Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lower Fat Chiles (Chiles) Rellenos Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lower Fat Chiles (Chiles) Rellenos Casserole

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2002

      This is a wonderful and easy to prepare recipe. Thank you for posting it. I really enjoyed it. I added some mushrooms and sprinkled some mexican seasoning on the top with the remaining cheese. YUM! I will be looking foreward to leftovers for lunch during the work week. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      I made this to take to a party, and it went over really well! I loved the tortillas in it, and the fact that it used skim evaporated milk and egg-beaters made me feel less guilty. I skipped the sour cream, and it was very good without it. I'll be making this frequently!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      I really enjoyed this casserole! It was rich and cheesy. I used half cheddar and half mozzarella. I didn't have evaporated milk, so used regular milk. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

    • on April 29, 2002

      I made this over the weekend - it was terrific! I brought the leftovers for lunch today. Its great to know that something that tastes so good is also low fat and relatively good for you. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      We loved this. I didn't have cilantro though but next time I will be using it. I used regular 1% milk and did not used sour cream. I added a can of pinto beans and we were both glad I did. If you are doing ww I figured this out to about 4 points.(with or without the pinto beans and not using the sour cream) Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      My hubby and I have never tried John Wayne's version, but we really liked this! We followed the recipe to a T, and thought it was very filling, and not heavy at all. We did add some Chipotle Tabasco sauce on top, and boy oh boy, that was awesome! I think that next time we try this, we'll use hot chilies and add the tabasco to the mix before baking. Also, I didn't know whether or not to drain the chiles, so we drained 1 can's worth, maybe next time we'll drain them both. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      Wow, this is great! Thanks for the recipe! This made for a really delicious weekend breakfast. My husband gave it a big thumbs up! This would be a great meal to serve out of town guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      I have made this several times and it's delicious. Leftovers heat great. Also I top it with 2 extra tbs. salsa in a swirl pattern on top of the cheese just to make it look prettier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      This recipe was great and will be a repeat in our home for sure. I cooked it just as the recipe stated but next time might add more tortillas for a little more texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I was unsure at first since I love Chile Rellenos, but this recipe was delicious. I added HOT green chilies and salsa. And O doubled the cheese and corn torillas for more texture. This was a great treat. I also made Simple Tex-Mex Rice to go along with it. They were wonderful together! They are even better the next day for leftover lunch. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Mexican comfort food! This was so yummy! Meatless main dishes aren't popular in my house, and wouldn't you know it, DH heated up the last of our left over ham to go with it for himself and our 2 sons. But all 4 of us enjoyed it. I only had 5 ounces of evaporated milk, so I used 3 ounces of regular skim milk. We chose not to top it with the sour cream. This should have been 6 servings...the 4 of use devoured it in one meal. Thanks for posting a lower fat version that we all enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I'm a semivegetarian and I love mexican food...There's not much besides beans and rice for me. But this is SOOOO Good! I add some tabasco or red pepper sauce after it's ready because I like mine spicy. So GOOD! Thanks Sarafish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Since this was 6 servings - I cooked it in my large Muffin Tin - made 6 easy to serve Chili Rellenos. and Instead of Sour Cream topped them with Yogurt Cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      Followed this recipe exactly, and it came out GREAT!!! Definitely making again. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This came out OK, wouldn't make again without significantly altering the recipe--essentially to 'not lower in fat....casserole'! The cheese flavor wasn't strong enough and it came out a bit dry, oh well. Still very edible though. Glad I tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      This is delicious!! Never thought of putting tortillas into a chilli rellano casserole type dish. Turned out wonderful!! Changed a couple of things to accomodate what I had on hand flour tortillas, regular milk and a combo of jack and cheddar cheese. I also saved the salsa and put it on top the last 10 minutes. I will be making this again and I'm thinking that it would go over really well as a pot luck dish. Thank you for posting this easy and delicious meal. :)Shirley(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This will be made again and often. I used regular cheese, as I don't care for low fat cheese, but did use fat free evaporated milk, 1/2 cup egg sub and 1 real egg, and omitted the tortillas as I did not have them. Used homemade salsa and really enjoyed the dish. Was also very good as leftovers. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Very nice, indeed. The only thing changed i made was substitute fat-free greek yogurt for the sour cream. Have to watch the calories, you know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      SaraFish, this makes a very nice substitute casserole for the John Wayne version. I have made this twice now, and we have enjoyed it both times. The only substitution I made was to add frozen New Mexican chilies instead of the canned ones. I only wish that the nutritional facts were current. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lower Fat Chiles (Chiles) Rellenos Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.8
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    13%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 2.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 788.8 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat Mexican cheese blend

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes