8 Reviews

I liked this recipe. I loved Luby's fish - don't live near one anymore. I would love to come up with a way to crisp the outer part of the mayo. I agree it is flavorful. I use much less mayo and half-fat mayo, the kind made with olive oil. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy October 06, 2011

This is a very easy but delicious recipe, one that I will make again and again. thank you for posting I did not use as much mayo as called for, I found it did not really need that much

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef susan from Sandpoint,Idaho February 01, 2010

I used Schwan's frozen blue hake. I didn't think the flour would stick to the frozen fish, so I omitted it. I sprinkled the fish with a seasoned salt and spread it with mayo. Because the fish was frozen, I baked it at 400Ëš for 30 minutes. (These were "fat" pieces.) The result was delicious. The only thing I would change next time, is to spread the mayo a little thicker. My husband loved it, too. I'll be using this recipe often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Orea September 26, 2007

We don't have a Luby's here but this sounded to good to pass and so simple (usually always the best) but the best laid plans often come assunder; thought I had everything ready to go and all I had to do was dust fish and coat with mayo but I had no lemon pepper so what do you do - you add a tablespoon of dijon mustard to the mayonaise and go ahead. Turned out fantastic. My fillets were a little bigger (closer to 7 to 8 ounces each and thick) and needed 35 minutes to cook. A keeper and will try again next time with the lemon pepper. Thank you Molly53.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat February 22, 2007

This was so easy and just as good as I remember... We don't have a Luby's here anymore. I love this and making it again this week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica P. February 07, 2007

I get this fish each and every time I go to Luby's. I love it. I made this ages ago and forgot to review it. I was at Luby's yesterday and remembered. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber December 18, 2006

I really liked this and it was so easy and quick. Thanks for posting, Molly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaD April 09, 2006

This wasn't terrible, but pretty disappointing. After reading the other reviews I expected suuuper tasty, instead just another baked fish. My father-in-law insisted 'good', so I don't think I messed it up, but not something I'll be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjberms October 03, 2011
Luby's Cafeteria Baked White Fish