Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lunch Box Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lunch Box Muffins

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      Very good! I used about 1 1/2 cups of zucchini, and 2 bananas. I also cut the butter down to 1/4 cup. Very moist and just the right amount of sweetness. I just used Pam in the muffin tray, and they released pretty well.
      Next time I think I'll try replacing the banana with pumpkin!
      Oh, I also got a yield of 12 large muffins out of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      The main flavor was the baking soda. It masked everything else. I think they could be fine by cutting back on the baking soda, but probably pretty bland. Overall, they weren't bad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      Lots of stars as tried back in Sept/02 the beginning of my Zaar Addiction!!! The zuke seeds go into the garden this weekend and this definitely gets another try at harvest.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      These are great muffins for breakfast or for lunch. The only thing I added was 2 tbsp of ground flax seed and my kids gobbled them up. Love the heartiness of them and that they are packed with fiber. Next time I might try to substitute applesauce for half of the butter just to make a little healthier. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      Made these with some substitutions ... Swerve in place of brown sugar, almond flour in place of all purpose flour, yes some cinnamon, raisins, and for sure chia seeds and/or flaxseed ... awwww now, much healthier. Yummmmmy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Made for 18 month old who loves muffins, but not always veggies. Thanks for another option for "sneaking" some in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      The kids made a bunch of these to go in their lunchboxes. We stuck them in the freezer then they pull them out as needed. They are really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      These are great. Made as directed w/o the salt and the kids devoured them. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      I made these as mini muffins and they came out great! I substituted applesauce for the oil and threw in chocolate chips. I made half with muffin papers, but came out better without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      These were really great! I used whole wheat pastry flour and coconut oil instead of butter. They were perfect and I felt satisfied that my kids had a healthy breakfast treat. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Love these muffins! I use white sugar and a tsp of molasses. Based on other reviewers comments, I add a bit more spice to the muffins... about 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp all spice, 1 tsp cinnamon. I also subsituted 1/3c oil for the butter. I love the oats in the muffins, makes for a very hearty muffin. Very satisfying, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Very good muffins! I didn't have any zuch so I used carrot, 1c of whole wheat flour+1/2c bread flour, homemade applesauce+some olive oil for the butter and some ground flax seed and a couple sprinkles of ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom. They cooked up perfectly and will be wonderful grab and go snacks for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I saw the recipe that was a version of this one, called zucchini banana muffins. Went with this one because I felt like the instructions were a little clearer about matching the quantities of banana and zucchini. I had only two bananas for 1 cup of banana and the zucchini I had came to 1 1/2 cup shredded so that is what I used. i then used 2 T. canola oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of butter. And I added 1 t cinnamon and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips because my son adores banana chocolate chip muffins. I left mine a little larger and got a dozen muffins and they are all gone, save one, a scant 5 hours later. So that is an excellent review. Nice moist texture. Excellent taste and I like oatmeal in baked goods. Used old-fashioned oatmeal and worked fine. I believe I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Made these tonight with leftover bananas and yellow squash that is exploding in the garden. We all LOVED them, and they will be a great lunch box snack w/out much sugar. Used whole wheat pastry flour, and it worked great. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      These are very moist but I found them to be a little bland. I think I will try adding some nuts and maybe some spices next time. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Great muffins! I made a few substitutions which created an healthier muffin, with excellent taste. I replaced the sugar with 1/2 c. raw sugar and 2T brown rice syrup. Because of the extra ingredient, you need to reduce liquid (butter) by half to 1/4c. In place of the butter, I used ground flax seed at a 3 to 1 ratio. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      These smelled wonderful cooking, but I was a little disappointed with the taste. It was not sweet enough for our tastes. I think I will try again and make with 3/4 to 1 cup of the brown sugar. I think it will be much better. They are definitely healthy, so that is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      The only thing I did differently was I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and it was outstanding. My three kids love them even my two year old who is a very picky eater. I made a lot, kept some out and froze the rest so if I want some in the morning I can just heat them up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      These muffins are fabulous! So moist! BF hates zucchini but thought these were great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Perfect!! These were so good, my husband and I ate several ourselves, my toddler liked them too! I froze them for later as-needed use, works great! Perfect breakfast, low in calories and so good! I made some muffin sized and some mini muffin sizes for snacks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lunch Box Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1038 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.2
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    36%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 187.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites