10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmm, this is everything mac and cheese should be! It's a creamy, cheesy, yummy comfort dish, which fits perfect into this time of the year. The fact that it is lower in fat than other recipes is an added bonus. I really enjoyed the whole wheat pasta in this! :) Being in Germany, I had to use a different light cheese, but it still tasted fab! Just a note: In my family this served only 2 as a substantial main dish. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this super recipe with us, smelly! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #16 and also for the One Dish Wonders Photo Challenge November 09.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 03, 2009

If there is a taste difference, between low-fat Baked mac and cheese, and regular Baked low fat and cheese we couldn't tell.IT WAS GREAT !! We loved the whole wheat pasta. So easy to prepare and make. WE WILL be eating this regularly. Thanks for the post.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker September 16, 2008

This was really good and easy to make. I doubled the recipe and used 2% milk instead of skim as that is what I buy. I followed the rest of the recipe other then I cut the salt in half. I think hubby was a bit upset with me as he made steaks and I ate more of the mac and cheese and left some of my steak. I even ate this for breakfast the next morning. It was just as good cold! Made for Spring PAC 2010.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 19, 2010

We loved it! My family could not tell a difference at all. I decreased the margerine to 1tsp and used low fat soy milk (only 25 calories) and it was still gooey and yummy. We will be having this again soon!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nranz May 17, 2009

OMG!!!! this is soooo good...i didnt change a thing..i only wish i made a double batch...delish! thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swasey70_11599180 November 19, 2010

My hubby and I enjoyed the texture but found the flavor a little bland.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara.a.shepherd@gmail.com December 27, 2009

Perfect creaminess, flavor and ease of making! I doubled the recipe and used it as the main dish and served with peas and a side salad. Great way to have a meatless dinner but still feel 100% satisfied in the end. Could not tell it was a low-fat version at all. Topped half the casserole with lightly buttered breadcrumbs (for my two DDs) and left the other half plain. Perfect and I'll be making this often now! Tagged in 123 Hit Wonders!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom December 16, 2009

Husband, who is pretty fussy about his mac 'n cheese loved this recipe and did not miss the higher fat cheese and milk! I did put a few panko bread crumbs on top to add a bit of a crunch. YUM! Thanks so much for the recipe smellyvegetarian!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chark1226 November 02, 2014

This was a good version of baked Mac 'n Cheese. I followed the recipe exactly and am pleased with how easy and quick this was. Hubby thinks it needed salt...maybe just a tad imho.

I did end up doubling the recipe to feed our family of 6 with 1/4 left for tomorrow. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McMama4 January 05, 2012

input this URL:
=====www.shopping01.org/ ====
you can find many cheap and fashion stuff
(jor dan s-h-o-e-s)
=== www.shopping01.org/ ====
( lv h-a-n-d-b-a-g)
(cha nel w-a-l-l-e-t)
(D&G s-u-n-g-l-a-s-s-e-s)
(ed har dy j-a-c-k-e-t)
(UG G b-o-o-t)
YOU MUST NOT MISS IT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beibiebi January 24, 2011
Lower Fat Baked Mac and Cheese