8 Reviews

The only change I made was sun-dried tomatoes instead of roasted red peppers. I used about half as much, fearing that the denseness of the tomatoes might over power the dish but I could have used more as it was very subtle. BTW, I live in Europe where neufchatel cheese is something quite different from what it is in North America. For all of you living in the rest of the world, it's light cream cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deluxcanuck June 20, 2009

What a treat to get a low fat version of an old favorite! Thanks Brooke it was gone before I knew it! The only problem I had was that the food processor took away the typical chunkiness of the traditional version of this dip. I will definitely make again, but next time will experiment without the food processor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CeeGee March 03, 2010

I made this last night and it was SO good! Four people nearly polished it off by themselves--and no one even knew it was low-fat. It was great with veggies, bread, and pretzels, delicious hot or cold, and ridiculously easy to make. (One note: When I was mixing everything together, I was worried it was too liquidy. That was not the case at all--it sets as it cooks--so don't worry as you're making it!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo's Chef April 26, 2009

Absolutely delicious was the response all around! We enjoyed this with crusty rolls, kalamata olives and Dolmathakia Stuffed Grape Leaves. This recipe contained several of my favourite ingredients so, except for the addition of 2 cloves of finely minced garlic, I made this exactly to the recipe. Definitely a recipe I'll make again. Very detailed and clear instructions were an added plus! Thanks, Brooke, for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder April 22, 2009

First off you should know that I'm not much of a fan of wither spinach or the artichoke! Still, I tagged this recipe to make especially for some friends who were having a get-together AND who ARE fans of this stuff! What can I say ~ For some reason or other they loved it & wanted the recipe & INSISTED that I rate it accordingly! So, here you are ~ a solid 5 stars! And, I will have to admit, that with the cheeses & the sour cream & the roasted red peppers, this dip was . . . OK, & I'll probably make it again! What the hey, I love it when my friends rave about the things I make! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 01, 2008

This was easy and very good! I was afraid the blender would take too much scraping down, so I started with my little bitty food processor. That wasn't going to work, but I realized the liquid from the artichokes might keep the blender going. It worked great. This was very pretty too and got several compliments! Reviewed for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 May 15, 2008

This was the favorite at a small Superbowl party. Six people nearly finished the whole dip. I cooked it for 25 minutes in the oven at home and then reheated it for four minutes in my friend's microwave (stirring halfway through) since it had cooled by the time we got there, and served it in a bread bowl with bagel chips and cut-up bread from the inside of the bread round. The roasted red peppers provide lots of flavor so know one will know you used light cream cheese and sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen February 04, 2008

I'm no expert on regular spinach and artichoke dip, but this was fantastic! Very filling too, even though it was low-fat. I made this in honor of the super bowl yesterday, even though we didn't watch it:D My BF and I each had one serving with two celery sticks. At first I thought it might be messy, but it held together very well. I even tried it cold, and it was still great! I could not find fat-free marinated artichokes, so I used plain canned. I thought of adding some herbs as a substitute but ended up not doing so, as I didn't think it was necessary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend February 04, 2008
Low Fat Spinach and Artichoke Dip