Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Fat Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2012

      As my first attempt at potato soup, this came out pretty good! Instead of onion, I used two chopped leeks which were much milder in flavor. However, I made the mistake of using red (waxy-type) potatoes instead of white (starchy) potatoes -- the red potatoes held their shape even after 7 hours in the crockpot ... not that big of a deal, since the flavor was still fantastic. I just used my immersion blender to puree it further. Even after that, the soup was still a little thin (b/c of the type of potato I used), so I added a few tablespoons of instant potato flakes & that did the trick! I didn't have any ham on hand, so I added a little hickory salt instead, and some parsley flakes -- delish! Next time I make this I will use the right kind of potato, though! Thanks for posting -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      Love it but we make it without the veggies and ham, still fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      super fast, easy, and so good! I didn't add ham since I'm not a big fann of it, but it still had a great flavor. put it all in the crock-pot on low for about 7 hrs than partially mashed it with a potato masher. first potato soup recipe i've made that turned out good! thsnks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Awesome flavor. I am always looking for low fat recipes and this one is great. I doubled the recipe but only used 8 cups potato and added 4 cups cauliflower. I too added celery and one leek. I used the peppered country gravy. Even though some of my family members are not fond of cauliflower - they ate this soup up and loved it. Will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This soup was excellent! Even better then next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      WOW!! That much flavor, ease and low fat to boot. Awesome Chuck! I did saute the onions in a little olive oil and 1/2 cup of chopped turkey bacon in place of the ham. Added a little more chicken broth and only simmered it for 1/2 an hour. Will be making this in the future and sharing this great find with my friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This was so simple to make, and very delicious. I used low-sodium chicken broth, to counterbalance the saltiness of the ham. I used a little more broth than the recipe called for, and simmered for only 40 minutes, and it came out just right. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      As a beginner at cooking this was so easy and it tasted so good. We had it for dinner tonight and loved it. The only thing i would have left out the deli ham it didnt add much taste. #1 on potato soup. This is my new recipe for potato soup. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Wow--what an easy, yummy recipe. Tried this the other day, and I followed the directions as stated. However, my soup became quite thick about half-way through, even on very low heat (though we like thick soup). I did find I needed to add a little more chix broth to thin it out--and it still took less than the hour specified, about 40 mins. But we really liked the taste, and I wil be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I have tried SO MANY recipes for low fat potato soups, and they all taste SO bland. This recipe is AWESOME, packed with flavor and SO EASY to make! Thank you so much for providing just what I was looking for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      I loved this soup and so did my kids! It will surely be made often in this house. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      Absolutely the best potato soup ever. I do add a few tiny chunks of carrot and a few chopped celery stalks, but it would be good without the additions!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      A great, easy soup recipe, with ingredients you can keep on hand in your pantry. Since my husband walked in the door with that 50# bag of potatoes, I was looking a simple, lower-fat potato soup recipe to have with my salad lunches all week at work. I didn't change a thing about this recipe except that I found the McCormicks country gravy mix in a low-fat version (I have never used this stuff before and had to search for it at the store! - it's pretty good in soup - I was surprised!). Thanks, Chuck, for helping me use up these taters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      This is a great recipe. Very filling, and very easy to make. The only change I made was to add 1 1/2 cup more chicken broth. Topped it off with some shredded cheddar cheese and served with crusty bread. Thanks for an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.2
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    10%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 5.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 636.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites