12 Reviews

i hate to give this recipe such poor reviews when everyone else is giving it 5 stars. the filling was way too rubbery and the chocolate was too mild and didnt taste like authentic chocolate. one of my family members described the chocolate as the last bit of nesquick in your glass when you take your last drink of it. i was really disapointed in this recipe, i had high hopes. im sorry but i definately wont make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere September 01, 2014

I've made this pie for years. It was my daughter's favorite item from Luby's when we lived in Texas. After moving she longed for her Luby's chocolate pie. Thank goodness I found the recipe. It has been a family favorite for at least a dozen years every Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas. I've shared this recipe over & over. Note to one of the reviewers, you don't use the marshmallows as a topping, they are mixed into the warm custard. That's what gives it the unique Luby's taste unlike any other chocolate pie. I always use graham cracker crust. Also, I temper the egg mixture with a little warm chocolate mixture before adding it to the hot chocolate mixture. Another tip is to place Sarah wrap on top of the pie to cool. This will prevent a skin from forming. Cool whip topping will last for days... that is IF the pie lasts that long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prissydeer December 09, 2012

This pie is excellent... Much better than plain chocolate pudding pies! Thanks for a keeper :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy F. November 29, 2009

I am giving the pie a 4 because of like the previous reviewer mentioned it could have been more chocolatey.... The quantity is right on as it makes a very full pie and cuts beautifully. Don't get me wrong this is a great pie, I am just used to pie's made with semi-sweet morsels rather than cocoa. This pie actually worked fine for my dinner as I was feeding 150 and cost was an issue and this pie fit the bill. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Wahoo April 11, 2007

A very good pie, but could have been more chocolatey. I used sweetened whipped cream on top instead of the marshmallows because of family preferences. Will probably make again, but not my favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen C. April 10, 2007

This is soooo good! Just the right amount of chocolate flavor and so much better than a cream pie made with pudding mix. I can't believe how easy this was to put together and how quickly it disappeared. The only change I made was to use a graham cracker crust and it was fantastic. Thanks, this is a recipe I know my family will be enjoying on special occasions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk December 26, 2006

SO GOOD! So easy, and so popular with my family on Thanksgiving this year! I used Basic Pie Crust I which in my opinion made it even better than the pie at Luby's. We'll definitely make this again and again. Thanks, Kim, for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 25, 2006

Pie doesn't get any better than this. A very easy yet impressive recipe that I have been making for years for company. Wish I could make it just for the family - but the whipped cream doesn't really hold up on leftovers; so I only make when there are 8 of us to finish it off in one sitting! But I still wouldn't recommend Cool Whip - stick with real whipped cream, made with 1 c. whipping cream, 1/2 t. vanilla and 1/4 c. sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply September 17, 2006

Wow Wow Wow! Not only did it taste wonderful, but it was simple to make! Thank you for the recipe and the tip on avoiding "the skin"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V.A. January 30, 2006

This pie is sooooo good.Very creamy and chocolately, and best of all,very easy to make.Make sure to serve with lots of freshly whipped cream.Thanks for the recipe Kim!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessMommy July 16, 2005
Luby's Cafeteria's Chocolate Icebox Pie