19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good, but it didn't taste like the one from Applebee's. Also, while there might be a lot of ingredients, it was very easy to put together. I did leave out the jalapenos due to personal preference. It might just be because I left out the jalapenos, but the sour cream taste was a little overwhelming - I will definitely cut back on that next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Giggle Box February 20, 2004

Loved the dressing on the salad I made to go with the chicken and chips. Marinated the chicken for 5 hours and turned out great. Didn't put it into the oven, just let the cheese melt on it, then mixed with salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 24, 2013

I have made this twice now. It was fantastic both times! My family agreed that it is better than Applebees. I used the George Foreman grill this time, but prefer to grill this outdoors. I served it with a cilantro rice side dish, making this a great meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debnick1954 January 10, 2010

Delicious! As close to Applebees as it gets. My husband loved it and he is not a big chickrn fan. Will definately make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellaonelove January 06, 2010

This was fantastic! I didn't have time to marinate it for longer than 2 hours, but it still came out wonderful!!! I used all low fat ingredients and it was delicious. That comment cmae from DH who doesn't really like chicken. This will be in our regular rotation and will be company fixings too!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia 123 December 17, 2009

I am a new cook and wanted to try this one out. I got rave reviews from the boy friend! It's amazing. i followed this recipe to the letter, easy prep and easy cook. Amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sissylala August 30, 2009

This chicken was a hit with the family. Great Recipe, easy and great favor. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
massey3652 January 28, 2009

I didn't have all of the sauce ingredients either but subbed in some other spices and it turned out great!! I doubled the recipe as I was feeding 6 people (2 teen boys, ha) and it made for an AWESOME dinner! I didn't have time to marinate the chicken so I pierced them all over with a fork and they sat in the mix for about 5 minutes before they went on the grill. Again, it still turned out great and was a huge crowd pleaser. Thanks much for this one, it's sure to become a regular!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lethaldawn November 16, 2008

I didn't have all the ingredients for this recipe so I had to modify just a bit and it still turned out great. I didnt have any tequila so I used white cooking wine instead. I didnt have tomatoes or Jalepeno so I used 3 tsp. salsa and omitted the hot sauce (wish I wouldnt have. I like spicy but my husband does not) and lastly I didn't have white vinegar so I used malt. As I said it all still came out great although I will try it the correct way next time. I was also surprised on how easy it was to put together. I hadnt prepped ahead of time to marinate the chicken so I peirced it really good with a fork and marinated it for about 15-20 minutes tops. I squirt a little extra marinade on the chicken occasionally and it seemed to work just fine. The flavor was great and my chicken was still very tender. Although it is no replacement for Applebees, it is certainly a suberb substitute if you want to stay in and save some cash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mormon Mommy October 21, 2008
Lower Fat Tequila Lime Chicken