Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lumberjack Hash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lumberjack Hash

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2010

      i have been making this dish for almost 20 years.my dad and his brothers are loggers, and they prepare this often because it's so easy to cook over an open flame and it's an entire meal in one skillet.I don't add much salt,but I do prefer more cheese. Not exactly low fat,but definatly yummy comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Made a good Sunday breakfast when I realized I forgot to buy eggs. I too didn't have ham on hand but I threw some bacon in the oven and chopped that up to mix in and it was tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I gave this 4 stars. I made this for my families Sunday big breakfast. I wasn't worried about cooking light but using what I had on hand. I follwed the directions almost to a T except I made a few changes I didn't have ham on hand but I had pork sausage so I didn't use salt or pepper. I cooked my peppers first till soft then I added my onions and cooked them till soft. Then added the remaining ingredients. This turned out so good. Thanks for posting a really good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I made this with reduced-fat chedder, which is what the recipe in the magazine called for. My whole family loved it. The nutritional info in the magazine gives the calorie count as 276 per serving, so I'm not sure why 'Zaar's count is 568!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I needed something quick and different to do with leftover ham and this was a real hit! Halving the recipe for the 2 of us, I used diced poblano instead of bell pepper to give it a more southwestern twist. After cooking the onion and pepper, all the oil/butter was gone so I drizzled in some more before adding the potatoes and ham. Hmm ... I see now that I forgot the cheese. Oh well, it was perfect just as it was. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      DBF once worked for a logging company (planting trees, not cutting them down) so every now and then, I tease him about being a lumberjack, complete with song. When I saw this, I knew I had to make it for him. We were not disappointed, although he claims that real lumberjacks would not eat this for breakfast. I halved the recipe and scrambled in 2 eggbeaters when the potatoes were finished. A very pleasing and quick breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      We've made this a couple of times now and it's becoming part of our regular meal plan. I've started to cheat with the Potatoes O'Brien in the freezer section though...makes life easier with little ones running around. *wink*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      My daughter made this for dinner last night. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lumberjack Hash

    Serving Size: 1 (554 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 535.3
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    26%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 42.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 960.6 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites