33 Reviews

Very good! I used about 1 1/2 cups of zucchini, and 2 bananas. I also cut the butter down to 1/4 cup. Very moist and just the right amount of sweetness. I just used Pam in the muffin tray, and they released pretty well.
Next time I think I'll try replacing the banana with pumpkin!
Oh, I also got a yield of 12 large muffins out of this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassiaDawn August 27, 2010

These were really great! I used whole wheat pastry flour and coconut oil instead of butter. They were perfect and I felt satisfied that my kids had a healthy breakfast treat. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Howtex July 27, 2010

I saw the recipe that was a version of this one, called zucchini banana muffins. Went with this one because I felt like the instructions were a little clearer about matching the quantities of banana and zucchini. I had only two bananas for 1 cup of banana and the zucchini I had came to 1 1/2 cup shredded so that is what I used. i then used 2 T. canola oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of butter. And I added 1 t cinnamon and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips because my son adores banana chocolate chip muffins. I left mine a little larger and got a dozen muffins and they are all gone, save one, a scant 5 hours later. So that is an excellent review. Nice moist texture. Excellent taste and I like oatmeal in baked goods. Used old-fashioned oatmeal and worked fine. I believe I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ September 07, 2009

The main flavor was the baking soda. It masked everything else. I think they could be fine by cutting back on the baking soda, but probably pretty bland. Overall, they weren't bad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodiemama April 30, 2007

Lots of stars as tried back in Sept/02 the beginning of my Zaar Addiction!!! The zuke seeds go into the garden this weekend and this definitely gets another try at harvest.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay May 29, 2003

We really like these muffins, they are great from the freezer too. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore August 30, 2015

These are great muffins for breakfast or for lunch. The only thing I added was 2 tbsp of ground flax seed and my kids gobbled them up. Love the heartiness of them and that they are packed with fiber. Next time I might try to substitute applesauce for half of the butter just to make a little healthier. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerrytate August 21, 2014

Made these with some substitutions ... Swerve in place of brown sugar, almond flour in place of all purpose flour, yes some cinnamon, raisins, and for sure chia seeds and/or flaxseed ... awwww now, much healthier. Yummmmmy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltpixie September 03, 2013

Made for 18 month old who loves muffins, but not always veggies. Thanks for another option for "sneaking" some in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 August 26, 2013

The kids made a bunch of these to go in their lunchboxes. We stuck them in the freezer then they pull them out as needed. They are really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping September 14, 2011
Lunch Box Muffins