009

These were so moist, even after baking them for 27 minutes. There is just the right amount of peanut butter, which really goes great with the chocolate. I will definitely be making these again. Made for Potluck Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 20, 2009
Lunchbox Peanut Butter Brownies