Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Luby's Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Luby's Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2003

      WOW!!! This is a great Mac and Cheese recipe. I have never eaten at a Luby's so I can't compare but we really liked this dish. I hope to try your Dessert Cheese Ball next (it looks sinful). Yep, the Top 100 better look out because here comes TwinkDawg!!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      This is perfect Luby's macaroni and cheese! My kids and whole family gobbled it up. All I need now is some fried okra and I'd be in Luby's heaven. Thank you so much, Miss Annie, for posting, I have a feeling this one will be requested often! By the way, the best Luby's in the world is located at 288/MacGregor in Houston. The women there are some fine Southern cooks and put all other Luby's to shame!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      Total comfort food on a cold snowy night. Thanks Paula, this is great stuff. Made as written, except I chopped up my cheese rather than shredded it (it was thick sliced deli cheese). I will make this again without changing a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      My whole family enjoyed this version of macaroni and cheese. We loved the smoothness of the sauce with the american cheese. I loved the unique idea of using the dried milk, which gave it a glossy texture. Thank you for posting this great recipe. Roxygirl in Colorado

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      I had been looking for my favorite macaroni and cheese from school and this has hit closest to the mark. Yummy! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

    • on June 25, 2003

      it was great, very delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      This was so creamy and rich, just like Luby's. I made it exactly according to the recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I switched out the American Cheese for Sharp Cheddar and Swiss Cheese (about 4 oz of swiss in the single recipe) for more flavor and doubled the recipe. There is no way the original recipe would have fed 8 people...even doubling it would not do that. Also, instead of holding back cheese to sprinkle on top, I browned some plain bread crumbs in butter and sprinkled it over the top. I only covered it with foil for the first 15 minutes and then uncovered it for the remainder of the time. Since I doubled it, I did have to cook the recipe for about 10 minutes longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      great mac and cheese and you would have thought it came for lubys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      I use this recipe all the time and it taste great! Everyone loves it! The recipe requires "kosher salt" and that's what I use. I just add a llittle extra to kick the taste up!

      Angela in Houston, Texas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      It tastes just right! I argue the portion size, though. It only serves 8 if you don't like to eat very much.
      I used american slices and rough chopped them and whole wheat rotini pasta - yum! Everyone was very happy, but wanted more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Excellent! I only gave it 4 stars because I made changes, and while the changes I made make it a 5 star meal, I think without the changes it would not be near as good. 1st-since our local grocery store did not have blocks of American cheese I substituted with Sharp Cheddar which was WONDERFUL. I also added Lawry's seasoned salt (about 2 tsps) and sprinkled liberally with pepper. I served it one night when we had company and EVERYONE raved about it. One thing, double the recipe because people will be wanting 2nds and thirds!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This is my favorite mac and cheese recipe. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect! This reminds me of my grade school cafeteria mac and cheese... the ONLY days I would eat "hot lunch" at school were the days when that mac and cheese was served. Good childhood comfort food memory! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      I thought this was awesome, thank you. Although I did have to add more cheese to it, on top of the American Cheese I added Velveeta, I think it probably couldv'e used some more milk as well. But, all in all, my husband loved it, he loves Luby's Mac & cheese thats why I was very happy when I found this recipe, he got two large servings. Again, thank you for the post!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      While the recipe calls for 3 cups of cheese, the directions are a bit sketchy. It first says to use 1 1/4 cheese, fine. Then it says to add 1 more cup cheese, fine. The last part says to use the remaining 1/2 cup cheese. Well that only adds up to 2 3/4 cup cheese...what happened to the other 1/4 cup?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      Great recipe! So easy and yummy. I loved the creamy texture and cheesy flavor. The technique of making the white sauce in a bowl (rather than constantly stirring over the hot stove) is a keeper. Next time I'm going to do half American, half extra sharp cheddar to make it more pungent. I left off the foil and baked it at 375 for about 20 minutes. I'm going to do it longer next time and up the heat to 400 for the last part so that the top and edges get crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      This dish tasted just like Stouffer's frozen mac & cheese and also the boxed kind. It did not have that full rich flavor you get from cream and full-fat milk. None of my family liked it. I wouldn't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      I made this for dinner last night. My kids were all cranky and "soooo hungry". This yummy meal quited them up right away! I only had shell pasta, so I used that and it turned out fine! Cheesy and so yummy! This was a creamy dish that will be made again at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Now this is my kind of mac & cheese...didnt change a thing...creamy and tasty..just like mom use to make...ty !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Luby's Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.7
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    13%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 98.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites