31 Reviews

Excellent recipe Sue! I followed it to a T, and it tasted just like the Kebabs at Tehran-a favorite restaurant of ours in Las Palmas. The Sumac you sent was the perfect compliment! I served the Kebabs with Miller's Iranian Kebabs, and basmati rice (even did the bit of saffron flavored rice on top), a roasted tomato and an egg yolk. This was one of the most delicious meals ever! I can't wait to make it again! Thanks Sue!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl October 15, 2002

My family is Armenian, so we eat ALOT of Luleh kebabs. We don't add egg, however, nor cinnamon, but do add lots of cumin and parsley, along with the onion, salt and pepper. We only mix beef and lamb when we don't have enough ground lamb for the number of people. We grill without the skewers, or broil in the oven or even pan fry if only making a few. We love it on pita bread with lettuce and tomato, and a little tzatziki sauce. Stringbean salad on the side with a little feta cheese...yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manushag December 09, 2010

Good flavor and a good dish. I added pine nuts to the meat for a good texture and taste. I made the recipe as written (but added pine nuts), and it was way too wet. By taking the grated onion,putting it in a tea towel and squeezing out the moisture/liquid, the texture/moisture problem of the recipe would be solved. Nice recipe, thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk April 12, 2009

I formed these into patties and served in pita bread with tzatziki, tomato, red onion, cucumber and feta cheese. I didn't need the egg in the end, they bound together just fine. I bet these would be much better if I had a food processor and could mince the onion. Grating an onion is horrible work and I always end up just chopping.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr Nick May 04, 2007

The mixture was too wet and the family was only moderately pleased with the flavor. I agree it is an issue with the grated onion, and will try the other reviewers suggestions if I make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl February 05, 2012

Tried this recipe tonight...it was good, but I did add a slice of fresh bread, processed in the food processor. I also added quite a lot of garlic. It was nice. I think that I may have put a little too much cinnamon. Served this on grilled naan bread with tomato, onion and tzaziki sauce. Will make this again for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theskates May 18, 2009

Loved this, but like others, there was no way the mixture could be formed around skewers. It was just too wet. I simply formed elongated patties and grilled.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ April 05, 2008

This was my first time cooking ground lamb. I used half an onion and pan-fried the shaped patties. Delicious - great flavor and consistency. Served with brown rice to which I had added raisins and cumin, and a quick yogurt-garlic-dill sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDB December 20, 2010

This was absolutely delicious! I threw in a little curry powder and some cumin to flavor it up a bit. Loved the cinnamon, I've never tried that in meat before but I certainly will in the future. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pygmy Chef April 27, 2009

I've made this recipie a few times and I can't believe I haven't rated it yet. Very good. I only use 1/4 of an onion. I 've made it with a whole onion and I just don't like the texture as much. I also use turkey and not lamb. Great little recipie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandidt November 13, 2008
Luleh Kebabs- Persian Ground Lamb Kebabs