Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Luby's Cafeteria Cheese Enchiladas With Chili Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Luby's Cafeteria Cheese Enchiladas With Chili Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2013

      When I was looking for an enchilada recipe I originally skipped over this one because I'm not a fan of cafeterias and the Luby's part was a turn off. But, when I couldn't find anything that looked better I decided to try it and I'm so glad I did! I live in Tex-Mex heaven and expect a lot from my Mexican food. This recipe did not disappoint. The only change I made is I browned an extra half pound of hamburger meat and made one pan filled with beef and one with cheese. Oh, and I also used half cheddar cheese and half shredded American because I love the creaminess of the American. My whole family enjoyed them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      This is the BEST!!!! Followed some ideas of using 5 dried pasilla chilies for 1 Tbs of the powder. Pasilla chilies are very mild. Remove seeds and ribs. Tear into pieces and soak in 2 cups really hot water for 1/2 hr. Added to blender with 2 Tbs of powdered Chili, 2 cloves of garlic, the tomatoes, paprika and cumin. Added 6 cups of Beef broth to the meat and then poured in the sauce. Simmer for 1 hr. I did not fry the tortillas to soften but dipped them in the sauce to soften. Put sauce in the bottom of the pan before adding the Tortillas. Also had additional 1/2 lb of hamburger cooked separately that I added to the tortillas with the cheese, onions and a little sauce to make them Beef and Cheese Enchiladas.
      This is sauce is incredible. This recipe is Gluten free with corn tortillas. (Check the package!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I was so craving these! It was a hit from the family! And, we are enchilada picky! I will be putting these in a regular rotation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Living in Ireland it is difficult getting the ingredients for mexican food. Thank you for providing a recipe with easy to obtain ingredients! You will have LOTS of chili sauce with this recipe. We make our enchiladas and freeze the rest of the sauce for another day. We also put a little sauce inside the tortilla. Sauce is also great with eggs over an english muffin for breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I made these last night!! It is the best Enchilada recipe I have ever tried, and I have tried them all, beleive me! I'm forever searching for mexican recipes that actually taste like Mexican restaraunt food, and this fits the bill! When my Hub walked in last night, he said "Mmmmm it smells like Jose Peppers", which is our fav place to eat! This does make ALOT, I had 2 pan fulls, which my friends very willingly took one pan off my hands, she called this morning to tell me how much they loved them! I did thicken it up more than directed, and also put part of the meat sauce inside the tortillas along with the cheese, then poured all the rest on top. Thanks Kim D for giving me a recipe I will use over and over!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      Fantastic enchiladas! I've never heard of Luby's Cafeteria before. I had some extra ground beef and wanted to do something with it so I tried this recipe. I had no idea what this would taste like and I made the recipe exactly as written. The chili sauce cooking on the stove made the whole house smell wonderful. The enchiladas were a HUGE hit, the cheese didn't run out of the enchiladas and leftovers warmed up nicely. These were such a huge hit with my three kids and husband, that I'm making them two days in a row. <br/><br/>Thanks for the sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      These enchiladas are very good.<br/>I have tried to make Tex-Mex enchiladas for a long time and this has been the best recipe I have made. I added 1 1/2 cups of kidney beans if you like the chili like that. <br/>This is perfect for Frito Pie or enchiladas.<br/>Also to save some calories I heated the tortilla on the microwave for 20 seconds, rolled with the cheese, heated another 20 seconds for the cheese to melt, added the chili, put in the oven for a few minutes and then add the cheese the last three minutes....they were delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      These were good but a bit time consuming to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't have an hour to simmer so I only added three cups of beef broth instead of the eight. We all enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      These were top notch! They are definitely going in my recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Not usually a fan of chili or enchiladas, this won me over. These were really good and a real crowd pleaser. This makes a bunch which is good for my big family. Made as instructed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Yum! We all enjoyed these enchiladas. I did omit onions for the picky child, but sprinkled some on top for the rest of us. Doubled the sauce recipe, but used only 1 pound of ground beef. Made one 11x7 pan of enchiladas, and stored the remaining enchilada sauce in the freezer. Looking forward to those future meals, easy and delicious. Thanks, Kim, for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Kim, Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! I followed directions to a "T" but I worried about the cheese leaking out. I cooked chunks of chorizo and stuffed a piece in each end so there was no leakage and the chorizo was really a nice addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      You got a winner for dinner, TRUE! Mine also made 24 too! Like last reviewer, used blender when done, Most of all, these are fun! Helpful hint when rolling tortillas from me, Put them in the microwave 20 seconds and will be EASY! THANKS! ***AS AN UPDATE, true! I did not fry them, but microwaved, rolled and baked with wholemeal tortillas...as think is ALOT healthier for me too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I really liked these! I used minced garlic in with the meat and tomato sauce instead of canned tomatoes. I also hit the chili sauce with an immersion blender quickly once it was cooked, to give it a smoother texture. I used a cheddar/monteray jack mix in the enchiladas and it was just delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Very good! Everyone loved it.I will make it again. I didn't understand the 96 inches of tortillas. I just made as many as the cheese filling would fill. I think it was about 24.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      Muy bueno enchiladas, Kim! I made these last night for our Cinco de Mayo dinner and we all enjoyed them. I minced 4 garlic cloves instead of the garlic powder and used a 14.5 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce to get a "smoother" chili sauce- just personal preferance.This made 20 enchiladas and I had some leftover chili sauce that I froze and will add to my next pot of chili.Also topped the enchilladas with Kraft Mexican 4 cheese Blend instead of the American cheese. Thanks for posting this- it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      These were delicious, but a little too salty. Next time I would leave out any of the additional salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Luby's Cafeteria Cheese Enchiladas With Chili Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (609 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 673.8
     
    Calories from Fat 354
    52%
    Total Fat 39.3 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 21.9 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 144.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1842.7 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 45.4 g
    90%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes