Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low & Slow Oven Baked Ribs - Super Simple! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low & Slow Oven Baked Ribs - Super Simple!

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2011

      With my wife away visiting my eldest daughter, and me at home managing three teen sons, I was searching for an easy, tasty recipe other then my staples of spaghetti, tacos, pizza, and Italian beefs. My wife has fixed ribs before, but usually used the boil and grill method. Seeing this one explained so clearly, and seemingly so easy, I thought I'd try it. I had two slabs of ribs and baked them at 225 for five hours (I had to run up and pick up something so they were in an hour over what it said). Even after 5 hours, the ribs were juicy, tender, and falling apart. I think having it covered gives it a lot of leeway in the cooking department, along with the low temp. Adding the sauce and baking it on uncovered for 25 minutes gave me ribs that I can honestly compare with restaurant quality (unless you want grilled of course). We make our own BBQ sauce as we like it spicy, so all I can say is EASY, FOOLPROOF, and DELICIOUS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I didn't have 4 1/2 hrs so I took one reader's suggestion and increased the temp to 300 deg F. It took 3 1/2 hrs to get them fork tender. Since the baking sheet had about 1/4" liquid on it, I put a layer of foil on a clean baking sheet and flipped each rack onto it with the help of my son holding the clean baking sheet. I slathered on over a cup of Moe Pritchett's BBQ sauce and baked for 15 min. Then slathered on another cup or so of BBQ sauce and baked for another 15 min. The second layer sticks better than the first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      DELISH!! I literally JUST made these and devoured them 5 minutes ago... my fiancé said they were the best ribs he's ever had; he can't stop going on about how great they were and how well they went together with sunday football! Before baking, I generously seasoned both sides of the baby back rib rack with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder and baked, covered, at 225º for 3.5 hrs. Then (in the interest of time) I finished them off with a store bought honey bbq sauce for 30 more minutes, uncovered. They weren't kidding when they said the meat would be falling off the bone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Excellent ribs! We used Sweet Baby Ray's BB!Q sauce on ours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Just tried this recipe with high hopes. I followed it to the T. The ribs turned out dry. And I was not a happy camper. So...I am going back to own recipe which are moist and fall off the bone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2014

      After applying the barbeque sauce, instead of cooking for an additional 20-30 minutes, I like to put them on the top rack of the oven and broil for 5 minutes, or until the barbeque sauce caramelizes. Then I garnish with thinly sliced green onion. Whoa!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I always make ribs on the BBQ, and they turn out ok. Always a little tough. It's a rainy and cold day. So I thought about making some thing yummy and warm. Ribs came to mind and I came across this recipe. So glad I did. I used Grill Mates, pork ribs rub. And just rubbed them up and placed them in a 250 degree oven, middle rack. And cooked them. At about the 3 hour mark I flipped them cooked some more then rubbed with bbq sauce I used chris & PItts bbq sauce. Use what you like. They came out so good. This is now a staple in are house and a great treat to take over to someone's house for a dinner or superbowl party... Really anything. Great job. :) Feeling more like a cook everyday. Oh and it's so nice to have your hubby give you praises specialy in front of a crow. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      This is the easiest most delicious rib recipe I've ever tried. Since the recipe leaves the rib rub and sauce open to your favorite, you can't go wrong there either. I used Penzey's BBQ3000 for a rub, and made a homemade sauce of ketchup, cider vinegar, brown sugar and a dash of liquid smoke for the sauce. That last 30 minutes back in the oven after covering the ribs in sauce are torture to wait for but well worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      These are cooking as I type. What an awesome way to slow bake ribs. I found a wonderful rub that is new by Grill Mates called "Cowboy Rub."
      I'm using it on these ribs. It smells fantastic. I recommend this rub if you like your ribs to have a bite. Thanks for this recepie. I've been looking for a nice way to bake them nice and slow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

    • on October 17, 2014

      Thanks ever so much for your recipe. I've got a crapload of elk ribs in the freezer, and didn't want to put them on the grill, for fear they'd be too dried out to be palatable. Didn't really want them in the crockpot either, the meat falls off the bone too easily and makes them way too messy to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      When they say low and slow, lemme tell you, THEY MEAN IT. Lots of calories in these babies, but the amount of protein easily makes up for it. Sodium is off the walls; makes you retain water like crazy. But seriously, you don't have to eat for a while after this. Unless you're hardcore like me and my buddy Rob Swanson. Five minutes later, I'm back in the kitchen, looking for more bacon. Anyway, I'd would TOTALLY recommend another sauce rather than just plain barbecue. That stuff is boring. Get yourself some Jack Daniels sauce. Tastes like pure unicorn tears.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      Made my own rub with brown sugar, celery salt, garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, paprika, and chili powder. Followed cooking instructions, and finished with Sweet Baby Ray's Sauce!!! Marinated for 2 days ahead with the rub!! So fabulous!!!!!!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2014

      This is a super delicious very easy recipe. Our cooking time came up a little faster - the ribs were ready in about 3 hours at 250. We put a dry rub on as recommended and then added a homemade bbq sauce to finish for another 30 mins. Man oh man were these ever delicious and I'd make them again in a minute. Better than what you get at many restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2014

      I'd never cooked ribs before and have always disliked the boil and then cook method. They just tasted horrible to me, I've always like meaty, dryish pork back ribs (the surface dryish not the meat).<br/><br/>Tried this method last night and they were absolutely perfect, Followed the recipe pretty closely with a few changes.<br/><br/>1) Made a dry rub with cayenne, paprika, salt, black pepper, brown sugar, cumin, coriander, onion and garlic powder.<br/><br/>2) 3 lbs back ribs had 2 tablespoons rub smeared on each side and placed in fridge covered for 2 hours<br/><br/>3) Cooked exactly as this recipe states, but on a raised cooking rack in a foil covered pan, meat side up<br/><br/>4) Top of the ribs were brushed with sauce and placed back in oven, uncovered, for 30 minutes, The last 8 minutes were under the broiler to sort of carmelize the surface.<br/><br/>Thanks author for this recipe; I never would have tried cooking ribs if it were not for this. My future weight gain salutes you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      This recipe will never replace our love of ribs from the grill, but it was tasty enough for me to keep as a go -to for when the weather does not permit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      This is 5 star fabulous!! I know everybody loves to be creative and go off on their own little adventures with any recipe, and this one does have its share of modifications. But just following this recipe exactly is as simple and delicious as it gets. Perfect every time. I have a good friend who is a prize-winning competitive grill master out of Kansas who would be hard-pressed to top this recipe. I have sampled his fare quite a bit, and any difference would only be for those who insist on dry ribs versus wet, and with smoke flavor. But for the 99.999% of the rest of us, these are brilliant and AT LEAST as good as any restaurant quality product. The only thing I do that is not detailed here is that I apply my dry rub the night before and tightly wrap/seal in plastic wrap. That is not required, but does add a good deal more of the "awesome".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      I have used this method for years and it works every time. Personally, I place the ribs on a wire rack in the baking dish, add water to the bottom of the pan (about 1-1½ inches) and cover tightly with foil throughout the entire baking process. Then, when the ribs are done, I smoke them on a charcoal grill for about 15-20 minutes for flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      The recipe only says

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low & Slow Oven Baked Ribs - Super Simple!

    Serving Size: 1 (398 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1293.2
     
    Calories from Fat 788
    60%
    Total Fat 87.6 g
    134%
    Saturated Fat 30.9 g
    154%
    Cholesterol 369.5 mg
    123%
    Sodium 995.2 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 102.1 g
    204%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites