Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low-Sodium Whole-Grain Crackers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low-Sodium Whole-Grain Crackers

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2008

      I was looking for a no salt snack food for my mom who has to watch her salt intake.I made a batch of these and the only thing I did differently was I used 1 tbsp of flax seeds+1 tbsp of seasame seeds.I did as another reviewer suggested and rolled out my dough on a rimless cookie sheet,and scored them with my pizza cutter,this was very quick!The first ones got a little too brown because I rolled them too thin,and the second pan were a little too thick I think.I would say the hardest part was getting them to right thickness. They were bland at first(or so I thought!) but I found myself "tasting" them again and again until I realized I really like them! They sort of remind me of a cross between wheat thins and stone wheat crackers.Hubby said he thought they were missing something, yet he ate about three handfuls of them so I think he likes them:)I will definitely make these again,Thanks ShelbyI had no idea I could make homemade crackers yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I mixed this dough by hand but next time will use the food processor, which will take only seconds. I did add about 1/4 tsp. salt because I'm not concerned about the salt content and wanted the flavor. I would add a bit more next time. To make it easier, rather than rolling and cutting individual crackers and having to transfer them to the baking pans, I sprayed large cookie sheets without sides with Pam, and rolled the dough right on the pans all the way to the edges. Scored them with a pizza cutter, and broke apart after baking. Very easy and only took about 15 minutes. I did need to add about 2 T. more water to the dough to get it to hold together, maybe because I substituted oat bran for the wheat germ. I covered the dough with plastic wrap and let it rest for 30 minutes before rolling out. I cut the dough in half and formed each half into a square, which made it easier to roll out onto the almost square cookie sheet. Nice flavor and texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      First, the inevitable substitution list: white whole wheat flour for whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup wheat bran for all the wheat germ, and omitted the sesame seeds all together (only because I didn't have any in the house). These crackers baked up so nicely! I am so pleased! They are a bloody lot of work, however, especially if you're anal about getting the crackers thin enough (like I was), so set aside anywhere from 1-2 hours. Definitely work with small pieces of dough (I broke mine into about 10 small pieces). I found it necessary to re-moisten the reserved dough every so often with about a tablespoon of water per tenth, as it became dry and tough to work with-- and this was during a humid November north Texas evening! But I think this problem was caused by the bran-for-germ substitution. However, I was a virgin cracker baker before this, so those less green than I may not have the aforementioned problems. I'm pleased with the number of crackers this made: it filled an 8-cup or 1.9 liter plastic container! We'll have crackers-and-cheese brown bag lunches for my son for 2 weeks! These crackers work well with or without accompaniment-- I've had them with American cheese, and I'm trying hummus next, then canned tuna & mayo "salad", then...who knows! My husband eats them right out of their container, and I could, too. These beat out Wheat Thins any day! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe-- we'll probably enjoy this recipe for years and years to come!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      What a great recipe! These were sooo easy to make and were so delicious that I proudly gave some in a Christmas gift basket along with a bottle of wine and some cheese. Like others, I made substitutions based on what I had on hand. I replaced the 11/2 cups of instant oatmeal with 1/2 cup oat bran plus 1 cup of 7 grain flakes (these are like old fashioned oat flakes but are made with wheat, oats, barley, rye, etc.) and I used ground flax meal for the wheat germ and flax seeds for the sesame seeds. When I rolled them out I put half the dough between two sheets of freezer paper then I removed the top sheet of paper and flipped the bottom sheet onto an ungreased, side-less cookie sheet. Peeled off the remaining sheet of paper and scored them before I baked them. When they were done baking, they came right off the cookie sheet and separated easily. It only took a few minutes and I was done. Thanks Shelby, for a fantastic, easy recipe that tastes so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      best ever! i really liked these. i'm not concerned with my salt intake - so i did add some salt - but not much. and these were fantastic!
      thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      Absolutely WONDERFUL! I didn't have quick-cooking oats, so I ground old fashioned rolled oats in the blender for a few seconds. I also didn't have sesame seeds, so I just omitted that ingredient. I used three packets of truvia for the sugar. Mine didn't seem to be cooking enough (probably because I rolled them too thick) so I upped the temp. to 400 degrees.

      This recipe makes a lot of crackers! It made double what I was expecting! I thought it would be pretty bland because of no salt or seasonings, but I think it tastes delightful! Thanks for the recipe! This will be a household staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I just made these and they are wonderful to eat and easy to make. I am trying to get salt out of my diet and most of the crackers without salt taste terrible, have no fiber and are too expensive. I was out of sesame seeds so substituted flax seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      As is, they're tasty! Thanks for a great, basic recipe. Also, I agree they're very similar to a wheat thin. Update: The thinner you get these the better. If you've got them on the thicker side be sure to bake them for 5-10 min more. I've sub'd apple juice for the H2o before and it was pretty good. Next round I'll omit the sugar and use salt with herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Really tasty and pretty easy. I simplified by mixing ingredients in my bread machine (though not kneading as long). Some of the crackers I rolled directly onto an oiled cookie sheet with flat sides as recommended by another reviewer. For my pans with lips, I did roll on the counter. I let my 4 year old son cut some with the cookie cutter which was moderately successful (it made him happy). I did add 1/2 tsp salt though I don't know how much difference that made. I also used regular oats, not quick. Like another reviewer, I used "white" whole wheat as opposed to the standard red wheat since it has a milder flavor. Finally, I didn't have sesame seeds so I omitted those.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      These were SO good! I couldn't find wheat germ so I used 1/2 c. wheat bran instead. They turned out great! They have a wonderful nutty flavor. Easy too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I'm so glad I trusted you! (Re: your opening remarks.) I didn't miss the salt. These were GREAT crackers -- extremely yummy. We'll definitely keep making them and eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      I'm sorry, I think I kind of thought these were going to turn out like a cookie, because of the sugar in them. Nope, but thats okay. They just weren't what I was expecting. They're very plain by themselves, but great if you have them with something. Now I feel I have truly learnt to appreciate them. I used very finely chopped walnuts in place of wheat germ, and I thought these needed to be a bit more crispy so I baked my frist batch for 26 minutes...but you know what, all my other batches which I only baked for 18 came out exactly as crunchy! :D So at least I guess with this recipe you don't have to worry about over cooking huh. ANyway, I'm really acquiring a taste for these. Thankyou!UPDATE: added some lime juice in with the water, and sprinkled about 1 1/2 tablespoons cracked pepper in for a lime and pepper flavour...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low-Sodium Whole-Grain Crackers

    Serving Size: 1 (736 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 41.5
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    46%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites