Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Luleh Kebabs- Persian Ground Lamb Kebabs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Luleh Kebabs- Persian Ground Lamb Kebabs

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2002

      Excellent recipe Sue! I followed it to a T, and it tasted just like the Kebabs at Tehran-a favorite restaurant of ours in Las Palmas. The Sumac you sent was the perfect compliment! I served the Kebabs with Miller's Iranian Kebabs, and basmati rice (even did the bit of saffron flavored rice on top), a roasted tomato and an egg yolk. This was one of the most delicious meals ever! I can't wait to make it again! Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      My family is Armenian, so we eat ALOT of Luleh kebabs. We don't add egg, however, nor cinnamon, but do add lots of cumin and parsley, along with the onion, salt and pepper. We only mix beef and lamb when we don't have enough ground lamb for the number of people. We grill without the skewers, or broil in the oven or even pan fry if only making a few. We love it on pita bread with lettuce and tomato, and a little tzatziki sauce. Stringbean salad on the side with a little feta cheese...yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Good flavor and a good dish. I added pine nuts to the meat for a good texture and taste. I made the recipe as written (but added pine nuts), and it was way too wet. By taking the grated onion,putting it in a tea towel and squeezing out the moisture/liquid, the texture/moisture problem of the recipe would be solved. Nice recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      I formed these into patties and served in pita bread with tzatziki, tomato, red onion, cucumber and feta cheese. I didn't need the egg in the end, they bound together just fine. I bet these would be much better if I had a food processor and could mince the onion. Grating an onion is horrible work and I always end up just chopping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      The mixture was too wet and the family was only moderately pleased with the flavor. I agree it is an issue with the grated onion, and will try the other reviewers suggestions if I make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Tried this recipe tonight...it was good, but I did add a slice of fresh bread, processed in the food processor. I also added quite a lot of garlic. It was nice. I think that I may have put a little too much cinnamon. Served this on grilled naan bread with tomato, onion and tzaziki sauce. Will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Loved this, but like others, there was no way the mixture could be formed around skewers. It was just too wet. I simply formed elongated patties and grilled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      This was my first time cooking ground lamb. I used half an onion and pan-fried the shaped patties. Delicious - great flavor and consistency. Served with brown rice to which I had added raisins and cumin, and a quick yogurt-garlic-dill sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious! I threw in a little curry powder and some cumin to flavor it up a bit. Loved the cinnamon, I've never tried that in meat before but I certainly will in the future. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I've made this recipie a few times and I can't believe I haven't rated it yet. Very good. I only use 1/4 of an onion. I 've made it with a whole onion and I just don't like the texture as much. I also use turkey and not lamb. Great little recipie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Excellent as patties. I omitted the egg and used half a grated onion. Used an excellent, fresh, ground cinnamon of high quality. The texture was just right, as was careful to not compress the meat too much. Went great with basmati with pine nuts and raisins with a little cinnamon and steamed peas. Was easy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This was good but not quite the same as my grandma made, it's also way to soggy, maybe another egg or some breadcrumbs would help because they did not stay on the skewers, broiling them on a cookie sheet also produced a lot of fat. The flavor was good though and it was an easy weeknight meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This was so amazing!!! This is my favorite dish in Persian restaurants and I can't tell you how thrilled I am that I can make it at home. I followed the directions to the letter and cooked in the broiler for about 11 minutes on each side. I consider it my greatest cooking triumph and something that I can't wait to share with all my friends and family. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I just bought some Sumak online to make it even better next time. ($2 and free shipping at Spiceituponline.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I did add a little dried mint, bread crumbs to thicken, and a pinch of fresh parsley. Turned out amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Delicious! I chopped the onion fine instead of grating and added some parsley. Served this with tsatziki sauce (#91463) Fatoosh (#61245) rounded out the meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      I always made these with ground beef. They are really good served with small whole tomatoes that have been washed and placed on the grill, cooked just until the skins turn soft or even black in spots and warm all through. The sumak really makes this dish. Was a very common, easy meal my kids grew up with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      I made this with turkey, as i had an abundance of it. I also added a clove of garlic finely minced. The meat mixture was too wet to stay on the kebob, so I formed kebob shapes on an oiled cookie sheet, then skewered them while on the sheet. Then I put the entire pan on the grill. Once one side was cooked I used a large spatula to transfer them directly on the grill. After all was said and done they turned out perfectly. This dish is a crowd pleaser. But be prepared for a little extra work when using ground turkey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      Loved these. The cinnamon is a great touch. I had to use green onion since hubby used all the white but I liked it this way. I also use ground turkey because this just happend to be the first week since the store was opend that they didn't have ground lamb (my luck) but it was still very good (don't overcook, turkey isn't as fatty so it dries out easier.) Served this with a Persian style cucumber salad (yogurt, raisins, nuts ect) and basmati rice. A most enjoyable meal. Thank you. I will be making these again, next time with the lamb.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      This came out really tasty and my 2 and 5 year olds liked it. It was very easy. I added minced garlic to the mix as well and served it wrapped in pita with a greek-style salad and rice pilaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2004

      I have a really similar recipe to this. It's the Georgian version, and you just substitute 3 tbsp crumbled dry mint for the cinnamon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Luleh Kebabs- Persian Ground Lamb Kebabs

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 467.1
     
    Calories from Fat 333
    71%
    Total Fat 37.1 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 172.5 mg
    57%
    Sodium 889.7 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites