Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lucky Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lucky Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2003

      Wow! I am no longer purchasing prepared sweet & sour sauce now that I have found this recipe. The taste is exactly like what I am buying in a jar and it is less expensive! I used it over stir fried veggies & rice and it was terrific. Also, I used the pineapple juice option.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      Lorac I hope you don't mind but I took 2 liberties with this recipe. Firstly I used Canned Plum Juice (Italian Prune) and I added 4 drops of hot sauce. On the recipe you gave the option of using Pineaple juice or water but I had the plum juice - really wonderful. The consistency is perfect. Your instructions clear & straightforward. Just the right tang for the sweet & Sour flavor. I had left over cooked chicken, made this sauce and heated the chicken in it. served with Chinese fried rice Thanks Lorac for aquick easy recipe that I shall use again (next time I will try pineapple juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      I was making egg rolls and discovered I was out of sweet and sour sauce. Glad I found this recipe - my husband absolutely loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      the last time i made this i used lemon juice instead of pineapple juice then added brown sugar to taste... not a taste for everyone.. but perhaps the sweetest and sourest sauce i ever had.. the basic recipe is the ultimate in quick, easy, and tasty. a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      This was very good. I added some red food coloring to give it that chinese restraunt look. I used the pineapple juice instead of water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Thanks for the wonderful recipe Lorac.I added some fresh pineapple chunks, small squares of green pepper, and simmered the sauce gently for a few minutes. Will definitely make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Yum! I used green pepper / capsicum along with some pineapple chunks and stirred through some velvetted chicken in a wok after cooking which made a great & quick sweet and sour chicken dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      Super easy and tastes great! It thickened up nicely in very little time. I also tried it with a couple of dashes of tobassco sauce to give it some heat. I will not purchase bottle sauce any longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      Delicious, cheap and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      I totally changed it up but the basic recipe is great. I used cider vinegar instead of white vinegar, used half lilikoi juice and half pineapple juice. Chopped up half of a Maui onion and a yellow pepper into medium chunks and added it to the sauce while heating it. Served it with Mango and jalapeno chicken meatballs and I have to say this was the best sweet and sour sauce I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Easy and good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      Really good! Only complaint was it tasted a little too vinegar-like. I added a little cinnamon just for fun. The texture of this is just right. Not too thin, not too thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Pretty good! may puree some pineapple up and add it to sauce next time. just for a little more of a sweet taste. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      I've used this recipe several times and love it. It's a little more tart than alot of recipes, which I prefer. The only change I've made is to omit the soy sauce sometimes, as it's not a flavor I like. I also will use a can of pineapple chunks instead of just the juice. I like the addition of the fruit to the dish when cooked with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      It's my first time to make this one. It's perfect and delicious recipe. I saute onions and tomato first and add all the ingredients here but I use Splenda instead of sugar and red wine vinegar. It was so great over my fried tilapya. PERFECT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      Delicious! I made a stir-fry with chicken breast, carrots, bell peppers, broccoli and onions. After everything was cooked I added the sweet & sour sauce. I must say, it tasted better than Chinese take-out. Thanks a lot for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      I'm not going to rate this yet because I used orange juice instead of pineapple juice. Made that way, I'd probably give it 4 stars. It was definitely good and I bet it would be a 5-star from me if pineapple juice is used. I'l try it again and give a rating.
      1-2012 Used pineapple juice and everyone enjoyed it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Just made this instead of making a trip to the store. Will never buy again. Love it. So easy to make. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

    • on August 17, 2011

      Thanks for the wonderful, easy, and low-fat recipe! I really loved it :) I'm living in Europe and the vinegar there is much more acidic than in the US, so I reduce the amount by just a touch and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lucky Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.9
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    17%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1120.2 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 55.0 g
    220%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites