Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Red Pepper Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Red Pepper Hummus

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2008

      Fabulous! I will never buy ready-made hummus again. This couldn't be easier - threw all the ingredients in the food processor, added a little fluid from the drained chick peas and presto - wonderful. I used jarred roasted red peppers rather than roasting my own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Delicious! I didn't have tahini on hand, so I subbed about 1/3 tablespoon of sesame seed oil and 1/3 cup of plain yogurt. I also used the liquid from the roasted red peppers I used instead of reserved oil from chick peas. I also added a bit more salt and garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I took out the tahini altogether and added 1/4 cup nonfat plain yogurt to keep the creamy texture. I roasted half of a leftover red pepper, subbed lime juice for the lemon, added approx. 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes instead of cayenne, left out the coriander but added about 1/2 tsp of paprika. The recipe turned out to be my best version of hummus yet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Loved it. I'm always on the look-out for low-fat hummus recipes; this one was as good as I've found. I increased the garlic and lemon juice, and kept the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. (just to be safe!) and it was extremely yummy. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      Great stuff! I made mine a bit to runny, but that's my fault for adding a little too much of the chickpea "juice". Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Awesome recipe! I made this for a pot luck and everybody loved it (even the kids) - definitely the best hummus recipe I've tried yet. The only change I made was replacing the cayenne with yellow curry powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      This recipe was very tasty and a great low fat alternative to the traditional hummus recipes out there that have so much olive oil. I do feel that the recipe features too much cumin and coriander which masks the taste of the tahini and red pepper, so next time I'm going to cut back on them. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      We enjoyed this recipe but thought the spices were overdone. Next time I will cut all the spices in half next time so we can actually get some of the flavor from the roasted red pepper, chick peas and tahini...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      What a simple, straight forward recipe this is and what a great result! I followed your recipe except for adding in 2 teaspoons more lemon juice and another garlic clove. I used the 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne and we reckoned it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      Oh my gosh, this recipe is fabulous! I've made it several times and I absolutely love it. It's easy, quick and ohhhh so yummy. I used the 1/2 t of cayenne and I think that it is perfect--just a hint of hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This was the first hummus recipe I have ever made. It turned out quite good and I even got some professed "hummus haters" to admit that it was pretty good. I did make the recipe as written (I only used 1/4 tsp cayenne) and some said it was too spicy, but not me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Delicious! I used this recipe over the holidays and it was a big hit. Only thing I did differently was I cut out the tahini and added 2 Tbsp of toasted sesame seeds to the blended mixture at the end. I sprinkled some of the seeds on top too for presentation. Really loved the roasted red pepper flavor and I like it spicy and felt the 1/2 teaspoon amt was just perfect. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Outstanding!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Winner! I stuffed and baked a large mushroom cap with this spicy red pepper hummas for a vegetarian main dish. Thanks for posting, this was very good hummus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Awesome recipe. Taste's great. I don't have a food processor so I used a handheld one and it worked well. I also had fresh red peppers so I grilled them on an indoor grill and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Loved this! The Three-C's spices mixed with the red pepper perfectly. Only difference is that my vita-mix can process sesame seeds, so I used 1/3C sesame seeds, and only 1/3C Red pepper. After sitting overnight, the flavors married and this didn't last for more than 24 hours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      I added sun-dried tomatoes to this recipe, and it was amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      This is a great hummus. I will be sure to use this recipe when I have a vegan guest over- I normally use a red pepper hummus recipe which calls for some feta cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Delicious! I took your suggestion to play a little and subsituted 1/4 cup spicy vegetable spread for 1/4 cup of the roasted tomatoes. It came out such a beautiful colour, and with lots of flavour! Serve alongside regular hummus for a colour and flavour contrast and your guests will think you've been to a gourmet deli!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      This is the best hummus I have ever had! The mixture of spices is interesting and unique. This batch won't last long. It's very spice, and a less spicy version can be made by adding less cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Red Pepper Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.8
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    24%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 584.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes