25 Reviews

Excellent! I was looking for a healthier version of my beloved zucchini bread and this was great. I only had 1 lg zucchini so I halved the recipe and made 1 loaf. For that I used a little over 2/3 c. sugar, ener-g egg replacer, 1.5 c. whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 c. applesauce (no oil), 2 tsp cinnamon, 1.5 TB vanilla and a few shakes of nutmeg. It baked for 50min and didn't rise a lot but is delicious given all the modifications!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dre S April 18, 2010

The zucchini bread tasted delicious! It was very moist and had just the right amount of spice. I changed it a bit by using 2 cups of zucchini and 1 cup of carrots (trying to get my 21 month old to eat more veggies). I would have given it 5 stars, but it is VERY sweet. Maybe next time I'll decrease the sugar a bit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slow cooker July 27, 2003

This was good and I may make again but with some modifications which is why I'm rating as good not great. It was very moist but 1) there was too much sugar - next time i'd try ~1.5 cups 2) there was way too much vanilla - I wonder if the Tbl was a mistake and should be tsp? 3) this definitely makes only 2 small loaves, if you make 3 they would be really flat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari August 14, 2011

so i just made this bread! delicious!!! i used splenda sugar instead of regular sugar (that's all i had) and dang it it came out perfect, moist, and it wasnt too sweet. my family loved it too..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brasil~Peru Chef November 28, 2010

So tasty, moist and really easy to make. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cristy818 July 25, 2010

Fantastic recipe! My dad gave me a HUGE zucchini from his garden (I've made 2 loaves and 24 muffins, and it's barely halfway done!). My modifications (any ingredients not mentioned I left as were): 1 1/2 c. sugar, 3 c. zucchini, 1/8 c. oil, 2 small snack packs of applesauce, 1 1/2 tbsp. vanilla. Next time, I'm going to experiment with adding some orange rind for a citrus flavor. One additional note: when I made the 2 loaves, it cooked for 45 min. When I made 24 muffins, it only took 25 min. Thank you--great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo's Chef August 30, 2009

This was great! I also lessened the sugar and added a few spices of my own (allspice, nutmeg), but other than that it was very moist and you couldn't even tell it was low fat. My toddler loves it as well :) I made two large loaves and it's almost gone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msdroz August 28, 2009

excellent I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups. Used all King Arthurs White Whole Wheat flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose August 10, 2009

Very moist and can't taste the zucchini at all, even though I can see the grated pieces. Made this as muffins instead (baked 25 min) and got 2 dozen. Reduced sugar to 1-1/2 cups and it's still quite sweet for my taste. Replaced oil with add'l 1/4 cup applesauce. Also used 2 c. whole wheat, 1/2 c. all-purpose, and 1/2 c. wheat germ, 1 tbsp vanilla instead. Oh, and threw in a pint of blueberries. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squirrelette August 06, 2009

I used whole wheat flour, 1c honey and 1/2c sucanat in place of the sugar, cinnamon flavored apple sauce and 3c zucchini. While it wasn't a super sweet bread, it was very good. My only complaint is that it didn't rise at all. Maybe next time I'll use more baking soda or even some yeast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NikasMommy June 19, 2009
Low-fat Zucchini Bread