11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best. I do most of the cooking every Sunday for football season. These peas alway disappear and are the most requested dish I make. Served with cornbread that has a can of creamed corn and a can of regular.mmmm Anyway 1 week till superbowl and this is what the gang is requesting for about the 10th time in two years. Give it a try. No need to change anything.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random guy January 31, 2011

Delicious! Only change I made is used a ham steak (had it in freezer) in stead of ham hocks and cooked on low for 5 hrs total, and that made it thicker. Had it for New Year's Day and it was gone in first setting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica120597 January 03, 2010

Excellent! I cut the recipe in half and added some celery. I cut back on the cayenne and tabasco and it was still plenty spicy. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianne in the Village January 01, 2010

I am not really fond of black-eyed peas, but my husband loves them, therefore I make them on occasion. I must admit, however, that I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. Since there was only a few of us eating, I halved the recipe. I did saute some chopped jalapeno pepper along with the onion, and reduced both the cayenne & Tabasco amounts. Also, I used ham shanks (they're meatier than hocks), which I precooked for about an hour before adding to the black-eyed peas. I served this over rice with cornbread. My husband claims that these were the best black-eyed peas he has ever had, and everyone who ate them agreed. This will be the only way that I make them from now on. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill July 30, 2009

i made these they were great.i didnt add the cayenne or parsley.i searved them with some rice.i will make again.very good.5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtcwifey1031 March 05, 2008

This is SO good. Don't wait for January 1 to enjoy this. I used leftover Christmas ham and I can't think of a better way to enjoy it. The spices were perfect as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 09, 2008

This is a terrific recipe; I'm glad I chose it for New Year's Day and for luck throughout the year! Thanks, Lorraine, for posting! Wish the photos had turned out. :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks January 02, 2008

Tried this for New Years Day; don't believe in superstitions, but Hey! Why take a chance and who couldn't use some prosperity!! It was so easy and great, I added some rotele tomatoes as we like them but changed nothing else, the spices where perfect as directed. Served it over rice with cornbread sticks and a good red table wine, what a wonderful winter meal anytime, not just New Years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 02, 2007

I make Black-eyed Peas but this has a few twists I'd like to try...looks great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal March 26, 2006

I've been eating Hoppin' John all my life, and this is with out a doubt, the best I've ever had

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Obamaisanitwit January 01, 2006
Lucky Black-Eyed Peas