17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you for this recipe! I won't mind eating low fat and low sugar if I can have banana bread on occasion!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CeeDragon March 27, 2013

excellent!
Replaced 4 eggs with sour cream and yogurt to reduce fat (low fat sour cream and 0% greek yogurt).
Also added 1 1/3 up choc chips (doubled batch)
Baked in 3 9 X 5 pans for 50 minutes--perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retrogirl35 November 18, 2012

I liked this, with a couple of small tweaks. I replaced 1 of the cups of flour with 3/4 C whole wheat flour and 1/4 C milled flax seed. I also added 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t salt and a dash of cardamom. I made it in a small bundt pan coated with Crisco then milled flax seed and Splenda. It was a pretty shape and had a little bit of a crunch. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sambadelicmail April 23, 2012

Very yummy! Even my daughters ages 12 and 9 loved it, and they are extremely picky! I used one cup whole-grain flour and one cup regular as well as added an extra banana and about 1/4 cup chopped walnuts. I will certainly be making this again soon, bight I might add a little less Splenda (it was a bit sweet for my taste). other than that though, AMAZING! 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mari666 July 11, 2010

this stuff is *dangerous!* i was tempted to eat the whole loaf in one sitting. thank goodness a friend had given me the (homemade) applesauce and i was forced to share! i loosely followed this recipe, and made it my own by: 1) exceeding the cup of bananas required, 2) substituting real sugar for splenda (i can't stand that splenda aftertaste!), 3) adding a pinch of salt, 4) a bit (1 tbsp?) of vanilla, and 5) some (1/3 c?) slivered almonds. simply amazing. thanks emma! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rileyk2 October 22, 2009

This tastes so good! I had already started mixing the ingredients, and realized that I had no bananas, so I chopped up a cup of strawberries instead! Yummy! I can't wait to try it with bananas. I will make this often I am sure! It is hard to find good, sugar free recipes, but this one hits the spot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizRGreen May 05, 2009

I was amazed at how easy this recipe was and how good it came out! Of course I always use wheat flour. My kids love it :) Next time I'll probably add some nuts...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakota October 06, 2008

Excellent, I have never made a sugar free, low fat recipe and I was a little dubious. Thanks so much !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ivbeaudreau August 08, 2008

Twisted the recipe a little and came out great!!! Instead of applesauce, used 1 small chopped gala apple, instead of 1 cup splenda, I used 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Added 1/4 cup oil. Almost as good as full fat and sugar recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
860245 June 12, 2008

I really enjoyed this recipe. It was a great alternative to the very fattening, sugary regular banana bread. I doubled the recipe and made 6 mini loafs. I added an extra banana (bc I had it) and a bit of splenda brown sugar. Its a bit dryer than I prefer in a sweet bread so next time I'm going to reduce the flour a bit. the taste is subtle but spot on, it also smells just as wonderful as regular banana bread! Great Recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelATC February 11, 2008
Low Fat-Sugar Free Banana Bread